Author Topic: Archos  (Read 22455 times)

sashz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
    • View Profile
    • http://
Archos
« Reply #15 on: October 20, 2005, 08:38:39 am »
Quote from: fantshare,Oct 20 2005, 04:07 AM
Can you reveal how you extract this rom ?
So that I too can view its contents.

no, that boot rom which check aimage and than running linux kernel from it
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100156\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
[/quote]
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100161\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
[/quote]

bootrom attached - look inside, there very funny text messages, maybe we can install linux derectly on HD.  
If press Archos button during power on (when linux not booted yet) that will show debug info. There will physical memory map. I wrote simple module for access to ROM physical memory, which create proc entry. Read from this will read from ROM memory  maybe there more easy access, but i used this:

Code: [Select]
#include
#include
#include
#include
#include
#include
#include
#include
#include
#include

#include
#include
#include
#include

#ifdef CONFIG_PROC_FS
#include
#endif

//#define FLASH_PHYS_ADDR               0x12A00000
//#define FLASH_PHYS_ADDR_LEN   (0x14000000 - FLASH_PHYS_ADDR)

#define FLASH_PHYS_ADDR         0x00000000
#define FLASH_PHYS_ADDR_LEN     0x80000

static void *remapped_base;

static struct proc_dir_entry *proc_rom;

static int rom_read_proc ( char *page, char **start, off_t off, int count, int *eof, void *data_unused )
{
    off_t       begin = 0;
    int         i = 0;
    unsigned char *c = remapped_base;

    printk(KERN_NOTICE "count = %d, off = %d.\n", count, off);

    if ((count) >= FLASH_PHYS_ADDR_LEN) {
        count = FLASH_PHYS_ADDR_LEN;
        *eof = 1;
    }

    while (count--) {
        page[i] = c[i + off];
        i++;
    }

done:
        *start = page;// + (off-begin);
        return i;
}

static int __init phys_init(void)
{
    int i;

    remapped_base = ioremap(FLASH_PHYS_ADDR, FLASH_PHYS_ADDR_LEN);

    {
    unsigned char *c = remapped_base;

    printk(KERN_NOTICE "Test BOOTROM location\n");

    for (i=0; i<16; i++) {
        printk("%c", c[i + 0x43000]);
    }

    printk(KERN_NOTICE "Done\n");
    }

    printk(KERN_NOTICE "Access to physical memory installed.\n");

    if ((proc_rom = create_proc_entry( "bootrom", 0, 0 )))
        proc_rom->read_proc = rom_read_proc;

    return 0;
}
static void __exit phys_exit(void)
{
    if (proc_rom)
        remove_proc_entry( "bootrom", 0);

    iounmap(remapped_base);

    printk(KERN_NOTICE "Access to physical memory uninstalled.\n");
}

module_init (phys_init);
module_exit (phys_exit);

MODULE_LICENSE("GPL");
MODULE_AUTHOR ("sash@pdaXrom.org");
MODULE_DESCRIPTION ("Physical memory access");

fantshare

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Archos
« Reply #16 on: October 20, 2005, 08:45:14 am »
Cool,
I will look at this when I get home from work.
 

pyknite

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
    • http://pyknite.monserveurperso.com
Archos
« Reply #17 on: October 20, 2005, 11:44:37 am »
and when will be released pdaxrom for the pma???

thx
zaurus sl-c3000 - under pdaXrom1.0.1 for sl-c3000
Wifi +BT CF card
utopik Blog
Mirror for pdaXrom sl-c3000

sashz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
    • View Profile
    • http://
Archos
« Reply #18 on: October 20, 2005, 11:54:04 am »
Quote
and when will be released pdaxrom for the pma???

thx
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100199\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

first beta will in monday ,i hope

pyknite

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
    • http://pyknite.monserveurperso.com
Archos
« Reply #19 on: October 20, 2005, 12:00:24 pm »
Quote
Quote
and when will be released pdaxrom for the pma???

thx
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100199\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

first beta will in monday ,i hope
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100201\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


that's great

i hope too
zaurus sl-c3000 - under pdaXrom1.0.1 for sl-c3000
Wifi +BT CF card
utopik Blog
Mirror for pdaXrom sl-c3000

pyknite

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
    • http://pyknite.monserveurperso.com
Archos
« Reply #20 on: October 20, 2005, 12:02:57 pm »
euh i have one another question from a pma user...

the rom can use the graphic processor??? it will great if yes
zaurus sl-c3000 - under pdaXrom1.0.1 for sl-c3000
Wifi +BT CF card
utopik Blog
Mirror for pdaXrom sl-c3000

sashz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
    • View Profile
    • http://
Archos
« Reply #21 on: October 20, 2005, 12:05:54 pm »
Quote
euh i have one another question from a pma user...

