Author Topic: Linux 2.6  (Read 7098 times)

nightfire

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Linux 2.6
« on: September 21, 2005, 02:39:40 pm »
Hey sashz,

I played with OZ/bitbake a few weeks ago and while the userspace stuff has a long ways to go, Linux 2.6 seemed a lot snappier and included a GPL version of the SDMMC driver (solving the I/O error on resume once and for all).

Is it a huge deal to get pdaXrom running on top of it instead of 2.4?  Admittedly I haven't tried yet but I recall there being at least a video patch or something in there for the X server, and doubtless others.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2005, 02:40:01 pm by nightfire »

prohto

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Linux 2.6
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2005, 02:58:33 pm »
Hi, a few month ago I tried to run pdaxrom using the kernel. I replaced in the updater files from pdaxrom the files related to the kernel with the ones from OZ, but at boot time I got a error about a missing terminal.


CF

koen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
    • http://dominion.thruhere.net/koen/cms/
Linux 2.6
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2005, 03:06:08 pm »
Quote
Hey sashz,

I played with OZ/bitbake a few weeks ago and while the userspace stuff has a long ways to go, [div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=96581\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
You mean you used the OpenEmbedded (OE) buildsystem powered by bitbake to build OpenZaurus (OZ)?
Forums are not bugtrackers!!! Smart questions
Ångström release team
iPAQ h2210, iPAQ h5550, iPAQ hx4700, Zaurus SL-C700, Nokia 770, all running some form of GPE
My blog

nightfire

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Linux 2.6
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2005, 04:25:07 pm »
Quote
You mean you used the OpenEmbedded (OE) buildsystem powered by bitbake to build OpenZaurus (OZ)?

Exactly.  I built the gpe-image of OZ 3.5.4.  While the system was more robust (more packages, Linux 2.6.14-rc1, seemed to track more closely to debian) all of the graphical stuff was years behind pdaXrom.  Everything just works better on pdaXrom.  Faster X server, special keys work, etc.  Which makes sense because pdaXrom really only targets Zaurus, and mostly the clamshells.

So I gave up and went back to pdaXrom, and the only thing I *really* miss is 2.6.  I still have the recurring problem of I/O errors every 3rd or 4th resume.  My patch helps a little, but the sharp driver is *very* broken.

nightfire

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Linux 2.6
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2005, 04:30:57 pm »
Quote
Hi, a few month ago I tried to run pdaxrom using the kernel. I replaced in the updater files from pdaxrom the files related to the kernel with the ones from OZ, but at boot time I got a error about a missing terminal.


CF
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=96584\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Well I'm not too worried about these problems.. I'm more worried about there being a bunch of pdaXrom-specific stuff in the kernel that needs to be ported to 2.6.

Getting the boot sequence right is just a matter of trial and error.

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
Linux 2.6
« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2005, 06:56:16 am »
Quote
Faster X server, special keys work,

How much faster is the X server? And why? Iirc it's linked against the w100 stuff isn't it - I thought we had this with GPE now, I must check...

Regarding the special keys - yes this is lacking, but there really aren't many of us with c7x0 machines who use GPE so it's a gradual process unfortunately,

Keep up the good work,


Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

koen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
    • http://dominion.thruhere.net/koen/cms/
Linux 2.6
« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2005, 07:26:43 am »
Quote
Quote
Faster X server, special keys work,
How much faster is the X server? And why? Iirc it's linked against the w100 stuff isn't it - I thought we had this with GPE now, I must check...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=96652\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

The default Xserver for c7x0 in OE (not OZ) is regular kdrive from fdo cvs. The framebuffer device in 2.6 is slightly smarter than the one in 2.4, but it's still unaccelerated. Thanks to pre-emptive multitasking and improved memcopy support it feels a lot faster (response time is lower) but it still draws a lot slower (no blit/fill/rect accel) than the Xserver from pdaX.
I did read in a pdaX thread that 2.6 was nonsense since the Z wasn't a smp machine. I really hope that was an uninformed nitwit and not a pdaX dev....
As it is right now, 2.6 is at least 30% faster in benchmarks than 2.4, so I hope pdaX will use it so more people can test it.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2005, 07:30:32 am by koen »
Forums are not bugtrackers!!! Smart questions
Ångström release team
iPAQ h2210, iPAQ h5550, iPAQ hx4700, Zaurus SL-C700, Nokia 770, all running some form of GPE
My blog

