Author Topic: Impressions Of Open (star) Office  (Read 3081 times)

bam

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1213
    • View Profile
    • http://thegrinder.ws
Impressions Of Open (star) Office
« Reply #15 on: July 02, 2005, 03:56:40 am »
huh?
SL-C3100 current: Stock/Tetsu 18h
Socket BT CF Card
Linksys WCF-12 802.11b/Cheapie USB Ethernet

The Grinder

mschellens

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Impressions Of Open (star) Office
« Reply #16 on: July 03, 2005, 11:12:52 am »
Quote
Quote
1. I use StarOffice at work so I need OpenOffice on my Z to open the StarOffice files.
2. And it does not open slow on windows and solaris unless you call 0.2 seconds slow!
3. I dont use spreadsheets much so no idea, but I can open 20MB sxd and sxw files.
4. It uses around 200MB
5. I don't use macros
6. I don't use excel so have no idea
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81570\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Last version I've tried on my Sun box or wWindows was 5.2. It takes about 45 seconds to open. My Sun is nothing spectacular, it being about 6 years old so that and the age of my StarOffice may be the culprit, but I'm not the only one that has complained about S.O. being slow opening. And the last Windows machine I tried it on was a 600Mhz system with 256Mb of RAM. Same slow story

When you say it uses around 200Mb are you referring to the installation? If so then you're installiing onto the hdd or a card?

What is the largest Word file you open in SO, and how long does it take to open on your Z?

If you ever start using macros you'll wonder how you ever got along without them. In both Word and Excel they can be wonderful time savers And of course anytime we can automate things error rates generally go way down.

Thanks for your reply!

Best Regards,

gdog
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81658\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


Why does OO opens so blazingly fast on your Zauri?
On my C3000 XQt, debian, 128mb loopback swap on hdd3
(installed after meanie's description) OO 1.1.4 it takes 8min!!!

Any idea?

ms

gdog

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 246
    • View Profile
Impressions Of Open (star) Office
« Reply #17 on: July 03, 2005, 08:17:59 pm »
Quote
Quote
Quote
1. I use StarOffice at work so I need OpenOffice on my Z to open the StarOffice files.
2. And it does not open slow on windows and solaris unless you call 0.2 seconds slow!
3. I dont use spreadsheets much so no idea, but I can open 20MB sxd and sxw files.
4. It uses around 200MB
5. I don't use macros
6. I don't use excel so have no idea
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81570\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Last version I've tried on my Sun box or wWindows was 5.2. It takes about 45 seconds to open. My Sun is nothing spectacular, it being about 6 years old so that and the age of my StarOffice may be the culprit, but I'm not the only one that has complained about S.O. being slow opening. And the last Windows machine I tried it on was a 600Mhz system with 256Mb of RAM. Same slow story

When you say it uses around 200Mb are you referring to the installation? If so then you're installiing onto the hdd or a card?

What is the largest Word file you open in SO, and how long does it take to open on your Z?

If you ever start using macros you'll wonder how you ever got along without them. In both Word and Excel they can be wonderful time savers And of course anytime we can automate things error rates generally go way down.

Thanks for your reply!

Best Regards,

gdog
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81658\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


Why does OO opens so blazingly fast on your Zauri?
On my C3000 XQt, debian, 128mb loopback swap on hdd3
(installed after meanie's description) OO 1.1.4 it takes 8min!!!

Any idea?

ms
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=86836\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


You've quoted the wrong person mschellens. I've not even loaded OO on my C1K yet, and my only attempt to create a larger tmpfs resulted in my having to reflash my NAND to get my Z back to being operational. I've not seen Meanie's description of  a 128Mb loopback swap.

Regards,

gdog
You can tell a lot about a man by the condition of his shoes