Author Topic: Vym (view Your Mind)  (Read 3312 times)

ZDevil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1998
    • View Profile
    • http://
Vym (view Your Mind)
« on: December 16, 2005, 07:10:22 pm »
Hey, there,

After searching for a mindmapping software for Zaurus for a long long time, I finally came across vym and got the latest version (1.7.0) compiled.   After testing and playing with it for a couple hours, I'd say it is an ideal all-purpose app for brainstorming, note-taking, outlining and practising GTD.  

I took away the demo tree files and the manual from source to reduce package size.  Still both are highly recommended: the demos give you a very good idea of different ways of using vym; and the manual is so well-written that you can master the app very quickly.  

Have fun!    

[Oh forgot to say it requires both zip and unzip, which can be found in the feeds, coz the .vym files are actually compressed archives of an xml with its image files.]
« Last Edit: December 16, 2005, 07:30:32 pm by ZDevil »

Life is too precious for hacking *too much*
Visit my Z screencap gallery[/color]
My EeePC 701 Black = Debian (Lenny) on IceRocks + Transcend SDHC Class6 8GB + 2GB RAM
My Zaurus SL-C3200 = Debian EABI (kernel 2.6.24.3-yonggun) on a swapped internal Sandisk Extreme III CF 16gb
My Debian EABI feed: http://matrixmen.free.fr/zaurus/debian/
My OpenBSD/Zaurus feeds:  Link1, Link2
[/i][/font][/color][/size]

scheck.r

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 320
    • View Profile
    • http://
Vym (view Your Mind)
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2005, 05:05:42 pm »
I didn't know such a program existed. It looks very powerful and intuitive.

Thank you very much.
SL-C1000 from PriceJapan(cheap and very fast shipping) with EA-70 power adapter, iRiver USB Host cable, PDAIR case, pentopia stylus, ultra clear screen-protector from shop.brando.com.hk only $3 for shipping worldwide
4GB Hitachi Microdrive, 1GB Kingston Elite Pro CF, 4GB Transcend 150x SD, Symbol Spectrum 4137 CF WiFi(low power)
PdaXrom pdaxii13 5.4.9 updated with Kkazakov13's feed. I owned a SL-6000L before

daniel3000

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
    • View Profile
    • http://
Vym (view Your Mind)
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2005, 05:36:35 pm »
Quote
Hey, there,

After searching for a mindmapping software for Zaurus for a long long time, I finally came across vym and got the latest version (1.7.0) compiled.   After testing and playing with it for a couple hours, I'd say it is an ideal all-purpose app for brainstorming, note-taking, outlining and practising GTD. 

I took away the demo tree files and the manual from source to reduce package size.  Still both are highly recommended: the demos give you a very good idea of different ways of using vym; and the manual is so well-written that you can master the app very quickly. 

Have fun!   

[Oh forgot to say it requires both zip and unzip, which can be found in the feeds, coz the .vym files are actually compressed archives of an xml with its image files.]
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=107346\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


Great! And thanks for the pointer via PM! You are right, I am VERY interested in such a program.
Now I only need PdaXrom on my C3000 ;-)
Or I could try it under X/QT.
Or do you see any chance to compile it for Cacko ROM (Qtopia)? Your screenshots look as it would use QT for the GUI, so maybe...?

daniel
SL-C3200 with weeXpc, based on pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3
HP 200LX with MS-DOS 5.0

ZDevil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1998
    • View Profile
    • http://
Vym (view Your Mind)
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2005, 06:01:50 pm »
Quote
Great! And thanks for the pointer via PM! You are right, I am VERY interested in such a program.
Now I only need PdaXrom on my C3000 ;-)
Or I could try it under X/QT.
Or do you see any chance to compile it for Cacko ROM (Qtopia)? Your screenshots look as it would use QT for the GUI, so maybe...?

daniel
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=107513\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Yes, it uses QT by default.  Actually I'm more interested in the other way round: is it possible to compile a gtk2 version?  
Sorry, I'm already so into pdaXrom and didn't manage to learn compiling while using Sharp/Cacko long long ago.     Yet I guess it would not be too difficult to compile it for Sharp/Cacko.  (Perhaps what matters more is the toolchain stuff?)

Life is too precious for hacking *too much*
Visit my Z screencap gallery[/color]
My EeePC 701 Black = Debian (Lenny) on IceRocks + Transcend SDHC Class6 8GB + 2GB RAM
My Zaurus SL-C3200 = Debian EABI (kernel 2.6.24.3-yonggun) on a swapped internal Sandisk Extreme III CF 16gb
My Debian EABI feed: http://matrixmen.free.fr/zaurus/debian/
My OpenBSD/Zaurus feeds:  Link1, Link2
[/i][/font][/color][/size]

daniel3000

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
    • View Profile
    • http://
Vym (view Your Mind)
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2005, 08:35:44 am »
Quote
Yes, it uses QT by default.  Actually I'm more interested in the other way round: is it possible to compile a gtk2 version?   
Sorry, I'm already so into pdaXrom and didn't manage to learn compiling while using Sharp/Cacko long long ago.     Yet I guess it would not be too difficult to compile it for Sharp/Cacko.  (Perhaps what matters more is the toolchain stuff?)
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=107520\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Just tried to run it under X/QT, but it is missing QT3 libraries...
Is there any way to run QT3 apps under X/QT, i.e. are there QT3 libraries which can be installed in parallel to QT2 which allow usage of QT3 applications under X/QT under QTopia?

daniel
SL-C3200 with weeXpc, based on pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3
HP 200LX with MS-DOS 5.0

pgas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1097
    • View Profile
    • http://
Vym (view Your Mind)
« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2005, 08:40:02 am »
you'll need more that qt, libc version is different, compiled with softfloat...

You can try to build a rootfs with this (no compilation required):
https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=16351

and run a chrooted pdaxrom, like debian. or perhaps theres is a debian package for this
SLC-860 cacko / senao wifi