Author Topic: English conversion?  (Read 6382 times)

uczmeg

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
    • http://
English conversion?
« on: November 14, 2004, 01:26:44 pm »
Hi,

I'm planning on importing a 3000.

I have a C860 and have converted that to English by flashing the various ROMs available.

Will I be able to flash Cacko onto a 3000? It has less flash ROM, so I assume the hard drive is required. If it is, has anyone any idea how I make it work?

Failing that all the main importers seem to have an English conversion. How have they done that?

Thanks
Marc

Stubear

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1164
    • View Profile
    • http://
English conversion?
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2004, 07:37:43 pm »
Don't think the cacko rom will flash properly on the C3k - you will have to wait till they make a version for the C3k.

If you want to convert yourself there are basically 2 options:

1) change /home/zaurus/Settings/locale.conf to read 'en' or 'zh_TW' instead of 'ja' for the language setting.

2) remove the qm translation files in /home/QtPalmtop/i18n/ja and comment out the various lines in .desktop files that have the japanese names of programs. I wrote a script that does this and it basically follows the info here http://mspencer.net/stuff/c700conv.html

Stu
SL-C1000, Hand converted to English with Japanese Input
Running X apps via X/Qt
iRiver USB host cable; Diatec P-Cord usb power cable (extendable); Acro's Reel Cable USB (A to A, B, Mini-B,  & Mini-B 8pin); GreenHouse 1Gb PicoDrive+; 2x256Mb Hagiwara SD cards; 128Mb Transcend CF card; 512Mb PQI CF card; AmbiCom WL1100C-CF 11B WLAN card

uczmeg

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
    • http://
English conversion?
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2004, 07:45:56 pm »
Thanks Stu.

So option 1 gives me a fully English Zaurus? And option 2 gives me the 'meta mode' talked about in the link?

Cheers
Marc

Stubear

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1164
    • View Profile
    • http://
English conversion?
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2004, 10:41:40 pm »
If you choose 'en' in option one then all menus etc are in English, and Japanese charcters will show up as squaer boxes. If you chose 'zh_TW' then you get english menus AND can still read Japanese. Some people have reported odd font sizes when changing the locale (you might also want to change to a European version of helevetica if you don't want Japanese)

The second option is the one I use - for me it gives me the best balance between English and Japanese

Stu
SL-C1000, Hand converted to English with Japanese Input
Running X apps via X/Qt
iRiver USB host cable; Diatec P-Cord usb power cable (extendable); Acro's Reel Cable USB (A to A, B, Mini-B,  & Mini-B 8pin); GreenHouse 1Gb PicoDrive+; 2x256Mb Hagiwara SD cards; 128Mb Transcend CF card; 512Mb PQI CF card; AmbiCom WL1100C-CF 11B WLAN card

lpotter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 450
    • View Profile
    • http://qtopia.net
English conversion?
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2004, 02:57:03 am »
All the japanese Zaurus can be, more accurately, untranslated.

If the language package is not installed...
http://www.longbros.com/benjamin/ipaq/dist...5.0-8bp_arm.ipk

and there ya go..

or you can do it by hand if you have the terminal and a good text editor..
edit
~/Settings/locale.conf
and change to
Language = en_US
then from the terminal, run the command
qcop 'QPE/System'  'language(QString)' 'en_US'
Software Engineer, Systems Group, MES, Trolltech
irc.freenode.net #qtopia
http://qtopia.net

ArchiMark

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1819
    • View Profile
English conversion?
« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2004, 03:58:57 pm »
Quote
~/Settings/locale.conf
and change to
Language = en_US
then from the terminal,

OK, this part went OK....rebooted and got English....


Quote
run the command
qcop 'QPE/System' 'language(QString)' 'en_US'

Just tried this part but got error message:

"Qt/Embedded data directory is not owned by user 0"

I did start all of this by typing "su" first....

Any suggestions??

Thanks,

Mark
« Last Edit: November 16, 2004, 04:34:33 pm by ArchiMark »
Silicon Valley Digerati - * Please see my Mini Laptops For Sale Listing *
Cosmo Communicator / One-Netbook One Mix Yoga 3S (Win 10/Manjaro 18)
Banana Pi Zero UMPC/Armbian
MacBookPro
Sold: C3200/N900/OQO/N5/Dell Mini9/Netwalker/UMID M1/

emerika

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • http://
English conversion?
« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2004, 05:13:54 pm »
Quote
Quote
~/Settings/locale.conf
and change to
Language = en_US
then from the terminal,

OK, this part went OK....rebooted and got English....


Quote
run the command
qcop 'QPE/System' 'language(QString)' 'en_US'

Just tried this part but got error message:

"Qt/Embedded data directory is not owned by user 0"

I did start all of this by typing "su" first....

Any suggestions??

Thanks,

Mark

I think you need to su - root in order to execute that command... it's possible you can just 'sudo ' in front of the command.