Da_Blitz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pocketnix.org
Linux 2.6
« Reply #7 on: September 23, 2005, 06:52:28 am »
i hear that it handels memorey a bit better and has more support for embbeded devices. if you want an accelerated frame buffer you really need somthing like directFB with XdirectFB running on top of it.

alll it is is a libary of graphical functions for 2D operations, for the pxa250's you probelly couldnt optimise it that much but for the newer generation with pxa270's you could (IWMMX ) but you never know, you might be able to potimse some more performace out ot it (dont know if the default FB uses DMA but that would speed things up if its not bieng used)
Personal Blog
Code
Twitter

Gemini Order: #95 (roughly)
Current Device: Samsung Chromebook Gen 3
Current Arm Devices Count: ~30
Looking to acquire: Cavium Thunder X2 Hardware

Laze

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pdaXrom.org
Linux 2.6
« Reply #8 on: September 23, 2005, 11:36:17 am »
Sash will be starting some testing with the 2.6 kernel today :-) But we will probally stay focussed on finishing the current one and good and stable before changing kernel.
C760 running pdaXrom lastest ;-)
SL5500 Running Cacko Qtopia
512 MB SD Card, 128 MB CF Card, Prism2 CF Wlan.

Always visit http://www.pdaXrom.org for latest news.

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Linux 2.6
« Reply #9 on: September 23, 2005, 03:07:39 pm »
Quote
Sash will be starting some testing with the 2.6 kernel today :-) But we will probally stay focussed on finishing the current one and good and stable before changing kernel.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=96797\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
I keep asking this.... it is always a little off topic, sorry.
BUT, has anyone looked into 2gig sd/mmc cards running in 2.6? afaik the sharp 2g sd issues are a kernel/driver problem which might conceivably be fixable. Does any one know? has anyone tried? does it not seem worthwhile (at least to  c-7 & 800 series and 1000 and 6000 owners?) Or am I barking up the wrong tree entirely??
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

rmrfchik

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
Linux 2.6
« Reply #10 on: September 23, 2005, 03:09:12 pm »
Quote
Sash will be starting some testing with the 2.6 kernel today :-) But we will probally stay focussed on finishing the current one and good and stable before changing kernel.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=96797\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Don't forget gcc-4 (and qt4).
--
pdaXrom, SL-C860, Chronos (Billionton) BT/CF, SE Z600, SD 1Gb, Debian, brain damaged.

drak2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • http://drak.liten.cz/
Linux 2.6
« Reply #11 on: September 23, 2005, 03:54:57 pm »
Quote
Quote
Sash will be starting some testing with the 2.6 kernel today :-) But we will probally stay focussed on finishing the current one and good and stable before changing kernel.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=96797\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Don't forget gcc-4 (and qt4).
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=96819\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

and libc6 2.3.x  
SL-860 + [ last pdaXrom | last CACKO ]
512SD, BT CF Socket [rev G]
SL-5000D - dead SDRAM :-(
 [ sory for my english ;-) ]

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
Linux 2.6
« Reply #12 on: September 24, 2005, 06:22:40 am »
Quote
I keep asking this.... it is always a little off topic, sorry.
BUT, has anyone looked into 2gig sd/mmc cards running in 2.6? afaik the sharp 2g sd issues are a kernel/driver problem which might conceivably be fixable. Does any one know? has anyone tried? does it not seem worthwhile (at least to c-7 & 800 series and 1000 and 6000 owners?) Or am I barking up the wrong tree entirely??

Send me one and I'll tell you if it works.


Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

Mickeyl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1495
    • View Profile
    • http://www.Vanille.de
Linux 2.6
« Reply #13 on: September 24, 2005, 12:35:45 pm »
2G cards don't work on any Zaurus yet. It's not clear whether this is just a timing problem (larger SD cards need additional timeout) or something else.
Cheers,

Michael 'Mickey' Lauer | Embedded Linux Freelancer | www.Vanille-Media.de
Consider donating, if you like the software I contribute to.

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Linux 2.6
« Reply #14 on: September 24, 2005, 04:02:16 pm »
Quote
2G cards don't work on any Zaurus yet. It's not clear whether this is just a timing problem (larger SD cards need additional timeout) or something else.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=96884\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Ah.
Thanks
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf