Author Topic: Java In Oz/gpe 3.5.4  (Read 3642 times)

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
Java In Oz/gpe 3.5.4
« on: March 27, 2006, 03:59:24 pm »
Here I am trying to get java apps running in OZ/GPE 3.5.4. I installed the kaffe-gtk & kaffe-gtk-common packages from the x11 & base feeds respectively. I had to correct a symlink under /usr/lib/kaffe-gtk:

Code: [Select]
grog@grond[pts/2][/usr/lib/kaffe-gtk]$ ll
drwxr-xr-x    4 root     root            0 Mar 27 14:02 bin
drwxr-xr-x    4 root     root            0 Mar 27 14:02 jre
drwxr-xr-x    3 root     root            0 Mar 27 14:02 lib
ipkg created the bin directory where it should have been a symlink, thusly:

Code: [Select]
grog@grond[pts/2][/usr/lib/kaffe-gtk]$ ll
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root            8 Mar 27 14:25 bin -> jre/bin/
drwxr-xr-x    4 root     root            0 Mar 27 14:02 jre
drwxr-xr-x    3 root     root            0 Mar 27 14:02 lib
And now my java command runs without errors (should I post a bug report about this?), but produces nothing. I'm attempting to run a book reader called JBook:

Code: [Select]
grog@grond[pts/1][/media/card1/tmp/jbook-1.2]$ cat jbook.sh
#!/bin/sh

# Starts JBook

echo "Starting JBook..."
java -jar jbook.jar

grog@grond[pts/1][/media/card1/tmp/jbook-1.2]$ ./jbook.sh
Starting JBook...
And that's all I get. No errors, no window, no nuttin'. Is this kaffe's or jbook's problem? Any ideas? thks
« Last Edit: March 27, 2006, 04:00:00 pm by grog »
GROG!

koen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
    • http://dominion.thruhere.net/koen/cms/
Java In Oz/gpe 3.5.4
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2006, 04:15:21 pm »
You also could try jamvm and sablevm.
Forums are not bugtrackers!!! Smart questions
Ångström release team
iPAQ h2210, iPAQ h5550, iPAQ hx4700, Zaurus SL-C700, Nokia 770, all running some form of GPE
My blog

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
Java In Oz/gpe 3.5.4
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2006, 07:29:59 am »
Quote
You also could try jamvm and sablevm.[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=120545\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
The only packages in the feeds for either of those are sablevm-classpath & sablevm-classpath-native in x11. I'll try grabbing other jar files & seeing if it's kaffe or not. thks
GROG!

darmou

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Java In Oz/gpe 3.5.4
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2006, 08:32:03 pm »
Quote
Quote
You also could try jamvm and sablevm.[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=120545\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
The only packages in the feeds for either of those are sablevm-classpath & sablevm-classpath-native in x11. I'll try grabbing other jar files & seeing if it's kaffe or not. thks
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=120678\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I could not find jamvm, but sablevm-classpath is in the oz feeds there but you also need to intall the actual sablevm package which is not in the feed.  I had to build it myself using the openembedded package.

I did get sablevm to work for simple programs.   I'ts not perfect.  You need to compile/recompile programs using it's own compiler ie javac-sablevm *.java then java-sablevm MyMainClass

Hope this info helps someone,

darmou

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
Java In Oz/gpe 3.5.4
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2006, 01:18:54 pm »
Well, I downloaded & installed 5.0 of the JDK, entered, compiled & ran the helloworld app, worked fine on the pc, copied it to the Z, same problem. No output, just stalls. I even have to 'kill -9' the process 'cause it won't die.

(sigh)
GROG!

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
Java In Oz/gpe 3.5.4
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2006, 01:31:03 pm »
Entered bug 821.
GROG!