ArchiMark

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1819
    • View Profile
English conversion?
« Reply #7 on: November 16, 2004, 06:33:56 pm »
Will try that emerika

Thanks!

Mark
Silicon Valley Digerati - * Please see my Mini Laptops For Sale Listing *
Cosmo Communicator / One-Netbook One Mix Yoga 3S (Win 10/Manjaro 18)
Banana Pi Zero UMPC/Armbian
MacBookPro
Sold: C3200/N900/OQO/N5/Dell Mini9/Netwalker/UMID M1/

uczmeg

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
    • http://
English conversion?
« Reply #8 on: November 16, 2004, 06:37:06 pm »
Mark,

Please let us know how you get on. I'm very interested to find out!

Cheers
Marc

ZeeUser

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
English conversion?
« Reply #9 on: November 16, 2004, 06:56:32 pm »
Archimark:
Unless you are trying to keep Japanese language compatability, you can follow the simple instructions at Conics.net to convert the C3000 to English

ArchiMark

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1819
    • View Profile
English conversion?
« Reply #10 on: November 16, 2004, 08:08:45 pm »
Thanks for the clarification ZeeUser!

Will report back soon....

Mark
Silicon Valley Digerati - * Please see my Mini Laptops For Sale Listing *
Cosmo Communicator / One-Netbook One Mix Yoga 3S (Win 10/Manjaro 18)
Banana Pi Zero UMPC/Armbian
MacBookPro
Sold: C3200/N900/OQO/N5/Dell Mini9/Netwalker/UMID M1/

ZeeUser

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
English conversion?
« Reply #11 on: November 16, 2004, 09:00:10 pm »
mcconvert worked without issue on my C3000. There is still a small bit of residual Japanese, which shows up as boxes; that was fully expected, though.  I am very glad that this handy little app is available, since I wrongly thought that my C3000 had already been converted to English by Conics    
(In all fairness, their site states that English conversion is available upon request)

ArchiMark

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1819
    • View Profile
English conversion?
« Reply #12 on: November 17, 2004, 03:24:23 pm »
'sudo su' didn't work...got error message...

Anyway, also tried mcconvert from Conics site...works great!

All's well right now...

 

Mark
Silicon Valley Digerati - * Please see my Mini Laptops For Sale Listing *
Cosmo Communicator / One-Netbook One Mix Yoga 3S (Win 10/Manjaro 18)
Banana Pi Zero UMPC/Armbian
MacBookPro
Sold: C3200/N900/OQO/N5/Dell Mini9/Netwalker/UMID M1/

chroafjd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • http://
English conversion?
« Reply #13 on: February 10, 2005, 06:17:54 pm »
Quote
Don't think the cacko rom will flash properly on the C3k - you will have to wait till they make a version for the C3k.

If you want to convert yourself there are basically 2 options:

1) change /home/zaurus/Settings/locale.conf to read 'en' or 'zh_TW' instead of 'ja' for the language setting.

2) remove the qm translation files in /home/QtPalmtop/i18n/ja and comment out the various lines in .desktop files that have the japanese names of programs. I wrote a script that does this and it basically follows the info here http://mspencer.net/stuff/c700conv.html

Stu
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=52127\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Hi Stu,

I have to live with the fact that I may never get my C3000 fully converted to english. The squares keep coming up at odd places.

I will however like to get rid of all the jap stuff.  I gather your script can handle this and will be greatful if you can let me use it.

Thanks in anticipation,
Ashu

Stubear

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1164
    • View Profile
    • http://
English conversion?
« Reply #14 on: February 11, 2005, 10:30:47 am »
Quote
Hi Stu,

I have to live with the fact that I may never get my C3000 fully converted to english. The squares keep coming up at odd places.

I will however like to get rid of all the jap stuff.  I gather your script can handle this and will be greatful if you can let me use it.

Thanks in anticipation,
Ashu
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

The best place to get my script is from [a href=\"http://www.wbcd.org/computing/zaurus/part_12.html]http://www.wbcd.org/computing/zaurus/part_12.html[/url] (I've posted it to the forums before but some people have had problems cutting and pasting it). Full details available here about what the script does if you want to try it manually or want to see what the script is going to do.

Note: I haven't got a C3k so I have no way of knowing whether the script will work 100%, but it doesn't delete anything but symlinks so it shouldn't do any damage. However you should do a backup in case you need to restore the unit.

good luck

Stu
SL-C1000, Hand converted to English with Japanese Input
Running X apps via X/Qt
iRiver USB host cable; Diatec P-Cord usb power cable (extendable); Acro's Reel Cable USB (A to A, B, Mini-B,  & Mini-B 8pin); GreenHouse 1Gb PicoDrive+; 2x256Mb Hagiwara SD cards; 128Mb Transcend CF card; 512Mb PQI CF card; AmbiCom WL1100C-CF 11B WLAN card