Author Topic: maps/travel software  (Read 18348 times)

ChrisZaurus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
maps/travel software
« Reply #60 on: May 21, 2004, 08:05:06 pm »
lol  

Yes, the usdir.rdm.tgz can be found at the ZUG development site for all those who need it.  (The link is somewhere on this post)
SL - 5600  PXA250
OpenZaurus 3.5.2
Kingston 256 SD Card
Ambicom WL1100C-CF Wi-Fi Card
CF Protection Card
Sharp CF Camera
Stock Cover - Clear Cover

HickEngr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • http://
maps/travel software
« Reply #61 on: May 22, 2004, 04:23:15 am »
In case anyone is interested, I was finally able to compile the latest version of Roadmap v1.0.5 (December 25, 2003) for the Zaurus.  I did not create an ipk for it.  I just replaced the executable from the 1.0-2 package and it seems to work just fine.

By-the-way, has anyone been able to get the icons to show up above the map area?  I would find it so much more useful to be able to tap a zoom icon instead of selecting menu items.

Terry.

cmisip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
    • View Profile
    • http://home.mchsi.com/~cmisip/index.htm
maps/travel software
« Reply #62 on: May 24, 2004, 07:57:47 pm »
I was able to get the ambicom cf gps card to work with zroadmap and qpegps.  It\'s pretty cool.  The steps I took are:

1. Install gpsd.  (It is in the qpegps download site)
2. Insert card in cf slot
3.  cardctl resume
4.  gpsd -p /dev/ttyS3 -s 4800
5. run zroadmap or qpegps

Wait for a few minutes for it to work.   Qpegps positioned me correctly on the map but I dont have a high resolution map of IN.   zroadmap also positioned me correctly but since I am using the maps from zroadmap download site, I have resolution to street level and with the onboard flite program, zroadmap read to me my current location and what roads I am approaching.  

Does anybody know how to keep zroadmap centered on the my location?  .  I had to manually center or else my icon goes off the screen.
Zaurus 5600
Zynergy Rootfs 1.1
Custom zImage

How Do You Do That in Linux

tz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
    • http://
maps/travel software
« Reply #63 on: May 25, 2004, 01:56:49 pm »
You need to start or resume a trip for roadmap to track the GPS

TonyOlsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
    • http://www.userdimensions.com/Tony/Resume.html
maps/travel software
« Reply #64 on: May 25, 2004, 02:51:12 pm »
Is there a way to get it to display street names?  The map lines are cool, but I can\'t find where I\'m going without the actual street names.  I know that RoadMap knows the street names.. I just don\'t know how to get it to display them...
Tony Olsen
Ferris@Myself.Com
Resume
Zaurus SL-C860 QTopia
2 GB Static CF
1 GB MMC (although it isn't working yet)
My Quest: To get an x86 emulator working on my Zaurus and to have my Zaurus replace my laptop as my MAIN computer
Publically available Videos for the default Zaurus SL-C860 video player

LilMikey

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
    • http://
maps/travel software
« Reply #65 on: May 25, 2004, 02:54:00 pm »
I couldn\'t find a way to show street names on the regular version of RoadMap... unless you clicked on them obviously.  Would be awesome though.

lucho

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
    • http://
maps/travel software
« Reply #66 on: May 25, 2004, 03:55:31 pm »
there is no way to make zroadmap to show street names. and because the development of the application is stalled, i don\'t think there will be such a feature added in near future.

tz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
    • http://
maps/travel software
« Reply #67 on: May 26, 2004, 02:35:50 pm »
(z)roadmap will only show street names if you tap on them, or turn on \"Enable Navigation\" or some similar thing - it will then show \"Approaching XYZ street\" as you drive toward it.

While they are stalled, I\'m working on my own version.  I already have a basic qt based display program (with correctly filled polygons and cities in yellow) with an autofetch and process from the tiger 2003 archive.  I don\'t have names or addresses yet.

TonyOlsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
    • http://www.userdimensions.com/Tony/Resume.html
maps/travel software
« Reply #68 on: May 26, 2004, 03:24:09 pm »
Wow!  Best luck with that endeavor!
Tony Olsen
Ferris@Myself.Com
Resume
Zaurus SL-C860 QTopia
2 GB Static CF
1 GB MMC (although it isn't working yet)
My Quest: To get an x86 emulator working on my Zaurus and to have my Zaurus replace my laptop as my MAIN computer
Publically available Videos for the default Zaurus SL-C860 video player

MoOsEb0y

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • http://
maps/travel software
« Reply #69 on: May 26, 2004, 05:03:28 pm »
Quote
Quote
For traveling in the US you can try zroadmap.


Except its home site of http://roadmap.saigon.net no longer exists (there\'s a http://saigon.net, but no such subdomain any longer).


try going to http://roadmap.digitalomaha.net/. That link ought to get you there.

TonyOlsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
    • http://www.userdimensions.com/Tony/Resume.html
maps/travel software
« Reply #70 on: May 26, 2004, 08:32:03 pm »
Yes, that link works, but the link in that page to the Zaurus files ( http://community.zaurus.com/projects/zroadmap/ ) doesn\'t work.
Tony Olsen
Ferris@Myself.Com
Resume
Zaurus SL-C860 QTopia
2 GB Static CF
1 GB MMC (although it isn't working yet)
My Quest: To get an x86 emulator working on my Zaurus and to have my Zaurus replace my laptop as my MAIN computer
Publically available Videos for the default Zaurus SL-C860 video player

Ethereal

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
    • View Profile
    • http://
maps/travel software
« Reply #71 on: May 26, 2004, 08:39:27 pm »
Quote
Yes, that link works, but the link in that page to the Zaurus files ( http://community.zaurus.com/projects/zroadmap/ ) doesn\'t work.


ZUG mirror site does!
SL-6000L, Sharp ROM 1.12;
Socket Rev 2.5 CF Bluetooth::SE T608;
Sandisk 512MB SD, formatted ext2;
Pocketop IR Keyboard

stuffman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
    • View Profile
    • http://www.dylanpowell.net/zaurus
maps/travel software
« Reply #72 on: May 29, 2004, 01:14:08 am »
I\'m having some difficulty getting zRoadMap to display my position with GPS. I\'ve got all the maps for my area (which are very very out of date), and have it centered approximately where I am. I start the gpsd daemon with gpsd -p /dev/ttyS3 -s 4800. It starts up and works fine (verified by qpeGPS), and the roadgps program will track the satilites. However, no markers of any sort appear on my screen in zRoadMap... Any suggestions?
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']SL-C860 Running pdaXrom 1.1.0beta1.
5GB Seagate ST-1 Microdrive from Rio Carbon, Asst. Other CF Cards.
512MB Sandisk SD.
AmbiCom WL1100C-CF WiFi Card.
Some GPS Card I Can't Remember...
Palm Tungsten Retractable Stylus (If You're Not Using These, You're Missing Out!).
[/font][/span]

cmisip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
    • View Profile
    • http://home.mchsi.com/~cmisip/index.htm
maps/travel software
« Reply #73 on: May 29, 2004, 03:00:42 am »
It takes a little while for it to appear on the screen in zroadmap.  Look for a triangular blue icon.
Zaurus 5600
Zynergy Rootfs 1.1
Custom zImage

How Do You Do That in Linux

cmisip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
    • View Profile
    • http://home.mchsi.com/~cmisip/index.htm
maps/travel software
« Reply #74 on: May 29, 2004, 08:05:44 pm »
What is the difference between qpegps original and qpegps with the scale ratio option?

I have been using getmaps to get the maps and it seems it is aware of the 2815 scale ratio for maptuit (its in the source).  Do I need to get the  qpepgs version with the scaleratio option?  The maps are fairly accurate more so in the N <-> S direction than in the E <-> W direction in high resolution maps, that is , when traveling N <-> S, the icon representing you, stays on the road, while when traveling E <-> W you are \"beside\" the road ( a little to the South of the road) but close enough that you know what street  you are.  I have done very limited testing though.  

Anybody else have any experiences to share regarding qpegps and map accuracy?  Any suggestions?

Thanks
Zaurus 5600
Zynergy Rootfs 1.1
Custom zImage

How Do You Do That in Linux