Author Topic: Additional keyboard layout  (Read 855 times)

Yagiza

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Additional keyboard layout
« on: March 01, 2020, 02:46:01 am »
After adding another keyboard layout, besides default English, Fn combinations do not work anymore.
I added Russian layout to the list. Now I can switch to Russian and type Cyrillic letters, but Fn combinations do not work even in English layout! I can't even type "-" or "=", so the keyboard goes almost unusable. When I remove extra layout, leaving only default English, everything goes back to normal.
Yes, I set keyboard to "Planet Computers Cosmo Communicator" on Hardware tab of Settings, but didn't notice any effect.

Bernhard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Additional keyboard layout
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2020, 03:22:12 am »
Quote from: Yagiza
After adding another keyboard layout, besides default English, Fn combinations do not work anymore.
I added Russian layout to the list. Now I can switch to Russian and type Cyrillic letters, but Fn combinations do not work even in English layout! I can't even type "-" or "=", so the keyboard goes almost unusable. When I remove extra layout, leaving only default English, everything goes back to normal.
Yes, I set keyboard to "Planet Computers Cosmo Communicator" on Hardware tab of Settings, but didn't notice any effect.

Well, that is interesting. I experience a similar problem with the german keyboard. The Fn combinations produce double character sequence. E.g. when pressing Fn+k to get a '-', I get sk instead.

When I remove the german layout, I can use the Fn key again.

So, the situation is not good, but improved.

szopin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Additional keyboard layout
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2020, 05:23:15 am »
Quote from: Bernhard
Quote from: Yagiza
After adding another keyboard layout, besides default English, Fn combinations do not work anymore.
I added Russian layout to the list. Now I can switch to Russian and type Cyrillic letters, but Fn combinations do not work even in English layout! I can't even type "-" or "=", so the keyboard goes almost unusable. When I remove extra layout, leaving only default English, everything goes back to normal.
Yes, I set keyboard to "Planet Computers Cosmo Communicator" on Hardware tab of Settings, but didn't notice any effect.

Well, that is interesting. I experience a similar problem with the german keyboard. The Fn combinations produce double character sequence. E.g. when pressing Fn+k to get a '-', I get sk instead.

When I remove the german layout, I can use the Fn key again.

So, the situation is not good, but improved.
Only one layout at a time seems to work, so you should be able to remove us (uk?) one and have the german or russian one working (though make sure it is working correctly, polish one was broken for example)

lokomoko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Additional keyboard layout
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2020, 06:14:27 am »
You might also want to have a look at this thread.

Bernhard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Additional keyboard layout
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2020, 06:33:43 am »
Quote from: szopin
Quote from: Bernhard
Quote from: Yagiza
After adding another keyboard layout, besides default English, Fn combinations do not work anymore.
I added Russian layout to the list. Now I can switch to Russian and type Cyrillic letters, but Fn combinations do not work even in English layout! I can't even type "-" or "=", so the keyboard goes almost unusable. When I remove extra layout, leaving only default English, everything goes back to normal.
Yes, I set keyboard to "Planet Computers Cosmo Communicator" on Hardware tab of Settings, but didn't notice any effect.

Well, that is interesting. I experience a similar problem with the german keyboard. The Fn combinations produce double character sequence. E.g. when pressing Fn+k to get a '-', I get sk instead.

When I remove the german layout, I can use the Fn key again.

So, the situation is not good, but improved.
Only one layout at a time seems to work, so you should be able to remove us (uk?) one and have the german or russian one working (though make sure it is working correctly, polish one was broken for example)

This did it. Great int! Thank you so much!

Yagiza

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Additional keyboard layout
« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2020, 10:56:35 am »
Quote from: szopin
Only one layout at a time seems to work, so you should be able to remove us (uk?) one and have the german or russian one working (though make sure it is working correctly, polish one was broken for example)
Well... How can I work with only Russian layout enabled? How to type Latin letters?

Adam Boardman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
    • View Profile
Additional keyboard layout
« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2020, 02:10:18 pm »
Quote from: Yagiza
Well... How can I work with only Russian layout enabled? How to type Latin letters?
If your using the gemian layouts and no one changed things since the gemini to break things then they come with two groups, you just press both shift keys to swap groups to quickly change which set of characters are used.

The gemini login screen was changed to allow you to have two drop downs one for the language variant (symbols) and then one for the layout (group) with a test text entry box so you could try it out. This time around Nikita has swapped everything so someone has to do all that work again. You also lose the special keys as they are not supported on letter+modifier key mappings by upstream projects.

I don't have a functioning Cosmo so can't check.

Yagiza

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Additional keyboard layout
« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2020, 05:49:24 am »
Quote from: Adam Boardman
Quote from: Yagiza
Well... How can I work with only Russian layout enabled? How to type Latin letters?
If your using the gemian layouts and no one changed things since the gemini to break things then they come with two groups, you just press both shift keys to swap groups to quickly change which set of characters are used.
Yeah, that worked! Thanx!