Author Topic: Help me before I throw this 5600 across the room.  (Read 4007 times)

ScytheBlade1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • http://
Help me before I throw this 5600 across the room.
« on: June 06, 2004, 03:07:30 pm »
(Just kidding about the topic, but it\'s getting there...)

Note: I took this out of an existing thread, in hopes that this would recieve  some more recognition, and so that the other thread could stay on track.

This is the only thread with an error even associated to mine....so here goes....

I have an AmbiCom WL1100C-CF wifi card. Prism2.
\"Thanks for the reply. using Ambicoim WL1100C-CF . It\'s supposed to be prism2. \"

Been here, done that. So, anyways...I\'ve got a belkin wifi AP here, and with my winxp computer + PCI wifi card it works just fine. Strong signal, DHCP works...it just works.

Not my handheld. I use the network app to configure the AP and try to connect, but the light just blinks forever then shuts off. So, I SSH in (via cradle USB, not wifi ) and try to bring it up manually.

Code: [Select]
# ifconfig eth0

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:10:7A:58:57:FB  

          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1

          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0

          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0

          collisions:0 txqueuelen:100

          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

          Interrupt:39



# iwconfig

lo        no wireless extensions.



usbd0     no wireless extensions.



eth0      no wireless extensions.



#

(Note that I have to do the \'ifconfig eth0\' because otherwise it won\'t show, because the device is not up.)

Now, I know the wireless extensions don\'t appear until I bring the interface up, but...

Code: [Select]
# ifconfig eth0 up

SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such device


\"No such device\".

*tries to connect through the tray applet, and while the light is blinking, brings the interface up*

*gasp*
Code: [Select]
# ifconfig eth0 up

#


No error! But the stupid script dies a moment later, and bring the interface down. I try to kill the process while it\'s running, but as soon as I do, the interface goes down. Either that, or I manage to nab all of the processes that it runs in time, and it stays \'up\'. However, it\'s still lacking wireless extensions. If I try it anyways...
Code: [Select]
# iwconfig eth0 essid "Brantley"

Error for wireless request "Set ESSID" (8B1A) :

    SET failed on device eth0; Function not implemented.


I have run the format time and time again. It never connects. I can\'t bring it up, except by the GUI applet, which also brings it down by itself shortly without connecting. I can bring it down, but not up. I can only bring it down after the GUI brought it up and I killed reams of scripts, but even then it\'s completly dead.

I AM NOT A HAPPY PERSON.

To answer a few questions now....
A) All commands were executed as root
 I\'m running the latest version of the special kernel and ROM (SL-5600)
C) I know it\'s not a problem with the AP
D) PLEASE reply here, even if it\'s a \"I have no clue\", so at least I don\'t go wondering if anyone ever read this.
E) I\'m 4 feet away from the AP. The only thing inbetween the zaurus/wifi card and the AP is air and probably several hundred dang-near invisible pieces of dust.

Ethereal

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
    • View Profile
    • http://
Help me before I throw this 5600 across the room.
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2004, 03:34:32 pm »
B.) Which is the \"latest version\"?  I ask b/c I know there is a \"v1.4\" (and even, I think, flavours \"a\" and \"b\") out there, and every new Special Kernel comes with nebulous qualifying remarks to the effect \"I think I compiled this with Wireless Extensions, but who knows?\"  I had fine performance with SK v1.3 on my 5600, and I can vouch for wireless extensions being enabled.

D) I think there\'s a counter on the forum index for \"Views\" next to \"Replies.\"

This is probably not what you want to hear, but I experienced something similar with two Symbol WiFi cards that both turned out to be fried.
SL-6000L, Sharp ROM 1.12;
Socket Rev 2.5 CF Bluetooth::SE T608;
Sandisk 512MB SD, formatted ext2;
Pocketop IR Keyboard

cmisip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
    • View Profile
    • http://home.mchsi.com/~cmisip/index.htm
Help me before I throw this 5600 across the room.
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2004, 05:50:52 pm »
This is how I bring up my wifi connection using a script.

cardctl scheme CardResume
cardctl scheme qpewlan1 &
ifconfig eth0 192.168.0.105 netmask 255.255.255.0
route add default gw 192.168.0.1

This requires that I have setup a wireless connection using Network setup (that is how qpewlan1 is set).
Zaurus 5600
Zynergy Rootfs 1.1
Custom zImage

How Do You Do That in Linux

ScytheBlade1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • http://
Help me before I throw this 5600 across the room.
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2004, 10:01:05 am »
Still no wifi extensions, and still no working wlan.

(edit: after reading what the qpewlan1 actually is and changing it accordingly, now it just brings the interface right down. Whoo.)

cmisip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
    • View Profile
    • http://home.mchsi.com/~cmisip/index.htm
Help me before I throw this 5600 across the room.
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2004, 08:10:15 pm »
What ROM are you using?
Zaurus 5600
Zynergy Rootfs 1.1
Custom zImage

How Do You Do That in Linux

sefthuko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Help me before I throw this 5600 across the room.
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2004, 10:29:14 pm »
I read... somewhere.. on these forums a method on getting wellenreiter to work, and they used a series of command lines much like yours, cmisip.  Except it went like this:

cardctl scheme CardResume
cardctl scheme qpewlan0 &
cardctl reset
wellenreiter

Try issuing the reset after?  I don\'t really know what it does though