Author Topic: Freenote Ported To Opie  (Read 4300 times)

enodr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
    • View Profile
Freenote Ported To Opie
« on: May 17, 2006, 04:42:10 pm »
Name: FreeNote 1.12.0
Homepage: http://www.urban.ne.jp/home/kanemori/zaurus/freenote_e.html
Description: FreeNoteQt is image notebook style application.
Note: the .bb recipe still need some work to include build FreeNoteSetup. I will update when I manage to include this in the same ipk.

[img]http://www.urban.ne.jp/home/kanemori/zaurus/img/freenote_main.png\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-image\" /]

Mickeyl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1495
    • View Profile
    • http://www.Vanille.de
Freenote Ported To Opie
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2006, 09:01:39 am »
Impressive. How did you get around using libsl?
Cheers,

Michael 'Mickey' Lauer | Embedded Linux Freelancer | www.Vanille-Media.de
Consider donating, if you like the software I contribute to.

enodr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
    • View Profile
Freenote Ported To Opie
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2006, 12:45:00 pm »
Quote
Impressive. How did you get around using libsl?
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Umh, in fact not so impressive, the latest version is libsl free. Quote from the website :

What is FreeNoteQt ?
FreeNoteQt is image notebook style application.
(without libsl.) ... maybe.(^^;

But still I need some help to make a proper .bb, and compile boths binaries to put them in the same ipk. Here is the copy of my post on Openzaurus-devel list (blocked because of the attachments):

I have successfully compiled Freenote for Opie (thanks Mickey!). I am
beginning to understand better how Bitbake / OE is working. Find
attached the ipk and the current .bb recipe, but I still need some
help to make it ok:

Freenote source archive is made of two directories:
FreeNote/FreeNote/
FreeNote/FreeNoteSetup/

In each dir there is a .pro file which builds one binary. At the end
both binaries should be compiled in the same ipk.

I have managed to make the FreeNote main binary, but I don't know how
to use the .bb to make it build each binary in each directory, using
each .pro file. I know it should as easy as:

S = "${WORKDIR}/FreeNote"
do_configure()
{
 cd FreeNote() && do_stuff();
 cd FreeNoteSetup() && do_stuff();
}

do_compile()
{
 cd FreeNote() && do_stuff();
 cd FreeNoteSetup() && do_stuff();
}

But I don't know which are the commands involved. qmake ? then
oe_runmake? ... I am desperatly looking for detailed documents of what
bitbake does when you build a recipe.

I'd really like to finish this .bb so that it can end in OE (it's a
nice app, see [a href=\"http://www.urban.ne.jp/home/kanemori/zaurus/freenote_e.html)]http://www.urban.ne.jp/home/kanemori/zaurus/freenote_e.html)[/url],
and then we could remove the OE/packages/nonworking/freenote dir

Mickeyl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1495
    • View Profile
    • http://www.Vanille.de
Freenote Ported To Opie
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2006, 12:49:31 pm »
Use qmake.

One attempt would be to create a subdir project file in the top level directory, e.g.:

S = "${WORKDIR}/FreeNote"

do_configure_prepend() {
  echo -e "TEMPLATE=subdirs\nSUBDIRS=FreeNote FreeNoteSetup\n" >> freenote.pro
}

Then qmake automatically wanders through the subdirs - grep through the bbfiles for 'TEMPLATE=subdirs', I have used this in several occasions.
Cheers,

Michael 'Mickey' Lauer | Embedded Linux Freelancer | www.Vanille-Media.de
Consider donating, if you like the software I contribute to.

enodr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
    • View Profile
Freenote Ported To Opie
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2006, 01:29:46 pm »
Quote
Use qmake.

One attempt would be to create a subdir project file in the top level directory, e.g.:

S = "${WORKDIR}/FreeNote"

do_configure_prepend() {
  echo -e "TEMPLATE=subdirs\nSUBDIRS=FreeNote FreeNoteSetup\n" >> freenote.pro
}

Then qmake automatically wanders through the subdirs - grep through the bbfiles for 'TEMPLATE=subdirs', I have used this in several occasions.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=127621\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Works fine except : when linking the binary it tries to output it in FreeNote/ and can't because the binary name is also the subdir names! Can I force the compiler to output the binary elsewhere?

Mickeyl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1495
    • View Profile
    • http://www.Vanille.de
Freenote Ported To Opie
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2006, 04:12:53 pm »
Quote
Works fine except : when linking the binary it tries to output it in FreeNote/ and can't because the binary name is also the subdir names! Can I force the compiler to output the binary elsewhere?

Use Qmake

EXTRA_QMAKEVARS_POST += "DESTDIR=${S}/output"
Cheers,

Michael 'Mickey' Lauer | Embedded Linux Freelancer | www.Vanille-Media.de
Consider donating, if you like the software I contribute to.

enodr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
    • View Profile
Freenote Ported To Opie
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2006, 04:55:01 pm »
Quote
Quote
Works fine except : when linking the binary it tries to output it in FreeNote/ and can't because the binary name is also the subdir names! Can I force the compiler to output the binary elsewhere?

Use Qmake

EXTRA_QMAKEVARS_POST += "DESTDIR=${S}/output"
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=127644\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

hehe  I really have to put this on OE wiki, because this is the kind of knowledge every newcomer to bitbake and OE (like me) will need!

Thanks a lot, mickey. I send the .bb recipe soon to OE bugtracker.

enodr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
    • View Profile
Freenote Ported To Opie
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2006, 05:22:25 pm »
Still a problem: it does not work, and by looking at the generated Makefile the DESTDIR is defined two times: the one I want, and the default one. How can that be?

Makefile header:
# Command: $(QMAKE) -spec /opt/zaurus/build/tmp/staging/i686-linux/share/qmake/linux-oe-g++ -after  "TMAKE_CFLAGS-=-fgnu-linker" "TMAKE_CXXFLAGS-=-fgnu-linker"
"TMAKE_LFLAGS+=-L/opt/zaurus/build/tmp/staging/arm-linux/lib" "TMAKE_LFLAGS+=-Wl,-rpath-link,/opt/zaurus/build/tmp/staging/arm-linux/lib" "DESTDIR=/opt/zaurus/build/tmp/work/armv5te-linux/freenote-1.12.0-r0/FreeNote/output" "DEFINES+=QWS" "LIBS+=-lqpe" "CONFIG+=qt" "LIBS-=-lstdc++" "LIBS+=-lsupc++" "DESTDIR=/opt/zaurus/build/tmp/work/armv5te-linux/freenote-1.12.0-r0/FreeNote" -o Makefile FreeNote.pro

Mickeyl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1495
    • View Profile
    • http://www.Vanille.de
Freenote Ported To Opie
« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2006, 05:35:57 pm »
That's normal since palmtop.bbclass already adds a default value for DESTDIR. Qmake will only use the last one to write into the Makefile. If you're stuck, post the bb to the bug tracker and I'll look into completing it.
Cheers,

Michael 'Mickey' Lauer | Embedded Linux Freelancer | www.Vanille-Media.de
Consider donating, if you like the software I contribute to.