Author Topic: Mac Address  (Read 1049 times)

nightfly

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Mac Address
« on: December 01, 2004, 01:37:27 pm »
Topic says it all: how can I change the mac address of the built-in wlan?
(iwconfig doesn't work)

Jcroto1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
    • http://
Mac Address
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2004, 07:44:20 pm »
Try this

Code: [Select]
ifconfig wlan0 down hw ether 0:0a:0a:a0:a0:a0
ifconfig wlan0 up

[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']Found it here at the bottom[/span]
SL-5500 - OZ 3.5.2  Opie
SL-6000L - ?
128 mb Viking CF
256 mb Kingston SD
512 mb Sandisk Ultra II SD
Linksys WCF12 Wireless card

BarryW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
    • http://
Mac Address
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2004, 03:16:22 am »
You'll probably have to do this every time you power cycle the card as well.
What's this button do??

C3100
Distro changes almost weekly...

C3200
Distro also changes almost weekly...  :)

Hardware hacks and stuff.

nightfly

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Mac Address
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2004, 05:09:51 am »
Thank you!  

tz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
    • http://
Mac Address
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2004, 03:21:42 pm »
you can embed the ifconfig the commands in /etc/pcmcia/wireless or similar to force the MAC address (easiest for every card).