Author Topic: Camera  (Read 12535 times)

Zarhan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
Re: Camera
« Reply #135 on: January 02, 2021, 03:19:49 pm »
Thanks again for the new version!

spa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • ssipa's Tips & Freeware for Full Key Board Device
Re: Camera
« Reply #136 on: January 04, 2021, 01:06:25 am »
The "camera sounds" setting that existed in v3 is no longer available in v4.
I will wish the "camera sounds" setting was still there.

shuntcap

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Camera
« Reply #137 on: January 04, 2021, 01:41:44 am »
The "camera sounds" setting that existed in v3 is no longer available in v4.
I will wish the "camera sounds" setting was still there.
Odd.  I see the sounds settings on mine (same v4 that I released), and if the ringer is enabled, I hear a shutter sound.

Does anyone else have the issue spa is seeing?

Zarhan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
Re: Camera
« Reply #138 on: January 04, 2021, 08:04:06 am »
The "camera sounds" setting that existed in v3 is no longer available in v4.
I will wish the "camera sounds" setting was still there.
Does anyone else have the issue spa is seeing?

Nope - "Camera sounds" settings is visible (localized, even).

spa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • ssipa's Tips & Freeware for Full Key Board Device
Re: Camera
« Reply #139 on: January 04, 2021, 09:12:25 am »

Daniel W

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
    • View Profile
Re: Camera
« Reply #140 on: January 12, 2021, 01:20:36 pm »
Once again, thanks again, shuntcap. 8)

Just to add to the statistics, I see the camera sound toggle in v4.

Once thing that breifly threw me for a loop, was that, on my Cosmo, v4 didn't replace v3, but was installed in parallel to v3. I guess this might depend on the "ported fresh from scratch" part. Launching directly after installation, started v4, but my shortcut on the home screen kept pointing to v3, which later made me start the wrong version, and getting confused a few times, until I noticed I had two identical icons in my app drawer. In a way, I appreciate the parallel install, as it allows me to compare things between the versions more easily, and after updating my shortcut, I can now conveniently launch v4 from my home screen. I'll probably uninstall v3 pretty soon and for those not interested in going back and forth between v3 and v4, I'd recommend uninstalling v3 before installing v4, just to lessen the risk of confusion.

MarionNash

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Camera
« Reply #141 on: May 09, 2021, 09:35:33 am »
I use a RAW viewer called LightRoom to open RAW files. You can also use Darktable if you want the free one on Windows.

Rahab D

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
Re: Camera
« Reply #142 on: June 02, 2021, 06:57:19 am »
Great job, shuntcap!
Thank you very much: now the camera does what it should!
I read you don't support Astro. How will we do it? Your optimization changes functionality substantially.
Should we petition for a device to be made available to you to work on?
Or a subscription to buy one for yourself?
I don't know ... I'm open to every possibility, but I would like to see the same result on Astro.  :o

da9l

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Camera
« Reply #143 on: September 23, 2021, 09:55:58 am »
How do you install this? I get a message saying "app cannot be installed" when i try to open the Apk file. I read that you have to uninstall the old gcam app first, but I've not installed that. Do i have to uninstall the included stock camera app too somehow?

Colin The Dolphin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Camera
« Reply #144 on: September 23, 2021, 12:11:01 pm »
I would check the instructions carefully.  I had a bit of difficulty as Android tries to stop you installing apps from files downloaded.  I think you need to have the file on an SD card not internal memory.

da9l

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Camera
« Reply #145 on: September 23, 2021, 01:35:03 pm »
I figured it out. For some reason the app I was browsing my file system with was the cause. I used the one bundled with the Cosmo and it worked straight away.

And what a difference this app does to the device camera! It actually goes from being useless to becoming usable and quite okay actually!

shuntcap

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Camera
« Reply #146 on: September 30, 2021, 12:30:31 am »
I read you don't support Astro. How will we do it? Your optimization changes functionality substantially.
Should we petition for a device to be made available to you to work on?
Or a subscription to buy one for yourself?
I don't know ... I'm open to every possibility, but I would like to see the same result on Astro.  :o
Sorry for my long absence from the forum. I've pretty much shelved the Cosmo as I just haven't had much free time to hack on it.

I still won't be backing the Astro, but I've been watching the updates.  This time around they're paying close attention to the camera image quality.  They just might get the camera working right finally.  But if they don't, I have backed the Pro1 X which supposedly has the same camera sensor as the Astro.  I plan to port GCam to the Pro1 X once I receive my device, and that port might just work on the Astro, too.