Author Topic: Watapon ROM  (Read 92842 times)

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
Watapon ROM
« Reply #270 on: July 14, 2005, 09:27:24 pm »
Quote
  hostap instead of wlan-ng?, without hostap I cant connect to the WPA encrypted wlan @ work.
  5600 special kernel v1.3 from zug, (wireless extentions and overclocking)[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Hey dreadlocks. I was searching though the forum to try to get my wireless finally working (can't specify *anything*, ssid, wep, etc, or else I can't connect). I was trying to figure out how to get a hostap driver loaded when I came across your post. Is [a href=\"http://www.zaurususergroup.org/UpDownload+index-req-viewsdownload-sid-53.phtml]this[/url] the kernel you mentioned? And would that help with my wifi connection, or do I need to source the hostap driver somewhere else, and if so, then where? tks
GROG!

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
Watapon ROM
« Reply #271 on: July 14, 2005, 09:49:50 pm »
Quote
(asking about hostap...)[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
An update. I installed the hostap drivers I found [a href=\"http://www.zaurususergroup.org/modules.php]here[/url], and they seem to load:

Code: [Select]
[zaurus@grond]<~>$ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
kbdsim                  1008   0 (unused)
pxa_bi                 21328   0 (unused)
net_fd                 25024   1
usbdcore               34544   0 [pxa_bi net_fd]
usbdmonitor             5248   0
hostap_crypt_wep        3152   0 (unused)
hostap_cs              40720   1
hostap                 82480   0 [hostap_crypt_wep hostap_cs]
sharp_mmcsd_m          26256   3
Strange warnings from iwconfig though, but eth0 didn't show any wireless extensions at all before, so maybe on the right track?

Code: [Select]
[zaurus@grond]<~>$ iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

Warning: Driver for device eth0 has been compiled with version 12
of Wireless Extension, while this program is using version 13.
Some things may be broken...

Warning: Driver for device eth0 recommend version 13 of Wireless Extension,
but has been compiled with version 12, therefore some driver features
may not be available...

eth0      IEEE 802.11-DS  Mode:Managed
          Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0

usbd0     no wireless extensions.
But now the card doesn't power up, network applet no longer shows up & I cardctl doesn't have any effect (device busy). I removed the package & the prism2 driver reloaded & my settings thankfully came back, so I'm at least not further back then I was.

Where can I go from here? thks
GROG!

Chaos

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
    • View Profile
    • http://zaurus.duelmonsters.ca
Watapon ROM
« Reply #272 on: July 14, 2005, 09:57:47 pm »
Note that I'm sorry for not having anything done yet. =) I'm on vacation, and I don't have a Linux box with me. But this is high on my list for things to do when I get back. I should return to home... Oh, Wednesday I believe. =)

(I forgot to mention that I'm on vacation before I left last Sunday - I was a bit busy around that time getting things ready to go.)
Sorry. I just don't have the time...

noobler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Watapon ROM
« Reply #273 on: August 06, 2005, 01:25:09 am »
Hey, Chao.. any update on the development of the latest version of Watapon?


/a side question; anyone using Dlink DCF-660W for their poodle on watapon? any issues from this cf wifi??


zaferaktan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
    • http://
Watapon ROM
« Reply #274 on: August 13, 2005, 09:41:47 pm »
 
Dear Justin (aka Chaos), may I recommend moving the PIM's to separate IPKs , fixing the syncing and IR problems for the Sharp compatible Watapon before you stop developing that version and moving to the new Watapon?  

I purchased some software from theKompany and as far as I know they are only compatible with the current Watapon.  Will theKompany products will work on the new Watapon?  Given that your busy schedule, I don't think you can test it.  I will be happy to test them for you on the new Watapon.   If they don't work, then I have to use the existing Watapon which I believe will be absolutely perfect platform when IR, Syncing problems are fixed and PIMs are removed to IPKs as options to the users.  Doing so will give users more flexibility for personalization of their Watapon and make it more popular among Z5600 users.   I like some of the theKompany software and there might be others currently using or might want to use similar software on their Watapon based Z5600.

Thank you again for a "close to perfect" OS on Z5600 and good luck with the new version.
Zaf

zaferaktan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
    • http://
Watapon ROM
« Reply #275 on: August 13, 2005, 10:18:39 pm »
Justin, this is from the OPIE homepage:

The Open Palmtop Integrated Environment is a 'fork' of the [WWW]Qtopia environment developed by [WWW]Trolltech.

Given that theKompany applications (as far as I know) are compatible with Qt of Trolltech and I believe will work on your OPIE based Watapon.  My offer to test the applications I have from theKompany is standing.  If they do work, I am going to write to Shawn Gordon - theKompany President to inform him and maybe let them mention Watapon in their homepage for Z5600.  They tried to create their OS but it failed (the guy who was developing theKompany rom took the PDA and disappeared   )

Just let me know.
thanx
Zaf

phisch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Watapon ROM
« Reply #276 on: August 20, 2005, 05:00:46 pm »
Hi,
Just got a 5600 and still using 1.32 from Sharp.  Want to try Watapon, but has anybody out there had any success using IR?  Need it for synching with my phone and for my keyboard.  What about hostap?  Need to use WPA-PSK.  Thanks in advance!

