Author Topic: Can't Sync SL-3000 With Laptop!  (Read 20540 times)

ArchiMark

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1792
    • View Profile
Can't Sync SL-3000 With Laptop!
« on: November 19, 2004, 09:41:22 pm »
Hi,

Been frustrated for past 2 days....haven't been able to sync my new SL-3000 with my laptop (Libretto 110CT/WinXP Pro SP2/No onboard USB-using USB PC Card).

Installed Sharp software for SL-5600 on PC.

Has anyone else been successful syncing with PC?

I posted more detailed post in Windows section of forum.

Anyone have any suggestions??

Greatly appreciate any and all help!

Thanks,

Mark
Silicon Valley Digerati - * Please see my Mini Laptops For Sale Listing *
Cosmo Communicator / One-Netbook One Mix Yoga 3S (Win 10/Manjaro 18)
Banana Pi Zero UMPC/Armbian
MacBookPro
Sold: C3200/N900/OQO/N5/Dell Mini9/Netwalker/UMID M1/

lpotter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 450
    • View Profile
    • http://qtopia.net
Can't Sync SL-3000 With Laptop!
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2004, 11:15:37 pm »
If there is a CD for your c3000, install the drivers and Qtopia Desktop from that.
Software Engineer, Systems Group, MES, Trolltech
irc.freenode.net #qtopia
http://qtopia.net

ArchiMark

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1792
    • View Profile
Can't Sync SL-3000 With Laptop!
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2004, 11:43:35 pm »
Thanks for your help lpotter!

Will give it a shot and report back...

Mark
Silicon Valley Digerati - * Please see my Mini Laptops For Sale Listing *
Cosmo Communicator / One-Netbook One Mix Yoga 3S (Win 10/Manjaro 18)
Banana Pi Zero UMPC/Armbian
MacBookPro
Sold: C3200/N900/OQO/N5/Dell Mini9/Netwalker/UMID M1/

ArchiMark

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1792
    • View Profile
Can't Sync SL-3000 With Laptop!
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2004, 02:42:34 pm »
That did it lpotter!

 

Got Sync!  

De-installed Sharp English apps on PC and reinstalled the new apps for the SL-3000 from the Japanese CD...

Sync works!

Only thing is now I've got apps on PC in Japanese!!    

Oh well...

Mark
Silicon Valley Digerati - * Please see my Mini Laptops For Sale Listing *
Cosmo Communicator / One-Netbook One Mix Yoga 3S (Win 10/Manjaro 18)
Banana Pi Zero UMPC/Armbian
MacBookPro
Sold: C3200/N900/OQO/N5/Dell Mini9/Netwalker/UMID M1/

Zuber

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
    • http://www.shirtpocket.co.uk
Can't Sync SL-3000 With Laptop!
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2004, 05:05:43 pm »
Trying to get an idea of how much success you guys have had with the Old English Desktop software and the New 3000.

According to :

https://www.oesf.org/forums/inde...?showtopic=8846

Should work fine with old software etc.

Tried a couple of PCs, and not co-operating.

Japanese version works no problem...

So looking at hacking some bits of the Japanese version to make it more useable, but if it just my machines, then it makes more sense to find out what the problem is...

Please post any feedback you can.
« Last Edit: December 04, 2004, 01:56:29 am by Zuber »
Zuber
ShirtPocket Ltd.
www.shirtpocket.co.uk

Zuber

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
    • http://www.shirtpocket.co.uk
Can't Sync SL-3000 With Laptop!
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2004, 05:08:31 pm »
Sure I posted in the C3000 section. Guess not (Moderators please move)...
Zuber
ShirtPocket Ltd.
www.shirtpocket.co.uk

Zuber

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
    • http://www.shirtpocket.co.uk
Can't Sync SL-3000 With Laptop!
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2004, 01:55:35 am »
Has anyone actually managed to use any English Sync. Software successfully with the Zaurus ?

We have tried a number of combinations of English Sync. Software with Old/New drivers on a couple of machines. Results have consistantly been failure. It is possible that this is due to left overs from previous installes etc. But does not seam likely.

Install of Japanese software and drivers however, works fine...

Currently playing woth Japanese version with bits of English version overwriting it, hacking the binaries etc. but working English version would be simpler

Got a little poll going for people that have/have not had success. If you could post any suggestions/observations there as well.

https://www.oesf.org/forums/inde...?showtopic=8968
Zuber
ShirtPocket Ltd.
www.shirtpocket.co.uk

ArchiMark

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1792
    • View Profile
Can't Sync SL-3000 With Laptop!
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2004, 10:15:41 am »
Zuber,

When I had the C760 and C860 Z's, I did get them to sync with the English desktop apps, but used the drivers from the Japanese CD...

HTH,

Mark
Silicon Valley Digerati - * Please see my Mini Laptops For Sale Listing *
Cosmo Communicator / One-Netbook One Mix Yoga 3S (Win 10/Manjaro 18)
Banana Pi Zero UMPC/Armbian
MacBookPro
Sold: C3200/N900/OQO/N5/Dell Mini9/Netwalker/UMID M1/

Zuber

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
    • http://www.shirtpocket.co.uk
Can't Sync SL-3000 With Laptop!
« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2004, 12:31:34 pm »
C750/760/860 not a problem. Got them all to work.

