Author Topic: Openoffice On Pdaxrom  (Read 60988 times)

omro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #75 on: November 25, 2005, 12:16:31 pm »
Quote
glibc 2.3.5 compiles (with some patching, that is, and there are some configure errors as well ; it takes half a day for a native build supported by a distcc PC) but many apps get broken and X seems to have bugs. The only way to update to 2.3 is to have sashz port and build the feed using it.

Openoffice just doesn't compile, you may try but you will get too many errors to have the slightest hope to make a full working build.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=104869\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Is there a plan to update pdaXrom in the future to use a higher version of glibc?
Zaurus C-1000

Reaper

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #76 on: November 26, 2005, 09:49:45 am »
AFAIK, stable version of glibc is nowadays 2.3.6, so it would be better to compile it than 2.3.5, IMHO - we should have less errors when compiling OO. But it's huge (18 megs in a source tarball) and surely will take a hell lot of time to compile:

ftp://ftp.gnu.org/gnu/glibc/glibc-2.3.6.tar.gz

So... please go ahead and give it a try.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2005, 09:51:08 am by Reaper »

ZDevil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1998
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #77 on: November 27, 2005, 07:40:07 am »
Thanks to all for your hard efforts.  Compiling these stuff (OOo, glibc) is totallly beyond my knowledge and it's a great pity that I can only watch and wait.  Yet I'll be very happy to test the results.  

BTW, can someone upload the newly compiled glibc 2.3.2 here (not the older on that is reported to be incomplete)?  The posted link http://zaurus.earpassion.net/glibc_2.3.2_armv5tel.ipk is no longer accessible.  Seems the site has been down for a long while.  Many thanks!
« Last Edit: November 27, 2005, 07:40:21 am by ZDevil »

Life is too precious for hacking *too much*
Visit my Z screencap gallery[/color]
My EeePC 701 Black = Debian (Lenny) on IceRocks + Transcend SDHC Class6 8GB + 2GB RAM
My Zaurus SL-C3200 = Debian EABI (kernel 2.6.24.3-yonggun) on a swapped internal Sandisk Extreme III CF 16gb
My Debian EABI feed: http://matrixmen.free.fr/zaurus/debian/
My OpenBSD/Zaurus feeds:  Link1, Link2
[/i][/font][/color][/size]

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #78 on: March 06, 2006, 10:35:40 am »
Well, I managed to cram OpenOffice onto a 100MB cramfs image and it works on pdaXrom as well as X/Qt on Sharp/Cacko.
I tested this on a C3000 running pdaXrom and a C3100 running X/Qt. Obviously, if you extract the image to your internal microdrive, it will run faster but takes up almost 256MB of space.
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

omro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #79 on: March 06, 2006, 12:06:54 pm »
Quote
Well, I managed to cram OpenOffice onto a 100MB cramfs image and it works on pdaXrom as well as X/Qt on Sharp/Cacko.
I tested this on a C3000 running pdaXrom and a C3100 running X/Qt. Obviously, if you extract the image to your internal microdrive, it will run faster but takes up almost 256MB of space.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=117193\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Really? I thought the reason OOo failed on pdaXrom was the glibc thingumy.

I'm assuming it would be possible to extract this to an SD card and run it from there, but I unfortunately haven't the fainted idea how to do this or how to link it into pdaXrom so that there are icons and so on.

Incredible news though!
Zaurus C-1000

desertrat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 743
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #80 on: March 06, 2006, 06:59:30 pm »
Quote
Well, I managed to cram OpenOffice onto a 100MB cramfs image and it works on pdaXrom as well as X/Qt on Sharp/Cacko.
Excellent! Is this image same as the one for the stock rom as detailed on your customise page? If not, and it is a new image where can we download it? Thanks.

-- cheers
SL-C3100 / Ambicon WL1100C-CF / pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 / IceWM

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #81 on: March 06, 2006, 07:13:35 pm »
Quote
Quote
Well, I managed to cram OpenOffice onto a 100MB cramfs image and it works on pdaXrom as well as X/Qt on Sharp/Cacko.
Excellent! Is this image same as the one for the stock rom as detailed on your customise page? If not, and it is a new image where can we download it? Thanks.