-Phil
SL-5600
Watapon 1.6.1

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
Watapon ROM
« Reply #277 on: August 21, 2005, 12:12:45 pm »
Quote
Hi, Just got a 5600 and still using 1.32 from Sharp.  Want to try Watapon, but has anybody out there had any success using IR?  Need it for synching with my phone and for my keyboard.  What about hostap?  Need to use WPA-PSK.  Thanks in advance! -Phil [div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=92660\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
I use my pockettop keyboard successfully with my poodle with watapon. I haven't tried my ir with anything else , though. HTH
GROG!

dreadlocks

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
    • http://zaurus.nayr.net
Watapon ROM
« Reply #278 on: August 21, 2005, 05:20:51 pm »
Quote
Hi,
Just got a 5600 and still using 1.32 from Sharp.  Want to try Watapon, but has anybody out there had any success using IR?  Need it for synching with my phone and for my keyboard.  What about hostap?  Need to use WPA-PSK.  Thanks in advance!

-Phil
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=92660\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

keyboards work fine with Watapon, it seems the file transfer is broken.. hostap still needs work tho
RETIRED - Zaurus SL-5600 (and a dead 5000D)
Wapaton 1.6.1 - Personal Watapon Feed
SMC 2642W & Linksys WCF12, Targus Universal IR Keyboard
Sandisk 512mb SD, Lexar 64mb SD, Sharp Camera
Extreme Limit Metal & Leather Suit

stormer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • http://
Watapon ROM
« Reply #279 on: August 27, 2005, 12:15:38 pm »
Watapon IR works for transfering from a phone (nokia 6230) to a 5600 without anyy heroics. Don;t know how to transfer the other way though!


Quote
Quote
Hi,
Just got a 5600 and still using 1.32 from Sharp.  Want to try Watapon, but has anybody out there had any success using IR?  Need it for synching with my phone and for my keyboard.  What about hostap?  Need to use WPA-PSK.  Thanks in advance!

-Phil
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=92660\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

keyboards work fine with Watapon, it seems the file transfer is broken.. hostap still needs work tho
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=92748\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
C3100   - Cacko with PDAXRom and OZ pretensions !

5600 - 255, 256m & 1G Sandisk SD, Wizgo 802.11b, Pocketop irk, bluemonkey BT, Watapon, OZ 3.5.3 Henteges, with a sprinkling of pocketworkstation - depending on the weather !

SteveConley

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
Watapon ROM
« Reply #280 on: August 28, 2005, 09:03:28 am »
Chaos,

Must say you have done a great job from the looks of it.

I have tried OZ3.5.3, Hentges, etc. All seem to have issue with the 5600.

Loaded this up in desperation yesterday instead of going back to Sharp and everything I have tried works. Especially with my Socket WLAN Wireless card.

Do you have a PayPal account for donations?

(Also, Dreadlocks, thanks for your efforts too).

I have found several more of my old apps that work Out-of-the-box just fine like PalmStudy, Powerchord, eng-spa.dict, etc. I will be loading up more today and testing.

Does anyone know what the best (fastest) app to review digicam pics with? The imageviewer "works" but it is so slow.

Thanks much,
(Poodle, TOPRAM 1GB SD, SimpleTech 1GB CF, Socket LP WLan CF)

Mongoosefred

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
    • http://www.xlevel.org.uk
Watapon ROM
« Reply #281 on: August 29, 2005, 10:55:52 am »
Hi Chaos,
For starters, great ROM.  Just what I was looking for for my 5600.
I like your idea for moving to OPIE, was using OZ/OPIE on my 5500 until I upgraded.
Any idea if Jeode will still work, I think most of the issues with OZ/OPIE and Jeode (of which there are many) come for the fact it doesn't use GCC 2.95. Will the new Watapon ROM use 2.95?

On an aside I found this thread in the QT development forum about a DSL based Zaurus development environment. It makes setting up a dev environment alot easier. I was wondering if it might be an idea to see if someone could create an environment based on this for the new Watapon ROM. Might make life easier if app need to be recompilied?

Looking forward to see Watapon 2.0....
-MF.
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']
QuackNews RSS Reader
----------
Zaurus SL-5600 (Watapon ROM 1.6)
Zaurus SL-5500 (On load to a friend)
512 MB SD-Card
PNY 64MB CF-Card
VIKING 256MB CF-Card
Sharp Digital Camera (On load to a friend)
NL-2511CF WiFi Card
[/font][/span]

slapout

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Watapon ROM
« Reply #282 on: August 30, 2005, 03:01:35 pm »
Alright. This topic is already at 19 pages and 280 replies! Please start a new topic when version 2 comes out. :-)  

(Thanks for version 1.x, btw)
SL-5600
Watapon 1.2 Rom

xamindar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.radnimax.com
Watapon ROM
« Reply #283 on: September 11, 2005, 05:59:57 pm »
Hey Chaos, any news on version 2?
SL-C3100 happily Dualbooting Japanese Rom 1.02 and Debian Eabi
Replaced internal CF with 8gb seagate cf hard drive
Ambicom CF GPS
CyberPower battery powered USB hub
D-link DCF-650W (MAN THIS THING IS HUGE!!)

xamindar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.radnimax.com
Watapon ROM
« Reply #284 on: September 17, 2005, 04:23:55 pm »
A couple questions about the ko/pi apps.

How do I set filters in the mail program?

and, how do I configure my personal "vcard" thing?
SL-C3100 happily Dualbooting Japanese Rom 1.02 and Debian Eabi
Replaced internal CF with 8gb seagate cf hard drive
Ambicom CF GPS
CyberPower battery powered USB hub
D-link DCF-650W (MAN THIS THING IS HUGE!!)