Author Topic: Kathrin RC8 Is Out..  (Read 22816 times)

omega

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 626
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kathrin RC8 Is Out..
« Reply #30 on: December 27, 2004, 02:27:24 pm »
Woo hoo RC8... i actually just downloaded it over 28k... (I do miss the 135Meg link at college!).

Got a bug it seems... The Input Setup dialog doesn't hold the changes to the jog wheel.

Happy Christmas all!
Gorgeous C860, 256 Sandisk SD, 1Gig Pretec 40x CF, PDAIR leather case & the really cool retractable iPDA USB sync/charge cable. Powered by PDAXROM BETA 1.

My wish - to have a Command & Conquer style game on my Z! (FREECNC!!!) Simcity 2000 would also be great.

Laze

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pdaXrom.org
Kathrin RC8 Is Out..
« Reply #31 on: December 27, 2004, 05:52:16 pm »
The bugs with input and wireless config have been fixed and will be released as ipk fixes asap.
C760 running pdaXrom lastest ;-)
SL5500 Running Cacko Qtopia
512 MB SD Card, 128 MB CF Card, Prism2 CF Wlan.

Always visit http://www.pdaXrom.org for latest news.

Randolph_Carter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Kathrin RC8 Is Out..
« Reply #32 on: December 27, 2004, 06:54:53 pm »
Hi!
I'm enjoying the new release emmercely, but I noticed that when I use the screen blank icon(on right side of taskbar), my remote control(CE-RH1) stopped to act with xmms.
When I close my zaurus and elapse the system's "Screen off after" time, I can use the remote, so maybe the remote control input is disabled when the screen is blanked with the icon.

Also, my friend told me that he had problem mounting 45MB root partition on his C750, so he's using the kernel for C760. If anyone has clue about this, I'd be grateful.

thanks for your time.
----
Randolph Carter
C760+pdaXrom 1.1.0 RC5
Planex WiFi + IO Data 512MB SD + 4GB Hitachi MD

Laze

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pdaXrom.org
Kathrin RC8 Is Out..
« Reply #33 on: December 27, 2004, 07:14:34 pm »
!Deleted!
« Last Edit: December 28, 2004, 09:21:37 am by Laze »
C760 running pdaXrom lastest ;-)
SL5500 Running Cacko Qtopia
512 MB SD Card, 128 MB CF Card, Prism2 CF Wlan.

Always visit http://www.pdaXrom.org for latest news.

Laze

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pdaXrom.org
Kathrin RC8 Is Out..
« Reply #34 on: December 28, 2004, 09:12:25 am »
Update:
The below procedure requires you to have a working internet connection on your Zaurus.

Please setup the package manager to use the http://mirror1.pdaxrom.org/current/ feed and then exit GUI (matchbox).

Do a "ipkg update" and the a "ipkg upgrade" (make sure you have AC adapter plugged in just to be safe).

This should fix:
- xmms controller and remote problems with screen blanker
- keyboard mapping problems
- ntpd script hanging at reboot
- problem with setting wifi key on "default" profile
- some SD card related problems
- default feed is corrected

If you don't have a working internet connection on you Zaurus you should download and install the following:
http://mirror1.pdaxrom.org/current/datenti...-1_armv5tel.ipk
http://mirror1.pdaxrom.org/current/inputco...-3_armv5tel.ipk
http://mirror1.pdaxrom.org/current/lanconf...-1_armv5tel.ipk
http://mirror1.pdaxrom.org/current/mb-appl....1_armv5tel.ipk
http://mirror1.pdaxrom.org/current/package....4_armv5tel.ipk
http://mirror1.pdaxrom.org/current/sdcard_0.0.3_armv5tel.ipk
http://mirror1.pdaxrom.org/current/embedix...-2_armv5tel.ipk
http://mirror1.pdaxrom.org/current/matchbo...-5_armv5tel.ipk
http://mirror1.pdaxrom.org/current/ntpd_4.2.0-2_armv5tel.ipk
http://mirror1.pdaxrom.org/current/ntpdate...-2_armv5tel.ipk

Notice: Doing the update might overwrite your personal settings so its a good idea to copy the content of the Choices out from your home directory and then copy them back to keep the settings.

You might also see some output about IRQ or similar when installing SD Card, just ignore this.

The entire ROM installable rom for flashing will be update in 10-12 hours so if you wich you can do a clean flash instead of updating.

If you have any problems with the updating please post here - the feed was updated kinda in a hurry so stuff might be broken.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2004, 11:25:47 am by Laze »
C760 running pdaXrom lastest ;-)
SL5500 Running Cacko Qtopia
512 MB SD Card, 128 MB CF Card, Prism2 CF Wlan.

