Author Topic: Sl-6000, Oz 3.5.2, Wifi  (Read 2156 times)

strfryed

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Sl-6000, Oz 3.5.2, Wifi
« on: December 09, 2004, 11:02:07 am »
I have a SL-6000; nothing remarkable about it.  I did the whole, enable wlan0 on boot and restart thing and I can find WAPs.  I've tried everything with several WAPs both with and without WEP and can get nothing to work.

Here's the lowdown.  As I said I can scan for APs and select one, all the while the wifi LED blinks.  Watching the ESSID in OPIE every few seconds it changes to a scrambled value for a split second and back to the correct value again.  Looking at wlan0 with iwconfig I'm seeing negative values for Tx Pow, Signal Strn and Qual, no ESSID is listed.  I can staticly assign an IP, but of course, it does nothing.

I'm totally confused as to what to try next.  I've tweaked the /etc/network/interfaces file to every permutation I can think of both with and without OPIE to no avail.

I'm assuming OZ worked with the SL-6000 Wifi for someone or it would've been noted in the release notes, no?

So, anyone with a SL-6000 and working Wifi, please take a few minutes to _clearly_ document the steps to getting this working from a clean OZ 3.5.2 OPIE (or even GPE) install.  I, and I'm sure other SL-6000 owners, would appreciate it much especially since 99% of OZ reference seems to be totally offline at the moment.

I have several other small issues I'm sure I can work out but this is the only showstopper for me at the moment.

Thanks a ton,

strfryed

MeaninglessNick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
    • http://
Sl-6000, Oz 3.5.2, Wifi
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2004, 11:05:00 am »
I am currently trying to figure out how to get WEP working.  Without wep
"ifup wlan0" does the trick for me.

strfryed

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Sl-6000, Oz 3.5.2, Wifi
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2004, 11:19:15 am »
What the heck!?

I must be out of my mind then.

If it's not too much trouble please list the output of your /etc/network/interfaces and iwconfig wlan0 with any important stuff (keys) blanked out.

I wonder if I touched something I didn't realize.

MeaninglessNick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
    • http://
Sl-6000, Oz 3.5.2, Wifi
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2004, 12:20:52 pm »
I have attached my (as far as I know stock) interfaces file.

The output of iwconfig does seem goofy.

root@tosa:~# ifup wlan0
ok.
udhcpc (v0.9.9-pre) started
Sending discover...
Sending discover...
Sending select for 192.168.1.104...
Lease of 192.168.1.104 obtained, lease time 86400
adding dns 198.164.30.2
adding dns 198.164.4.2

# iwconfig wlan0
wlan0     IEEE 802.11-b  ESSID:"linksys"  Nickname:"linksys"
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437GHz  Access Point: 00:0F:66:D4:FE:AF  
          Bit Rate:11Mb/s   Tx-Power:-1029939532 dBm  
          Retry min limit:8   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Link Quality:30/92  Signal level:-58 dBm  Noise level:-92 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0

That's my neighbour's AP,  with no WEP.

I think the issue that the wlan-ng drivers do not support wireless extensions very well.
there is something called
 wlanctl-ng
but it makes iwconfig look user-friendly :-)

strfryed

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Sl-6000, Oz 3.5.2, Wifi
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2004, 09:19:27 am »
Well, shoot.

Don't know what changed, but I copied your config verbatim and it works for me now.  Not sure what I was doing different.  Now if I can just get the routing for vpnc setup right again I'll be back in business.

Thanks!

Gamboid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Sl-6000, Oz 3.5.2, Wifi
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2005, 01:20:00 pm »
Quote
Has anyone been able to configure WEP on the 6000L using an actual wep key as opposed to pass codes. For the life of me I cannot get it to work. I actually am not extremely familiar with the interfaces file except what I have seen on various posts. Here is the fragment from my file that I entered based on post I had seen is this correct?

 iface wlan0 inet dhcp
  wireless-type wlan-ng
  wireless-mode infrastructure
  wireless-essid gamboids
  wireless-enc on
  wlan-ng-default-key-id 0
  wlan-ng-key0 xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
  wlan-ng-key1 xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
  wlan-ng-key2 xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
  wlan-ng-key3 xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
  pre-up modprobe prism2_usb
  pre-up /sbin/usbctl on 1
  post-down /sbin/usbctl off 1
  post-down rmmod prism2_usb

I appear to be able to connect via ifup, however, it appears that the WEP key is not recognized because I am unable to get an IP. I have checked and double checked the key it is correct. Is there something that I have fat fingered in this fragment.

Any help would be greatly appreciated if I can get this going hopefully I can stay in OZ land without having to reflash back to the SharpROM...

As soon as I posted it the answer appeared right in front of me. I had fat fingered it. the above exerpt works beautifully!!!
« Last Edit: January 07, 2005, 02:36:47 pm by Gamboid »

hatchetman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Sl-6000, Oz 3.5.2, Wifi
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2005, 03:09:15 pm »
Yea I've been using WEP on my OZ installation without much problem. Had to change the /etc/network/interfaces to look like this:
Code: [Select]
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
  wireless_type wlan-ng
  wireless_mode Managed
  wireless_enc on
  wlan_ng_priv_key128 false
  wlan_ng_priv_genstr passwordhere
  pre-up modprobe prism2_usb
  pre-up /sbin/usbctl on 1
  post-down /sbin/usbctl off 1
  post-down rmmod prism2_usb

If you are using 128bit keys change wlan_ng_priv_key128 to true. This code will probably work fine in place of wlan_ng_priv_genstr, but don't use both.
Code: [Select]
 wlan-ng-default-key-id 0
  wlan-ng-key0 xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
  wlan-ng-key1 xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
  wlan-ng-key2 xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
  wlan-ng-key3 xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx

Now I also had to edit /etc/wlan/wlancfg-DEFAULT (which I probably left out of my last post, sorry) to look like this:

Code: [Select]
#=======WEP===========================================
# [Dis/En]able WEP.  Settings only matter if PrivacyInvoked is true
lnxreq_hostWEPEncrypt=true     # true|false
lnxreq_hostWEPDecrypt=true     # true|false
dot11PrivacyInvoked=true        # true|false
dot11WEPDefaultKeyID=0          # 0|1|2|3
dot11ExcludeUnencrypted=true    # true|false, in AP this means WEP is required.


P.S. I've seen some hiccups with ifup and ifdown scripts trying to load and unload the prism2_usb module. When you make these changes run ifdown wlan0, and also rmmod prism2_usb. Then try and run ifup wlan0.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2005, 03:11:37 pm by hatchetman »

bazmi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
    • http://
Sl-6000, Oz 3.5.2, Wifi
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2005, 12:21:38 am »
upon resume, if the wireless connection was active when the machine was suspended the 6000L takes a long time (1 minute or so) to wake up and need to do a 'ifup wlan0' to get the network back, but this works erratically. many times a reboot is required to get the network back. i am not using wep. does anyone else face a similar problem.
-------------------------------------------------
6000L, 1G Toshiba CF, 1G Panasonic HiSpeed SD, host of other CF cards
currently with pdaXrom with xfce

hatchetman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Sl-6000, Oz 3.5.2, Wifi
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2005, 12:39:02 am »
Yes, if my 6000 goes into suspend with wireless on it rarely comes back. Sometimes I get frustrated and reboot when it won't come back up. Usually though ifdown wlan0, then rmmod prism2_usb does the trick. If it still doesn't come up I'll just go crazy and run those commands a few times in random order, eventually it wisens up.