Used English Software with Japanese drivers on many occasions over several PCs. Consistantly seen it working. Had enough customers contact us when they got stuck to be confident that it works well subject to the usualy Windows "quirks".

C3000 however is another issue.

Have now tried it with English Sync. Software (The same software that works with the C860) on several PCs using both Japanese Drivers on the C3000 CD and the drivers from the C860 CD.

Have totally uninstalled and reinstalled inbetween. But no luck at all.

Installing the Japanese Sync. Software works fine, though not very user friendly. Just shipped out a batch C3000s with "more info to follow" on the best option for Sync.

Seen posts from Dynamism and Trisoft indicating that English Sync. Software works fine. Hence the questions.

Unless I'm missing something obvious or they are altering something on the units, I'm not sure it works. Hence the request for feedback from real users... See Poll link)

Results so far (4 without English Sync. don't look good)
« Last Edit: December 04, 2004, 12:34:45 pm by Zuber »
Zuber
ShirtPocket Ltd.
www.shirtpocket.co.uk

ArchiMark

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1792
    • View Profile
Can't Sync SL-3000 With Laptop!
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2004, 02:11:01 pm »
Zuber,

I agree with your assessment about the C3000 sync issue...wasted quite a few hours trying to get sync with English desktop apps...

Wasn't able to sync mine till I installed the Japanese software from the C3000 CD.

It wasn't this way with the earlier C7xx/C8xx series...

Mark
Silicon Valley Digerati - * Please see my Mini Laptops For Sale Listing *
Cosmo Communicator / One-Netbook One Mix Yoga 3S (Win 10/Manjaro 18)
Banana Pi Zero UMPC/Armbian
MacBookPro
Sold: C3200/N900/OQO/N5/Dell Mini9/Netwalker/UMID M1/

Zuber

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
    • http://www.shirtpocket.co.uk
Can't Sync SL-3000 With Laptop!
« Reply #10 on: December 08, 2004, 02:30:26 pm »
Bump...

Sure there are more than 6 C3000 user that sync. with a Windows PC.

Been hacking the Japanese Binaries, and looking a little more useable.

Also :

Aanyone managed to get a connection using the Japanese software and the USB (Default ) option ?

So far, all our machines need to be swithed to USB (Advanced) option
Zuber
ShirtPocket Ltd.
www.shirtpocket.co.uk

Zuber

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
    • http://www.shirtpocket.co.uk
Can't Sync SL-3000 With Laptop!
« Reply #11 on: December 15, 2004, 02:44:44 am »
OK,

Just posted patched BackupRestore and ZaurusShot executables from the C3000.

Use at your own risk...

Available at http://www.shirtpocket.co.uk/spforum/index.php?showtopic=48

They are not totally complete, but most of the useful bits are now English.

You need to install the Japanese Version of the Software

For IntelliSync (might want to do this first) :
Install the English Zaurus version
Grab a copy of the Intellisync directory
Uninstall
Install Japanese Version
Overwrite content with copied version.

May be a simpler way, but this one has been tested...
« Last Edit: December 15, 2004, 05:10:25 am by Zuber »
Zuber
ShirtPocket Ltd.
www.shirtpocket.co.uk

Zuber

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
    • http://www.shirtpocket.co.uk
Can't Sync SL-3000 With Laptop!
« Reply #12 on: December 15, 2004, 02:49:47 am »
Looks like threads were merged.

Post deleted.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2004, 09:42:16 am by Zuber »
Zuber
ShirtPocket Ltd.
www.shirtpocket.co.uk

ArchiMark

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1792
    • View Profile
Can't Sync SL-3000 With Laptop!
« Reply #13 on: December 15, 2004, 10:28:50 am »
Thanks for your input and support, Zuber.

This is great!

Will try your approach out when I have a chance...hopefully soon...

Mark

PS. I hope there's more than 6 C3000 owners out there too...  
Silicon Valley Digerati - * Please see my Mini Laptops For Sale Listing *
Cosmo Communicator / One-Netbook One Mix Yoga 3S (Win 10/Manjaro 18)
Banana Pi Zero UMPC/Armbian
MacBookPro
Sold: C3200/N900/OQO/N5/Dell Mini9/Netwalker/UMID M1/

g333

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
Can't Sync SL-3000 With Laptop!
« Reply #14 on: December 22, 2004, 07:13:30 pm »
The sync is easy but annoying. I hope this helps.

When you get the error message, remover the hardware safely with the icon in the toolbar (xp) then disconnect the cable from the Zaurus but not the computer.

On the Zaurus select USB then click OK
Reopen the PC link program and click PC
then plug the cable in again and it should work.



After you finish using the sync progam, safely disconnect then on the Zaurus click on USB and click the OK button.

Glen Charles Rowell
SL-C3000, Sharp ROM 1.11 JP, AirEdge AH-S405C...