Poll

Do you use Zaurus' built in handwriting to write?

Yes, all the time
14 (23.7%)
No, very rarely
45 (76.3%)

Total Members Voted: 28

Author Topic: Do you use Zaurus\' built in handwriting to write?  (Read 2289 times)

zack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
    • http://
Do you use Zaurus\' built in handwriting to write?
« on: June 16, 2004, 08:58:50 pm »
How many of you use the h/w in Z to compose messages instead of the keyboard on a regular basis?

The recognition is so bad...I wonder if anyone uses it at all!

Stubear

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1164
    • View Profile
    • http://
Do you use Zaurus\' built in handwriting to write?
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2004, 02:06:24 am »
I don\'t use it all the time, but definetly more than rarely - especially the Japanese handwriting on the C760, one of the easiest ways to find kanji I don\'t know in my dictionary, although I\'ve recently been using Effy-Japanese input since beta testing it - short learning curve but still have troubles with complex kanji.

The English handwriting applet from opie works resonably well after I trained myself and after I added the dict file so that it gives me suggested words based on the letters already input.

Stu
SL-C1000, Hand converted to English with Japanese Input
Running X apps via X/Qt
iRiver USB host cable; Diatec P-Cord usb power cable (extendable); Acro's Reel Cable USB (A to A, B, Mini-B,  & Mini-B 8pin); GreenHouse 1Gb PicoDrive+; 2x256Mb Hagiwara SD cards; 128Mb Transcend CF card; 512Mb PQI CF card; AmbiCom WL1100C-CF 11B WLAN card

totaln00b

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
    • View Profile
Do you use Zaurus\' built in handwriting to write?
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2004, 04:31:12 am »
I use it quite a lot, if I\'m in meetings or somewhere where I can\'t put the zaurus down to type with two hands. I actually think the recognition is really good, much better than anything else that I\'ve tried (with other pdas not zaurus applications). I guess that just proves that it\'s very subjective, or maybe my handwriting is very similar to the programmer\'s!

Jo
CL 860, cacko  1.23 full, Sandisk 512Mb CF, Kodak 256Mb SD, Symbol Spectrum24 wifi
SL 5500, standard rom, 256Mb SD, CF GPS

cowcow

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
Do you use Zaurus\' built in handwriting to write?
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2004, 05:58:25 am »
if only Zaurus has the kind of handwriting recognition that PPC has.. it is very good, and it recognise word rather than letter.
SL-C860
Original Japanese ROM
D-Link 660W CF WiFi Card
1G Transend CF Card

mugur

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • http://
Do you use Zaurus\' built in handwriting to write?
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2004, 06:27:23 am »
Hi all,
I am a newbie. Stu,Can you give a reference for how the dictionary file can be changed particularly on SL-5600? And  how can the input language can be changed? I have seen Cyril input, and Japanese input, but  I could notfigure out how can it be done....
Thanks...

Stubear

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1164
    • View Profile
    • http://
Do you use Zaurus\' built in handwriting to write?
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2004, 08:08:06 am »
Mugur,

I copied the dawg file from the opie-i18n-en file and created a directory called dict in /home/QtPalmtop/etc/. Once the dawg fiel was in the /home/QtPalmtop/etc/dict file the handwriting app gave completion choices.

I copied the lib*.so.x.x.x files form a number of different places and roms, copied them to /home/QtPalmtop/plugins/inputmethods, then create soft links to shorten the lis*so path

ie if you are installing libhandwriting.so.1.0.0 then you need to do
Code: [Select]
ln -s libhandwriting.so.1.0.0 libhandwriting.so.1.0

ln -s libhandwriting.so.1.0.0 libhandwriting.so.1

ln -s libhandwriting.so.1.0.0 libhandwriting.so


after you reboot or restart qtopia you should have a new input method in your list - note some input methods have other files that may be needed before the input method will function - the Japanese CRIM is an example of that although I have seen instructions on a Japanese site on how to install it on an English Zaurus

OFF TOPIC - Is anyone else aware of the fact that there was a time when Japanese were importing Z from the States because they only had a java based version here in Japan!

