Author Topic: Rss Aggregator/reader  (Read 14890 times)

ensign

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Rss Aggregator/reader
« Reply #30 on: April 14, 2005, 01:22:58 pm »
eji

Thanks for the files. I am have still not be able to succesfull update a single feed. Might be something to do with the way I am using the software.

This is what I am doing.

Step (a) Menu->C->N

Url = http://www.sky.com/skynews/rss/article/0,,31500-1-100,00.xml
Category = General

Step ( Click OK

Step © CTRL-G

[%Bar at bottom-right moves 25%....]

Step(d)
CLick on http://www.sky.com/sky.... in left side window. "Last Update:" has no value. Right window is blank


Is there something I am missing?

Thanks.

eji

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
    • http://charlatan.blogspot.com/
Rss Aggregator/reader
« Reply #31 on: April 14, 2005, 01:35:04 pm »
Quote
eji

Thanks for the files. I am have still not be able to succesfull update a single feed. Might be something to do with the way I am using the software.

This is what I am doing [...]
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=75190\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
I'm having the same problem as you are when I try that link. Looks like that particular URL is screwy because Sky's world news headlines (http://www.sky.com/skynews/rss/article/0,,30200-1-100,00.xml) work perfectly.
Zaurus SL-6000L w/ Sharp ROM v1.12 - 1GB SanDisk CF - 1GB Lexar SD - Socket Rev. E BT CF | Mac OS X 10.5.x - iMac 24" 2.8Ghz | SIP: 864753@voip.brujula.net - 1 747 603 3461 (Gizmo/SIPhone)

ensign

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Rss Aggregator/reader
« Reply #32 on: April 14, 2005, 01:46:14 pm »
eji

Thanks again. That particular link does not seem to work. My other rss links work fine.

Thanks.

ensign

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Rss Aggregator/reader
« Reply #33 on: April 15, 2005, 03:39:10 pm »
Does anyone know how to stop DmBlogger from killing itself after launching a web browser (opera in my case)? Maybe a variation on

system("qcop QPE/System \"execute(QString,QString)\" opera #{@rssItem.getLink()}")

Thanks.

ken

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
    • View Profile
Rss Aggregator/reader
« Reply #34 on: May 12, 2005, 06:08:13 am »
Quote
Also if there any killer features that stop you, or anyone else,  from wanting to use QuackNews I'd love to hear about them, I'm adding a page download feature at the

[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=75100\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I just tried QuackNews 0.4.1, and have a few thoughts ...

1-it requires that you install it in the main memory.  It'd be nicer if I could install it on my SD or CF card.
2-I'm not sure how others feel about this, but launching it should automatically grab and sync feeds.  In fact, it'd be nice if it then displayed the respective pages in some kind of order (the less steps in viewing the feeds, the better).
3-I noticed that the browser must be launched.  ok, I can deal with that.  It then lists the feeds.  Rather than that, I'd prefer to simply have all the feed information shown right away.  I then have to click on the feed, and it then retrieves the feed.  It should already have done that for me, so I don't have to spend too much time.  For me, I'd like to pop in and pop out.
SL-6000L Sharp ROM 1.12 - 1G SD (RiDATA) - 2G Microdrive (Hitachi)
TRENDnet TE-CF100 10/100 (no drivers needed) AmbiCom CF56M-EZ modem (no drivers needed)

eji

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
    • http://charlatan.blogspot.com/
Rss Aggregator/reader
« Reply #35 on: May 12, 2005, 06:38:03 am »
Ken, I don't know if you've given it a shot yet, but I'd highly recommend DMblogger, which has been discussed on this thread quite a bit. The new version 1.3.2 (plus my slipshod English translation) has all the features you're requesting for QuackNews.

