Author Topic: Please Help! C3000 Almost Gone  (Read 3483 times)

Stubear

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1164
    • View Profile
    • http://
Please Help! C3000 Almost Gone
« Reply #15 on: July 28, 2005, 10:00:35 pm »
Here are the relevant config settings that are needed for mounting jffs2 images

Code: [Select]
#
# Miscellaneous filesystems
#
# CONFIG_ADFS_FS is not set
# CONFIG_AFFS_FS is not set
# CONFIG_HFS_FS is not set
# CONFIG_HFSPLUS_FS is not set
# CONFIG_BEFS_FS is not set
# CONFIG_BFS_FS is not set
# CONFIG_EFS_FS is not set
CONFIG_JFFS_FS=m
CONFIG_JFFS_FS_VERBOSE=0
# CONFIG_JFFS_PROC_FS is not set
CONFIG_JFFS2_FS=m
CONFIG_JFFS2_FS_DEBUG=0
CONFIG_JFFS2_FS_NAND=y
# CONFIG_JFFS2_FS_NOR_ECC is not set
# CONFIG_JFFS2_COMPRESSION_OPTIONS is not set
CONFIG_JFFS2_ZLIB=y
CONFIG_JFFS2_RTIME=y
# CONFIG_JFFS2_RUBIN is not set
CONFIG_CRAMFS=m
CONFIG_SQUASHFS=m
# CONFIG_VXFS_FS is not set
# CONFIG_HPFS_FS is not set
# CONFIG_QNX4FS_FS is not set
# CONFIG_SYSV_FS is not set
# CONFIG_UFS_FS is not set

#
# Memory Technology Devices (MTD)
#
CONFIG_MTD=m
# CONFIG_MTD_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_MTD_PARTITIONS=y
CONFIG_MTD_CONCAT=m
# CONFIG_MTD_REDBOOT_PARTS is not set
# CONFIG_MTD_CMDLINE_PARTS is not set

#
# User Modules And Translation Layers
#
CONFIG_MTD_CHAR=m
CONFIG_MTD_BLOCK=m
CONFIG_MTD_BLOCK_RO=m
# CONFIG_FTL is not set
# CONFIG_NFTL is not set
# CONFIG_INFTL is not set
#
# Self-contained MTD device drivers
#
# CONFIG_MTD_PMC551 is not set
# CONFIG_MTD_SLRAM is not set
# CONFIG_MTD_PHRAM is not set
CONFIG_MTD_MTDRAM=m
CONFIG_MTDRAM_TOTAL_SIZE=4096
CONFIG_MTDRAM_ERASE_SIZE=128
CONFIG_MTD_BLKMTD=m
# CONFIG_MTD_BLOCK2MTD is not set

If you want I can send you the whole config file

Stu
SL-C1000, Hand converted to English with Japanese Input
Running X apps via X/Qt
iRiver USB host cable; Diatec P-Cord usb power cable (extendable); Acro's Reel Cable USB (A to A, B, Mini-B,  & Mini-B 8pin); GreenHouse 1Gb PicoDrive+; 2x256Mb Hagiwara SD cards; 128Mb Transcend CF card; 512Mb PQI CF card; AmbiCom WL1100C-CF 11B WLAN card

mikef

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Please Help! C3000 Almost Gone
« Reply #16 on: July 29, 2005, 05:33:33 am »
Quote
Here are the relevant config settings that are needed for mounting jffs2 images

[code]#
# Miscellaneous filesystems

CONFIG_JFFS_FS=m

[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=89989\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Hi Stu,

Thanks! I am not at home now, but yesterday I could not find any entry for JFFS2 in this section of the 2.6.12.1 kernel in my PC. I downloaded now the 2.6.12.3 source and checked that these options are there indeed. So I will probably have to upgrade to 2.6.12.3 at home.

Thanks again!

mikef

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Please Help! C3000 Almost Gone
« Reply #17 on: July 29, 2005, 03:28:42 pm »
Quote
If you can get into the D+B rescue mode then you have to mount the "normal" partitions before you can do any work on them. D+B mode gets you to the hidden filesystem on mtdblock1 (or possible mtdblock0). The normal partions are mtdblock2 (root) and mtdblock3) home - at least that is true for the C760 and C1000 zaurus.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=89919\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

My C3000 is back thanks to the information above! Many thanks Stu!  

All I had to do was to enter into Linux using the D+B key combination and then execute the commands that are listed at the end of this message.