the rom can use the graphic processor??? it will great if yes
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100205\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

not yet - for now that utilize only arm core and generic framebuffer, not overlay.

pyknite

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
    • http://pyknite.monserveurperso.com
Archos
« Reply #22 on: October 20, 2005, 12:07:33 pm »
Quote
Quote
euh i have one another question from a pma user...

the rom can use the graphic processor??? it will great if yes
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100205\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

not yet - for now that utilize only arm core and generic framebuffer, not overlay.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100206\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


ok... it's already great

the wireless will run? and the hardrive?

thx a lot for your answer
zaurus sl-c3000 - under pdaXrom1.0.1 for sl-c3000
Wifi +BT CF card
utopik Blog
Mirror for pdaXrom sl-c3000

sashz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
    • View Profile
    • http://
Archos
« Reply #23 on: October 20, 2005, 12:10:27 pm »
Quote
Quote
Quote
euh i have one another question from a pma user...

the rom can use the graphic processor??? it will great if yes
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100205\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

not yet - for now that utilize only arm core and generic framebuffer, not overlay.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100206\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


ok... it's already great

the wireless will run? and the hardrive?

thx a lot for your answer
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100207\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

the first test system will work in chroot under Qtopia , so it will work

pyknite

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
    • http://pyknite.monserveurperso.com
Archos
« Reply #24 on: October 20, 2005, 12:12:22 pm »
Quote
Quote
Quote
Quote
euh i have one another question from a pma user...

the rom can use the graphic processor??? it will great if yes
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100205\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

not yet - for now that utilize only arm core and generic framebuffer, not overlay.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100206\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


ok... it's already great

the wireless will run? and the hardrive?

thx a lot for your answer
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100207\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

the first test system will work in chroot under Qtopia , so it will work
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100208\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


in chroot under qtopia?? also you must run the pma normally and start pdaxrom from qtopia, like an emulator?
zaurus sl-c3000 - under pdaXrom1.0.1 for sl-c3000
Wifi +BT CF card
utopik Blog
Mirror for pdaXrom sl-c3000

sashz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
    • View Profile
    • http://
Archos
« Reply #25 on: October 20, 2005, 12:29:11 pm »
Quote
in chroot under qtopia?? also you must run the pma normally and start pdaxrom from qtopia, like an emulator?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100209\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

yes, run normally , and than run pdaxrom base system.
that not emulation.

pyknite

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
    • http://pyknite.monserveurperso.com
Archos
« Reply #26 on: October 20, 2005, 12:46:48 pm »
Quote
Quote
in chroot under qtopia?? also you must run the pma normally and start pdaxrom from qtopia, like an emulator?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100209\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

yes, run normally , and than run pdaxrom base system.
that not emulation.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100211\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


ok and next you must reset the pma to return to qtopia ?
zaurus sl-c3000 - under pdaXrom1.0.1 for sl-c3000
Wifi +BT CF card
utopik Blog
Mirror for pdaXrom sl-c3000

sashz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
    • View Profile
    • http://
Archos
« Reply #27 on: October 20, 2005, 01:01:09 pm »
Quote
Quote
Quote
in chroot under qtopia?? also you must run the pma normally and start pdaxrom from qtopia, like an emulator?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100209\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

yes, run normally , and than run pdaxrom base system.
that not emulation.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100211\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


ok and next you must reset the pma to return to qtopia ?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100215\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

yes

pyknite

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
    • http://pyknite.monserveurperso.com
Archos
« Reply #28 on: October 20, 2005, 01:10:04 pm »
Quote
Quote
Quote
Quote
in chroot under qtopia?? also you must run the pma normally and start pdaxrom from qtopia, like an emulator?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100209\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

yes, run normally , and than run pdaxrom base system.
that not emulation.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100211\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


ok and next you must reset the pma to return to qtopia ?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100215\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

yes
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100218\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


oki thx for your answers

i hope we will see one day our pma booting pdaxrom or qtopia on startup (like on a desktop pc), or only a pdaxrom with all the multimedia fonction from the archos rom
zaurus sl-c3000 - under pdaXrom1.0.1 for sl-c3000
Wifi +BT CF card
utopik Blog
Mirror for pdaXrom sl-c3000

fantshare

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Archos
« Reply #29 on: October 21, 2005, 03:49:54 am »
Sashz,
Can you recomend good arm dissasembler, I looked on net for one but can't find good free one. Using dumpobj is a pain.

Didn't discover much last night.
Just if you have USB host connected when on blue debug screen it will sit there until you disconnect, and you can access HD wfrom host when on blue screen.
Interestring strings in ROM as you say. Same that say "duddudu" etc though might be button press combos, but no luck trying them.
Do you think there might be a terminal open somewhere ?