I also don't want anyone to get the impression that I'm pooh-poohing QN. Ideally, I'd like both to keep upping the ante.
Zaurus SL-6000L w/ Sharp ROM v1.12 - 1GB SanDisk CF - 1GB Lexar SD - Socket Rev. E BT CF | Mac OS X 10.5.x - iMac 24" 2.8Ghz | SIP: 864753@voip.brujula.net - 1 747 603 3461 (Gizmo/SIPhone)

ken

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
    • View Profile
Rss Aggregator/reader
« Reply #36 on: May 12, 2005, 08:00:06 am »
Quote
I also don't want anyone to get the impression that I'm pooh-poohing QN. Ideally, I'd like both to keep upping the ante.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=79407\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Yes, I just installed DM and I find it has all the things I talked about, including installing on the SD thing.  I'm commenting on QN so he can improve his product.  He might want to look at DM, as it's not bad.  The good thing about QN is it's one product, as opposed to the many things that need to be installed (thanks).

Oh, and I did install your gui files.  Glad you did it.  I only spotted the new version because you posted a message about it.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2005, 08:03:57 am by ken »
SL-6000L Sharp ROM 1.12 - 1G SD (RiDATA) - 2G Microdrive (Hitachi)
TRENDnet TE-CF100 10/100 (no drivers needed) AmbiCom CF56M-EZ modem (no drivers needed)

Mongoosefred

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
    • http://www.xlevel.org.uk
Rss Aggregator/reader
« Reply #37 on: May 13, 2005, 08:33:38 am »
Quote
I just tried QuackNews 0.4.1, and have a few thoughts ...

1-it requires that you install it in the main memory.  It'd be nicer if I could install it on my SD or CF card.
2-I'm not sure how others feel about this, but launching it should automatically grab and sync feeds.  In fact, it'd be nice if it then displayed the respective pages in some kind of order (the less steps in viewing the feeds, the better).
3-I noticed that the browser must be launched.  ok, I can deal with that.  It then lists the feeds.  Rather than that, I'd prefer to simply have all the feed information shown right away.  I then have to click on the feed, and it then retrieves the feed.  It should already have done that for me, so I don't have to spend too much time.  For me, I'd like to pop in and pop out.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=79403\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Thanks for the idea's Ken, I'll see what I can do.
1. Not that sure what it is that makes an app able to be installed on a card and not just the main memory, if anyone does, please PM me.
2. Think this will need to be a user configurable option, I'm thinking either a command line option, therefore you could have two links, one to auto sync and one to manual sync, or a application property, any preferances?
3. If I list all the feed items in one page, this will make one large HTML page.  I was thining, would you prefer a global setting, all items in a single page or a per feed setting?  I thinking global, but I don't think I'd use it, so don't really mind.

I really think that QN and DM have a place.  
The aim of QN is to create something that can be used on as many different platforms as possible, and in the long run I hope to port it to J2ME MIDP/CLDC so it'll work on phones/palmos devices/etc...
If QN and DM can push each other, learning and improving, then everyone gains.
At the end of the day, OS projects are there for the users, if no one luses it, what's the point?

Please keep posting your impressions and idea's, oh and PLEASE tell me when you find a bug, I know there are some, but if no one tells me about them, I can't fix them...
-MF
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']
QuackNews RSS Reader
----------
Zaurus SL-5600 (Watapon ROM 1.6)
Zaurus SL-5500 (On load to a friend)
512 MB SD-Card
PNY 64MB CF-Card
VIKING 256MB CF-Card
Sharp Digital Camera (On load to a friend)
NL-2511CF WiFi Card
[/font][/span]

jochen-02

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Rss Aggregator/reader
« Reply #38 on: August 16, 2005, 04:40:40 pm »
Quote
I really think that QN and DM have a place. 
The aim of QN is to create something that can be used on as many different platforms as possible, and in the long run I hope to port it to J2ME MIDP/CLDC so it'll work on phones/palmos devices/etc...
You shout at least make the application adaptive to the screen resolution. I am shure there is a way to find out, that for example a SL C1000 has 640x480 pixels. If you don't know how to do that -- what about making it a configurable item?
--
Jochen SL-C1000 (Sharp ROM)

lpotter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 450
    • View Profile
    • http://qtopia.net
Rss Aggregator/reader
« Reply #39 on: August 16, 2005, 10:47:44 pm »
Could try this one.
http://qtopia.net/packages/ARCHOS/AV500/Qrss_2.1.2_arm.ipk

Will work on sharp roms, qtopia 2.1 roms and of course, the Archos device.
Software Engineer, Systems Group, MES, Trolltech
irc.freenode.net #qtopia
http://qtopia.net