When rebooting there was one or two error messages (too fast to be read) but then the Qtopia environment started fine.

However the On/Off button is still not working    I intend to upgrade to the Sharp 1.1 NAND and see if it works.

Thanks for all the help!

[CODE]
cd /
mkdir x
 # this is the root of the normal file system
mount -o rw,noatime /dev/mtdblock2 x
x/sbin/eraseall /dev/mtd3
mount -o rw,noatime /dev/mtdblock3 x/home
cd x
tar xf root/.home_default.tar
 # prepare /x/dev
dd if=/dev/zero of=dev/ram1 bs=1024 count=64
mkfs.minix -i 512 dev/ram1 64
mount -t minix dev/ram1 dev
(cd home ; tar cf - dev | (cd /x ; tar xf -))
 # mount /x/tmp
mount -t tmpfs -o size=1m none dev/shm
cd dev/shm
mkdir tmp run
mkdir run/usb
chmod 4777 tmp
touch run/utmp
cd /x
 # ???
/etc/ledmode reset
 # assuming /dev/hda1 does not need to be formatted
mount -o ro /dev/hda1 hdd1
mke2fs -j /dev/hda2
e2fsck -p /dev/hda2
mount /dev/hda2 hdd2
gzip hdd1/.sys/hdimag2.tgz | tar xf -
 # ???
sltime -clear
 # prepare for reboot
cd /
umount -a
reboot
« Last Edit: July 29, 2005, 03:32:09 pm by mikef »

mikef

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Please Help! C3000 Almost Gone
« Reply #18 on: July 30, 2005, 05:40:23 am »
Quote
However the On/Off button is still not working    I intend to upgrade to the Sharp 1.1 NAND and see if it works.

[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=90077\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I have the Qtopia environment running but I still cannot use the maintenance menus (either  resetiing with D+M or with Ok) because there is no answer to the touchscreen nor to the keyboard.

What can I do???

The commands I mentioned in my last post were adapted from the rc.rofilesys script. Is there a script for the NAND restoration somewhere?

mikef

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Please Help! C3000 Almost Gone
« Reply #19 on: August 02, 2005, 03:38:13 pm »
Quote
I have the Qtopia environment running but I still cannot use the maintenance menus (either  resetiing with D+M or with Ok) because there is no answer to the touchscreen nor to the keyboard.

What can I do???

The commands I mentioned in my last post were adapted from the rc.rofilesys script. Is there a script for the NAND restoration somewhere?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=90144\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Here are a list of things I have done successfully even without the maintenance menus:

- installation of the TriSoft C3000-2004-12-23-12-40 backup
- manual update of the Sharp ROM to version 1.11 (see below for the details)
- installation of the TriSoft C3000-2005-03-18-12-30-DEkbd-EN.zip backup (that should not be installed on C3000's running 1.01 ROMs!!!)

But this did not solve my initial problems   :
- On/Off button not working, meaning that after a suspend the only way to awake the Z is by inserting or taking the power plug
- the maintenance menus are frozen (no answer to touchscreen or keyboard)

Any help will be most welcome!

Instructions for the manual update of the Sharp ROM to version 1.11 (at your own risk!):

- in your PC
-- get the update archive from the Sharp site
-- unpack it (I used lha in Linux but cannot reproduce this step...)
-- copy the files to a CF/SD card (root directory, VFAT)
- in the Z
-- reboot while pressing the D+B keys to enter the rescue Linux
- log in as root
- insert the CF/SD card and execute:

Code: [Select]
mount
 # so that you can see the mount point for the card; mine was  /mnt/cf
 # decode updater script (this is done replaces the coded original)
/sbin/decsh /mnt/cf/updater.sh
 # run it and pray...
/mnt/cf/updater.sh /mnt/cf
 # if all goes well, there will be 3 "Success!" messages
  # reboot
reboot

mikef

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Please Help! C3000 Almost Gone
« Reply #20 on: August 04, 2005, 06:10:06 am »
Quote
But this did not solve my initial problems   :
- On/Off button not working, meaning that after a suspend the only way to awake the Z is by inserting or taking the power plug
- the maintenance menus are frozen (no answer to touchscreen or keyboard)

Any help will be most welcome!
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=90533\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Can anyone with a C3000 provide me a listing of all the files in the rescue Linux?

It can be obtained by booting with  the D+B keys, logging in as root, inserting a memory card (say CF) and executing
ls -lR > /mnt/cf/listDB

The file istDB in the card will hopefully help me in finding what files my Z is missing...

Thanks in advance!