Author Topic: How To Set Correct Wireless Card Driver  (Read 4272 times)

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
How To Set Correct Wireless Card Driver
« on: May 25, 2005, 09:54:34 pm »
I figured I'd move this over to it's own topic from here.

I've got a SMC2642W CF card:

Code: [Select]
# cardctl ident
Socket 0:
  product info: " ", "SMC2642W 11Mbps Wireless CF Card", ""
  manfid: 0xd601, 0x0005
  function: 6 (network)
Socket 1:
  no product info available
that connects using WEP just fine using OPIE, but won't connect at all in GPE, WEP or no. How can I tell 1) what driver it's trying to use now, 2) what driver I need to use, and 3) where to get the driver & how to load it?

FWIW I did the same thing that worked in OPIE to get my card to be recognized, I added the card as the first entry in /etc/pcmcia/hostap_cs.conf:

Code: [Select]
card "SMC2642W 11Mbps Wireless CF Card"
  manfid 0xd601, 0x0005
  bind "hostap_cs"
and removed the other two cards with the same manfid. I even added it to /etc/pcmcia/config:

Code: [Select]
card "SMC2642W 11Mbps Wireless CF Card"
  manfid 0xd601, 0x0005
  #bind "smc91c92_cs"
  bind "orinoco_cs"
After a reboot the card app finally shows the right card, but no matter what I put in the config file, it still shows the hostap_cs driver loaded & won't connect.

Any ideas? thks
« Last Edit: May 27, 2005, 07:30:17 am by grog »
GROG!

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
How To Set Correct Wireless Card Driver
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2005, 05:38:45 am »
You have it set to bind to two different modules:

Quote
bind "hostap_cs"

and

Quote
bind "orinoco_cs"

Which should it be? Presumably not hostap as you say this is loaded. Assuming it should be orinoco:

See if you have any orinoco packages installed: "ipkg status | grep -i 'orinoco'" for example.

Have a look in the feed and see what is available (might be in the machine dependent feeds).


Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
How To Set Correct Wireless Card Driver
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2005, 07:32:16 am »
Quote
You have it set to bind to two different modules:

Quote
bind "hostap_cs"
and

Quote
bind "orinoco_cs"
Which should it be? Presumably not hostap as you say this is loaded. Assuming it should be orinoco:

See if you have any orinoco packages installed: "ipkg status | grep -i 'orinoco'" for example.

Have a look in the feed and see what is available (might be in the machine dependent feeds).[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81580\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
I checked & I do have the orinoco-modules installed. grep'ing for 'modules' shows that I only have the hostap, hostap_cs & orinoco installed:

Code: [Select]
root@grond:/etc/pcmcia# ipkg status | grep -i package.*modules
Package: hostap-modules
Package: hostap-modules-cs
Package: orinoco-modules
Package: update-modules
I changed both file references to orinoco_cs but the card app still shows the hostap_cs loaded. I then changed them both to hostap_cs, that driver still shows loaded but no change.

But as I had originally indicated, I don't even know what driver I'm supposed to be using, or even what drivers are available or how I get & install new ones. So I'm kinda lost here. As well, if I can eventually work this out & record it here, then maybe that'll help others out too.

thanks for you help.
GROG!

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
How To Set Correct Wireless Card Driver
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2005, 08:46:51 am »
It appears that the card should use hostap (http://www.kismetwireless.net/cards.shtml).

I'm thinking that the problem is not with the kernel modules, but with network config - what does 'ifconfig' show?


Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
How To Set Correct Wireless Card Driver
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2005, 10:57:02 am »
Quote
It appears that the card should use hostap (http://www.kismetwireless.net/cards.shtml).
Thanks for the link.

Quote
I'm thinking that the problem is not with the kernel modules, but with network config - what does 'ifconfig' show?[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81612\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
You probably mean just the wlan0, but here's the whole thing just in case:

Code: [Select]
root@grond:/etc/pcmcia# ifconfig
irda0     Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 8D-77-1B-7A-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
          UP RUNNING NOARP  MTU:2048  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:8
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:52 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:52 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:4136 (4.0 KiB)  TX bytes:4136 (4.0 KiB)

usbd0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 40:00:01:00:00:01
          inet addr:192.168.129.201  Bcast:192.168.129.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:607 errors:0 dropped:6 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:748 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
          RX bytes:69875 (68.2 KiB)  TX bytes:63707 (62.2 KiB)

wifi0     Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-60-B3-69-31-0B-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:39 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:23712 (23.1 KiB)
          Interrupt:39

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:60:B3:69:31:0B
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:39 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:23712 (23.1 KiB)
          Interrupt:39
Mostly all foo to me, but does this narrow it down?
GROG!

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
How To Set Correct Wireless Card Driver
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2005, 07:29:53 am »
An update. Looks like you were right, lardman, it wasn't (or at least isn't anymore) a driver problem. I disabled WEP on my router & put all of my Z settings to 'default' (dhcp, ssid any, no WEP), and voila! I'm finally connected.

But I'm not gonna leave my router open, so I need to solve this. What can you (or anybody) tell me about how to get WEP connection going? What can I provide that would help? thks
GROG!

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
How To Set Correct Wireless Card Driver
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2005, 08:54:55 am »
The problem with your wlan0 entry above is that it had no IP address assigned.

Give it one with ifconfig; I've no idea about WEP I'm afraid, though I've seen some posts about it on the forum iirc.


Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

jamesm

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
    • http://
How To Set Correct Wireless Card Driver
« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2005, 09:25:44 am »
I've posted on the topic of manually setting your WEP up with iwconfig multiple times and it continues to be an issue for people.

EDIT: Here is one of the most recent of these posts.
« Last Edit: May 27, 2005, 09:28:00 am by jamesm »
Victim of c3000 ebay scam.... Now after c3100

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
How To Set Correct Wireless Card Driver
« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2005, 11:10:45 am »
Quote
The problem with your wlan0 entry above is that it had no IP address assigned. Give it one with ifconfig[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
If I understand correclty I don't think that would work. Even if not using dhcp, just assigning an ip doesn't guarantee a connection. The connection still has to be established.

Quote
I've posted on the topic of manually setting your WEP up with iwconfig multiple times and it continues to be an issue for people.
EDIT: [a href=\"https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=1224&view=findpost&p=47495]Here is one of the most recent of these posts.[/url][div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81789\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Thanks for the post. I've seen references to iwconfig in other posts but didn't understand the use of it. I'l try it when I get home.

But a question off the top (sorry to be a pest). If this does indeed work for me, then what do I have to do, run it everytime I want to connect? The man page you reference above post doesn't seem to save it's settings on a Z, unless I'm supposed to save them in /proc/net/wireless, which is currently empty. Is that correct? And why is that better than /etc/network/interfaces?

Thanks for the help.
GROG!