Stu
SL-C1000, Hand converted to English with Japanese Input
Running X apps via X/Qt
iRiver USB host cable; Diatec P-Cord usb power cable (extendable); Acro's Reel Cable USB (A to A, B, Mini-B,  & Mini-B 8pin); GreenHouse 1Gb PicoDrive+; 2x256Mb Hagiwara SD cards; 128Mb Transcend CF card; 512Mb PQI CF card; AmbiCom WL1100C-CF 11B WLAN card

DrWily

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
    • http://
Do you use Zaurus\' built in handwriting to write?
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2004, 08:52:26 am »
Is there a way on the 5500 or 6000 to scribble on typed documents?  Just to make revision notes or comments.

Stubear

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1164
    • View Profile
    • http://
Do you use Zaurus\' built in handwriting to write?
« Reply #7 on: June 17, 2004, 10:34:22 am »
The closest thing I\'ve seen to that is InkWP that CowCow posted a few days ago, but it doesn\'t let you scribble on the document itself.

Stu
SL-C1000, Hand converted to English with Japanese Input
Running X apps via X/Qt
iRiver USB host cable; Diatec P-Cord usb power cable (extendable); Acro's Reel Cable USB (A to A, B, Mini-B,  & Mini-B 8pin); GreenHouse 1Gb PicoDrive+; 2x256Mb Hagiwara SD cards; 128Mb Transcend CF card; 512Mb PQI CF card; AmbiCom WL1100C-CF 11B WLAN card

sashby11

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • http://
Do you use Zaurus\' built in handwriting to write?
« Reply #8 on: June 29, 2004, 10:16:47 pm »
I'm very surprised at the results of this poll - I use the handwriting - I much prefer it to the pop-up keyboard, and the hardware keyboard.  In fact - one of the factors that interested me in the Zaurus is that it has a virtual writing area - so I can get feedback as I'm writing to improve accuracy.  Linux is what sold me, but I wouldn't have even looked beyond an inexpensive Sony if it hadn't been missing the virtual graffiti area.

dh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
    • http://
Do you use Zaurus\' built in handwriting to write?
« Reply #9 on: June 29, 2004, 11:18:26 pm »
I really don't like the handwriting recognition at all. Obviously some of the other OSs have much better options such as Calligrapher on PPC.

What I'd really like to have is a version of Fitaly to use in tablet mode. We have jumpX but the keys are way too tiny on the VGA screen. I would love for someone to make a VGA version - would be really useful - hint hint  
C860, Cacko Elena ROM
Cheers!
David

RJLadd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Do you use Zaurus\' built in handwriting to write?
« Reply #10 on: June 30, 2004, 01:27:49 am »
I'm new to Zaurii, so my usage may change. For now, I find that I do PIM-style functions and write short notes in portrait, using handwriting. I'm currently trying out Opie; after some training, its handwriting recognition seems to be very good.

For more serious, portable-Unix-machine uses, and for reading etext, I generally work in landscape using the keyboard.
SL-c860

Foxdie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 465
    • View Profile
    • http://trackmygps.co.uk
Do you use Zaurus\' built in handwriting to write?
« Reply #11 on: June 30, 2004, 03:27:34 am »
*laughs at the poll percentage* (take a look at the attached file which is a screenshot)

I think although the poll count is valid the percentage is well warped
Jason "Foxdie" Gaunt
HTC Universal G4 with 2GB SD card running Debian Titchy Linux
[img]http://trackmygps.co.uk/signatures/foxdie.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Click image to view my GPS tracker
Follow me on Twitter: @jasongaunt

amrein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 345
    • View Profile
    • http://
Do you use Zaurus\' built in handwriting to write?
« Reply #12 on: June 30, 2004, 09:04:17 am »
Familiar GPE has several handwritting applets for X11.

The one with "continues writting" is easy to compile. Just ask and I think that pdaXrom team will add them in future 1.0.5 release (or perhaps you if you want your first cross-compiling experience .


(Sorry, I'm working on something and can't help at present).

Saurus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Do you use Zaurus\' built in handwriting to write?
« Reply #13 on: July 05, 2004, 04:41:53 pm »
Since I am studying japanese I use it very often. It was one of the reasons to get a Zaurus in the first place.
If I am reading a newspaper or something on the net and I don't know a kanji, then I can write that kanji on my Zaurus and voila, I get the translation.
But I never use it to write english stuff, that's just not handy.