Author Topic: Cacko 1.22 Unable To Boot Into Gui  (Read 1299 times)

ajnk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
    • http://
Cacko 1.22 Unable To Boot Into Gui
« on: January 28, 2005, 04:41:49 am »
Dear All,

Hope you can help me dig myself out of this whole.  I am running a C860 with Cacko 1.22 - I put the PC Link into memory card rather than network mode.  I had some problem so restarted the system, now it can't boot the GUI.  I am presuming this is bacause the system can no longer see the SD card onto which everything but the base ROM is installed.

Symptoms :-

Systems boot, but when going to runlevel five the Cacko splash screen comes up, but the GUI crashes saying it cannot find some libraries (which I presume are on the SD card).

Help requested :-

Can I interupt the boot so I can get to runlevel 3 ?

What do I need to change to make the SD card visible again i.e. put PC Link back into network mode ?

As always any help is appreciated.

Regards
AJNK

Stubear

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1164
    • View Profile
    • http://
Cacko 1.22 Unable To Boot Into Gui
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2005, 09:10:04 am »
Quote
Dear All,

Hope you can help me dig myself out of this whole.  I am running a C860 with Cacko 1.22 - I put the PC Link into memory card rather than network mode.  I had some problem so restarted the system, now it can't boot the GUI.  I am presuming this is bacause the system can no longer see the SD card onto which everything but the base ROM is installed.

Symptoms :-

Systems boot, but when going to runlevel five the Cacko splash screen comes up, but the GUI crashes saying it cannot find some libraries (which I presume are on the SD card).

Help requested :-

Can I interupt the boot so I can get to runlevel 3 ?

What do I need to change to make the SD card visible again i.e. put PC Link back into network mode ?

As always any help is appreciated.

Regards
AJNK
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=64321\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Before the gui starts you should see a 5 second countdown, hit the / key during this time and you get a prompt asking whether to boot qtopia or console. choose "a" and you will be in console mode.

You can then change the pc link back to network mode (/etc/hotplug/usbd.ftype - should contain "net")

Otherwise you can try the D+B keykombo to boot into maintanence mode (same as booting to D+M except you use D+

Stu
SL-C1000, Hand converted to English with Japanese Input
Running X apps via X/Qt
iRiver USB host cable; Diatec P-Cord usb power cable (extendable); Acro's Reel Cable USB (A to A, B, Mini-B,  & Mini-B 8pin); GreenHouse 1Gb PicoDrive+; 2x256Mb Hagiwara SD cards; 128Mb Transcend CF card; 512Mb PQI CF card; AmbiCom WL1100C-CF 11B WLAN card

ajnk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
    • http://
Cacko 1.22 Unable To Boot Into Gui
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2005, 11:54:45 am »
Stu,

Thanks - that hit the spot ! problem solved.

Regards
Andy