Always visit http://www.pdaXrom.org for latest news.

tg

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kathrin RC8 Is Out..
« Reply #35 on: December 28, 2004, 09:24:02 am »
Laze,
Will this upcoming update (10-12 hrs) also have fix for trendnet ethernet card  (I hope it's not too late to add that as it seems simple - see other thread  about this card)?
Thanks to the pdaxrom team for great work - looking at the relatively short amount of outstanding issues and not much complaining it seems like you are nicely converging towards stable 1.0.

Laze

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pdaXrom.org
Kathrin RC8 Is Out..
« Reply #36 on: December 28, 2004, 09:29:47 am »
Im adding this now..
C760 running pdaXrom lastest ;-)
SL5500 Running Cacko Qtopia
512 MB SD Card, 128 MB CF Card, Prism2 CF Wlan.

Always visit http://www.pdaXrom.org for latest news.

ScottYelich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 992
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php?opmodload&namephpWiki&filei
Kathrin RC8 Is Out..
« Reply #37 on: December 28, 2004, 10:32:55 am »
Deleted by Laze - sorry!
« Last Edit: December 28, 2004, 11:27:14 am by Laze »

igorekk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kathrin RC8 Is Out..
« Reply #38 on: December 28, 2004, 03:24:19 pm »
Hi!

I have some bug this PackageManager  It's don't display ipks installed to /mnt/card, but apps existed at the card and i can run it

Any ideas?
c3200(1.1beta3) + IceWM
Zavrik.ru - Russian Zaurus Portal.

g33k

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Kathrin RC8 Is Out..
« Reply #39 on: December 28, 2004, 03:40:35 pm »
> Im adding [trendnet wired ethernet support] now..

You might also add the Symbol LA-4137 "Wireless Networker" if you haven't already... relevant info is posted in my recent thread.

Any idea when Ratoc USB support will be added?

Thanks!

Laze

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pdaXrom.org
Kathrin RC8 Is Out..
« Reply #40 on: December 28, 2004, 05:05:22 pm »
g33k: sorry didn't see your post - it will be added ASAP..
C760 running pdaXrom lastest ;-)
SL5500 Running Cacko Qtopia
512 MB SD Card, 128 MB CF Card, Prism2 CF Wlan.

Always visit http://www.pdaXrom.org for latest news.

gromituk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Kathrin RC8 Is Out..
« Reply #41 on: December 28, 2004, 07:57:49 pm »
Quote
Install instructions
...
Select option 4 (flash/update).
You then have four options (1. USB, 2. CF, 3. SD, 4. Back)
press the button on the left with the 'Y' in it
Choose either option 2 or 3, depending on which media you put the files on.
the pdaxrom installer is launched.
...
There's a small mistake:

"Choose either option 2 or 3, depending on which media you put the files on."
should come before "press the button on the left with the 'Y' in it".

also, it may be worth putting an alternative (thanks jerrybme) to getting into the service menu from a booted-up machine: it is much less fiddly than removing the battery, especially if you are using a PDair case!

"Kill the X-server with Ctrl-Alt-Backspace (possibly Calendar-Address-Backspace)
Type "reboot"
Press OK and either continue to hold it or press it and hold it once it says "Rebooting the system...""

Unfortunately this doesn't seem to work reliably when rebooting from the installer (not figured out if it's finger trouble) so you don't gain anything if you need to do the 64MB fix and/or resize the root partition.

gromituk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Kathrin RC8 Is Out..
« Reply #42 on: December 28, 2004, 08:19:36 pm »
How do you get out of the screen blanker without rebooting the machine?  

rgrep

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Kathrin RC8 Is Out..
« Reply #43 on: December 28, 2004, 09:59:17 pm »
Quote
How do you get out of the screen blanker without rebooting the machine?  
To unblank you simply tap the screen with your stylus.  The purpose of the screen blanker is to block all keyboard input (unlike the standard "screensaver" which exits as soon as a key is pressed) and it also controls XMMS when you press OK/Cancel/jog-wheel.
[img]https://www.oesf.org/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /] Has: Dynamism C760 / Linksys WCF12 WiFi / Kingston 512MB SD
[img]https://www.oesf.org/forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /] Loves: pdaXrom / Warwalking
[img]https://www.oesf.org/forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /] Hates: NetGear MA701 WiFi / SanDisk 256MB SD / C760 Charging Faults

gromituk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Kathrin RC8 Is Out..
« Reply #44 on: December 29, 2004, 06:08:25 am »
Quote
To unblank you simply tap the screen with your stylus.
D'oh!  About the one thing I didn't try.  Thanks.