Author Topic: Clueless xenophobes (sometimes the Zaurus is so frustrating)  (Read 4054 times)

orthogonal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
On my PC, I have a directory tree of mp3 files.

Classical MP3s are in directories named for the composer.

Oddly enough, not all composers are American: one is Georg Friedrich Händel.

I samba mount those directories.

When I attempt to copy the Georg Friedrich Händel directory, bash correctly deals with the umlaut in Händel, rendering it as
  Georg Friedrich H204ndel/
on the command line, and as
  Georg Friedrich H,ndel
in ssh, or with the \"un-drawable character\" box in the Qtopia Shell app.

BUT, cp refuses to copy the directory name, and \"Advanced\" File Manager and XMMS simply don\'t show the directory at all -- it\'s as if it doesn\'t exist.

Perhaps, as an American, I should be gratified at the American-centric world-view this suggests, but in 2004 I\'d have expected some token support for high-ascii and i18n character sets.

This is just a terrible, terrible, clueless oversight: hide the directory if it contains unprintable characters?

Is this a linux problem, a Qtopia problem, or a clueless programmer problem?

Is there any work-around?

Thanks.
Sharp Zaurus 5600  \"Special ROM\" 1.3   Ambicomm WL1100C CF Wifi  SanDisk 512MB SD

Mickeyl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1495
    • View Profile
    • http://www.Vanille.de
Clueless xenophobes (sometimes the Zaurus is so frustrating)
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2004, 10:30:00 am »
I think it\'s a Qt/E problem. Qt 3.x has _much_ improved support for foreign character sets. I\'m afraid you have to wait for Qtopia 4 or Opie 2.
Cheers,

Michael 'Mickey' Lauer | Embedded Linux Freelancer | www.Vanille-Media.de
Consider donating, if you like the software I contribute to.

Stubear

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1164
    • View Profile
    • http://
Clueless xenophobes (sometimes the Zaurus is so frustrating)
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2004, 10:41:40 am »
As the directories in question are samba mounts you may get them working by changing the codepage for the samba mount (can\'t remember how ot do this sorry, been a long time since I\'ve connected a linux machine to windoze box).
Also if you can see the directory with ls then cp should be able to copy it.

try cp  Georg Friedrich H204ndel/  <destination>
or cp Georg Friedrich H?ndel/  <destination>

Stu
SL-C1000, Hand converted to English with Japanese Input
Running X apps via X/Qt
iRiver USB host cable; Diatec P-Cord usb power cable (extendable); Acro's Reel Cable USB (A to A, B, Mini-B,  & Mini-B 8pin); GreenHouse 1Gb PicoDrive+; 2x256Mb Hagiwara SD cards; 128Mb Transcend CF card; 512Mb PQI CF card; AmbiCom WL1100C-CF 11B WLAN card

tz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
    • http://
Clueless xenophobes (sometimes the Zaurus is so frustrating)
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2004, 10:50:50 am »
I don\'t know about XMMS or AFM, but I can locally copy a directory with \"cp -a\" if there are no spaces in the directory name - on an ext2 formatted SD card.  The spaces, or perhaps some other hidden character or attribute may be preventing the visibility.  If you are trying to copy it remote mounted, there may be other problems (permissions, etc) which might be causing the problem.

So, first, what kind of filesystem is this directory on when it is failing?
How long is the pathname (up to the composer name)?
What are its permissions (and is it the right userid)?  
cp probably says something other than \"I refuse to copy this directory\" - what error message does it give you?  
What is the exact line you are using to try to copy the directory?
can you cd to inside the directory and see and play the individual files?

It may not be a unicode/high ascii problem.

orthogonal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Clueless xenophobes (sometimes the Zaurus is so frustrating)
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2004, 11:55:46 am »
Quote
So, first, what kind of filesystem is this directory on when it is failing?
How long is the pathname (up to the composer name)?  
What are its permissions (and is it the right userid)?  
cp probably says something other than \"I refuse to copy this directory\" - what error message does it give you?  
What is the exact line you are using to try to copy the directory?
can you cd to inside the directory and see and play the individual files?

It may not be a unicode/high ascii problem.


In ssh, the a with unlaut is turned into a comma:

# cp -R /mnt/smb/m/MP3s/Classical/Baroque/Georg Friedrich H204ndel/ .
cp: cannot create directory `./Georg Friedrich H,ndel\': Invalid argument
Sharp Zaurus 5600  \"Special ROM\" 1.3   Ambicomm WL1100C CF Wifi  SanDisk 512MB SD

orthogonal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Clueless xenophobes (sometimes the Zaurus is so frustrating)
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2004, 11:56:24 am »
Is it possible to compile the qtopia 3.x libs and use those as a drop in replacemnt?
Sharp Zaurus 5600  \"Special ROM\" 1.3   Ambicomm WL1100C CF Wifi  SanDisk 512MB SD

Mickeyl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1495
    • View Profile
    • http://www.Vanille.de
Clueless xenophobes (sometimes the Zaurus is so frustrating)
« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2004, 12:16:08 pm »
Not without patching. Besides, they are HUGE and slow.
Cheers,

Michael 'Mickey' Lauer | Embedded Linux Freelancer | www.Vanille-Media.de
Consider donating, if you like the software I contribute to.