-- cheers
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

This is an updated one. The previous one only worked on X/Qt. You can find it here: [a href=\"http://zaurus.daemons.gr/menaie/pdaxrom/]http://zaurus.daemons.gr/menaie/pdaxrom/[/url]
All you need to do is update /usr/X11R6/bin/startx and remove "-nolisten tcp" from the defaultserverargs, and then mount the cramfs image as a loop device and run zopenoffice-setup from the mounted image. You should see an OpenOffice icon in the menu after you restart X.
otherwise, you can start OpenOffice from a terminal by issuing runoo
« Last Edit: March 06, 2006, 09:17:19 pm by Meanie »
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

desertrat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 743
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #82 on: March 06, 2006, 08:59:31 pm »
Quote
All you need to do is update /usr/X11R6/bin/startx and remove "-nolisten tcp" from the defaultserverargs, and then mount the cramfs image as a loop device and run zopenoffice-install from the mounted image.
OK, I grabbed this file:
http://zaurus.daemons.gr/menaie/pdaxrom/openoffice.cramfs

After mounting it I see that it has zopenoffice-setup as opposed to zopenoffice-install that you mention above. Looking through zopenoffice-setup I find references to minideb, /hdd2, qcop and other things which are not relevant for pdaXrom. Do I have the right image?  
SL-C3100 / Ambicon WL1100C-CF / pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 / IceWM

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #83 on: March 06, 2006, 09:15:42 pm »
Quote
Quote
All you need to do is update /usr/X11R6/bin/startx and remove "-nolisten tcp" from the defaultserverargs, and then mount the cramfs image as a loop device and run zopenoffice-install from the mounted image.
OK, I grabbed this file:
http://zaurus.daemons.gr/menaie/pdaxrom/openoffice.cramfs

After mounting it I see that it has zopenoffice-setup as opposed to zopenoffice-install that you mention above. Looking through zopenoffice-setup I find references to minideb, /hdd2, qcop and other things which are not relevant for pdaXrom. Do I have the right image?  
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=117272\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

That's the right one. I always get setup and install confused. Sorry. This file works for both pdaXrom and X/Qt so the references you see are for supporting both distros. You can run pkginfo or version in the same directory to check.
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

desertrat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 743
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #84 on: March 07, 2006, 12:40:09 am »
Quote
That's the right one. I always get setup and install confused. Sorry. This file works for both pdaXrom and X/Qt so the references you see are for supporting both distros.
OK, got it working - takes about 3 minutes to start up (under KDE)   - but it's good to be able to use OOo again after ditching the Sharp rom. Thanks Meanie

-- cheers
SL-C3100 / Ambicon WL1100C-CF / pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 / IceWM

omro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #85 on: March 10, 2006, 02:11:21 pm »
Would it run faster from an extracted cramfs?
If so how does one go about setting this up?
I'm gonna see if I can muddle through this myself, but any assistance is gratefully received.
Zaurus C-1000

omro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #86 on: March 10, 2006, 04:12:30 pm »
Well....

I thought I'd done ok. I'm using the beta2 for 1.1.0. I'd edited the startx file and removed the -nolisten tcp part. I put the cramfs file onto my SD and mounted it and could see it's contents. I ran the zopenoffice-setup file and a nice openoffice x/qt icon appeared in the office section. I pressed that and.... nothing.

I'm guessing, as per usual, I've missed a step, which is common with me as I'm always fumbling along blind unless I've explicit instructions *sigh*. I've no instinctive feel for linux commands and how things are done.

Anyway. Any suggestions as to where I went wrong....
Zaurus C-1000

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #87 on: March 10, 2006, 05:42:06 pm »
hmmm. on beta 1 ( I don't feel like flashing just yet) I put the cramfs on the sd (fat 16 formatted, I think)
Mounted it "mount -o loop /mnt/card/what-ever-the-image-is-called.cramfs /mnt/ide/oo"  My hd is mounted at mnt/ide and formatted ext3, and I had made a directory called /mnt/ide/oo for this purpose.

ran the setup program and restarted icewm.

Got a menu item and all worked as expected.

It sounds like you are ding the same thing, or pretty close logically.

Try from a cf?  maybe the new sd drivers are a problem in some obscure and incomprehensible way?

maybe remove the mount point, reboot and do it over?

maybe you are having problems with free ram..and it is working, but taking forever to load fully?

stabbing in the dark,  but I know it can be done.

Kind of ironic that you are the one with a glitch on this, isn't it?
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

omro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #88 on: March 10, 2006, 05:47:39 pm »
Quote
Kind of ironic that you are the one with a glitch on this, isn't it?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=117977\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Not ironic, bloody typical, lol, it's cause I'm just fumbling around. Mac people should never use real computers, they get confused when you have to do things :-P
Zaurus C-1000

omro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #89 on: March 10, 2006, 07:11:50 pm »
Ah ha

Well.... I tried to be sneaky and maybe speed it up a little. I mounted the cramfs, created another directory on the sd card, copied the contents of teh cramfs into that directory, which I thought would be a way to extract it and then ran the zopenoffice-setup from within the new directory and hence it failed.

From the cramfs it opens on my SD in just under a minute, it doesn't open a document though. Just to a grey screen. I'm using a non modded beta2.
Zaurus C-1000