Author Topic: pdaXrom and C750 = flickering  (Read 4003 times)

008

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
    • http://
pdaXrom and C750 = flickering
« on: October 13, 2004, 11:56:46 am »
I just recently flashed my C750 with RC5, and the first thing I notice is flickering on scrollbar of aterm, where there is a vertical line.  It happens close to the edge of the screen on both sides, but it is not as apparent in the middle.  However, this goes away when I put the PDA in portrait mode, no flickering at all, horizontal or vertical.  

This didn't happen in cacko, and I'm not overclocked, is pdaXrom using an optimized ati w100 module or something?

Thanks

Laze

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pdaXrom.org
pdaXrom and C750 = flickering
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2004, 12:29:07 pm »
ssshhhh.. be werry werryy quiet...

Yes the pdaXrom is using a "hacked" version of the ATI drivers.
C760 running pdaXrom lastest ;-)
SL5500 Running Cacko Qtopia
512 MB SD Card, 128 MB CF Card, Prism2 CF Wlan.

Always visit http://www.pdaXrom.org for latest news.

008

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
    • http://
pdaXrom and C750 = flickering
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2004, 01:28:38 pm »
lol.. I see how it is..

Since your here, I might as well ask where can I get the source of SDL that you used to compile quake with?  I imagine there must be all sorts of hacks and patches.. I'd like to build a couple of things  

ikm

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
    • http://
pdaXrom and C750 = flickering
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2004, 01:34:04 pm »
Now I got it, got all the parts in the pussle. It flickers in the landscape mode on pdaXrom but not in Sharp's rom just because the data on the framebuffer was originally always arranged for the portrait mode, and on Sharp's rom, the rotation for the landscape mode was made completely in software. On the pdaXrom instead, the rotation is achieved in hardware with some nifty hack involved. That's why it flickers.
Now that I understand it, I would say let's just keep it that way, not going back to software rotation as it is a pain in the arse to program and it would certainly work slower
« Last Edit: October 13, 2004, 01:35:44 pm by ikm »

_Psycho

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
    • http://zports.sf.net
pdaXrom and C750 = flickering
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2004, 01:37:51 pm »
While you asked that, Laze do you know if the SDL lib for pdaxrom has the FB enabled ? I think thats could make quake quite faster, but you would also have rotation problem maybe

Just curious !

My screen flick too on my c700 (I thought it was me since i changed my screen last week and i had a connector problem hehe)
Zaurus Porting Project :
http://zports.sf.net
Conics:
http://www.conics.net

amrein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 345
    • View Profile
    • http://
pdaXrom and C750 = flickering
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2004, 03:17:41 pm »
For me, flickering has always been a XFree86 "feature"

The only X11 server without flickering I know off is xorg 6.8.1. I saw a few comments about flickering removed on freedesktop.org too.

ikm

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
    • http://
pdaXrom and C750 = flickering
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2004, 03:35:40 pm »
Quote
For me, flickering has always been a XFree86 "feature"

The only X11 server without flickering I know off is xorg 6.8.1. I saw a few comments about flickering removed on freedesktop.org too.
That's another kind of flickering  Maximise the brightness on your Z, run Aterm and press enter enough times so that the scrollbar on the left appears. Now look at that scrollbar and see it flickering.

amrein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 345
    • View Profile
    • http://
pdaXrom and C750 = flickering
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2004, 04:11:48 pm »
Tested. I have understood. Screen flickering because of hardware screen refresh.

The more the environnement temperature is far from default temperature use, the more I see flickering on all kind of pda screens. Normal.

Sharp screen flickering is difficult to notice when compared to other device. 008 I guess you were using a very high contract level or perhaps the power supply.

Laze

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pdaXrom.org
pdaXrom and C750 = flickering
« Reply #8 on: October 13, 2004, 06:13:22 pm »
Please start new a thread if your question/comments are not related to the thread topic - it makes much easier for other people to find stuff and also search/browse the forums before asking.. There is a thread named Quake source :-)

Anyway: http://mirror1.pdaxrom.org/source/quake1src.tar.bz2

Not much have been done to optimize either Quake or SDL - if the right programmer sat down and optimized it I think it can run above 30 fps :-)
C760 running pdaXrom lastest ;-)
SL5500 Running Cacko Qtopia
512 MB SD Card, 128 MB CF Card, Prism2 CF Wlan.

Always visit http://www.pdaXrom.org for latest news.

008

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
    • http://
pdaXrom and C750 = flickering
« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2004, 06:24:32 pm »
Okay, sorry about that!

Thanks!