Author Topic: Kde 3.5  (Read 50217 times)

ZDevil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1998
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kde 3.5
« Reply #135 on: January 18, 2006, 03:50:19 am »
There are two squashfs packages, one for 2.4.18 kernel (mainly Cxx0 and SL-xk)) from the regular feed and another one newly complied by pgas for 2.4.20 kernel (Cxk series) whiich can be found earlier in this thread and in the contrib feed.  Dunno if this helps.

Life is too precious for hacking *too much*
Visit my Z screencap gallery[/color]
My EeePC 701 Black = Debian (Lenny) on IceRocks + Transcend SDHC Class6 8GB + 2GB RAM
My Zaurus SL-C3200 = Debian EABI (kernel 2.6.24.3-yonggun) on a swapped internal Sandisk Extreme III CF 16gb
My Debian EABI feed: http://matrixmen.free.fr/zaurus/debian/
My OpenBSD/Zaurus feeds:  Link1, Link2
[/i][/font][/color][/size]

macstibs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Kde 3.5
« Reply #136 on: January 18, 2006, 04:55:43 am »
Quote
There are two squashfs packages, one for 2.4.18 kernel (mainly Cxx0 and SL-xk)) from the regular feed and another one newly complied by pgas for 2.4.20 kernel (Cxk series) whiich can be found earlier in this thread and in the contrib feed.  Dunno if this helps.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=111408\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

That indeed did the trick.  I was trying to install the earlier version of it.  Thanks... booting presently  

pgas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1097
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kde 3.5
« Reply #137 on: January 18, 2006, 04:58:48 am »
Quote
That indeed did the trick. I was trying to install the earlier version of it. Thanks... booting presently biggrin.gif

Does this mean that the squashfs modules I compiled for 2.4.20 work?
« Last Edit: January 18, 2006, 05:01:17 am by pgas »
SLC-860 cacko / senao wifi

desertrat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 743
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kde 3.5
« Reply #138 on: January 18, 2006, 05:36:29 am »
Quote
Does this mean that the squashfs modules I compiled for 2.4.20 work?

Yes, it works for me on C3100. Thanks.

-- cheers
SL-C3100 / Ambicon WL1100C-CF / pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 / IceWM

macstibs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Kde 3.5
« Reply #139 on: January 18, 2006, 05:37:00 am »
Quote
Quote
That indeed did the trick. I was trying to install the earlier version of it. Thanks... booting presently biggrin.gif

Does this mean that the squashfs modules I compiled for 2.4.20 work?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=111417\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I installed the "squashfs_2.2r2_armv5tel.ipk" package I found on the other thread.  If that is the package you're refering to, then yes, it seems to work.  To be honest it's all a bit beyond me so far... I'm just struggling to keep my head above water here.

pgas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1097
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kde 3.5
« Reply #140 on: January 18, 2006, 05:54:43 am »
Quote
Installed the "squashfs_2.2r2_armv5tel.ipk" package I found on the other thread. If that is the package you're refering to, then yes, it seems to work.
Quote
yes, it works for me on C3100. Thanks.

Yes that was what I was refering to, I don't have a machine to test these.

thanks for the feedback
SLC-860 cacko / senao wifi

silencer51

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
    • http://tchalikias.blogspot.com
Kde 3.5
« Reply #141 on: January 24, 2006, 05:28:49 pm »
Just downloaded and installed KDE 3.5. Works like a charm on my C3100 but I find it rather heavy.

All it needed was a new .xinitrc file with an added xmodmap line pointing to the correct character map  (akita.xmodmap).

I'll have to ask this (too lazy to search) How do I run the initial configuration wizard again? I am specifically looking for the performance settings... Thanks
Zaurus SL-5500 with:
128MB CF Card                                    
128MB SD Card
Symbol WiFi CF Card (working, sorta... overheats and shuts down!)
OZ 3.5.4 & GPE

Zaurus SL-C3100 with:
pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 & XFCE4, /dev/hda1 256MB swap, /dev/hda2 512MB ext3, /dev/hda3 3328MB FAT32 for stuff
D-Link DCF-660 WiFi CF Card
1GB SD Card
128MB SD Card
128MB CF Card (for flashing)
USB Host Cable

& a Sony VAIO PCG-C1XD Picturebook with accessories...

[img]http://img58.imageshack.us/img58/7319/usbar21mw.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]

ZDevil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1998
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kde 3.5
« Reply #142 on: January 24, 2006, 05:35:30 pm »
Quote
Just downloaded and installed KDE 3.5. Works like a charm on my C3100 but I find it rather heavy.
All it needed was a new .xinitrc file with an added xmodmap line pointing to the correct character map  (akita.xmodmap).
I'll have to ask this (too lazy to search) How do I run the initial configuration wizard again? I am specifically looking for the performance settings... Thanks
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=112226\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

It seems my kde_lite_symlinks package already contains the lines pointing to the xmodmap.  You can simply edit xmodmap or the userdefined to suit your need.
That initial configuration thingy is K-Menu > Settings > Desktop Settings Wizards.  
Yes, indeed KDE is a desktop with great depth and the settings just look like a big maze.  
« Last Edit: January 24, 2006, 05:35:57 pm by ZDevil »

Life is too precious for hacking *too much*
Visit my Z screencap gallery[/color]
My EeePC 701 Black = Debian (Lenny) on IceRocks + Transcend SDHC Class6 8GB + 2GB RAM
My Zaurus SL-C3200 = Debian EABI (kernel 2.6.24.3-yonggun) on a swapped internal Sandisk Extreme III CF 16gb
My Debian EABI feed: http://matrixmen.free.fr/zaurus/debian/
My OpenBSD/Zaurus feeds:  Link1, Link2
[/i][/font][/color][/size]

puthreguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kde 3.5
« Reply #143 on: January 25, 2006, 06:14:20 am »
Quote
Rotating doesn't work, Using the pdaxrom menu applet has no effect.
Running xrandr it says
#xrandr
SZ: Pixels Physical Refresh
*0 480 x 640 (163mm x 217 mm)
1 240 x 320 (163mm x 217 mm)

when xrandr -0 1 to landscape
the screen rotate but its width is 480 (as in portrait, it should be 640) and its length is more then 480 and the bottom of the screen is cut....

I have the same problem and I'm not sure if it is a KDE problem or a xrandr problem.
PuthreGuy
3100 - pdaXrom 1.1.0b
Zagura

etrigan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Kde 3.5
« Reply #144 on: January 25, 2006, 09:55:51 am »
all:
kde 3.5 works very nicely, if a bit slowly, thanks to all the previous suggestions.

summarizing a bit for folks just starting out (with a 3100):

make sure that you allocate max memory to rom (128Mb).

[oops... correction, its 121...]

i've loaded kde (not the lite pkg) 2-different times, once in rom, once on the 3100 'hard drive'.
there was a negligible speed difference in loading.  i'm probably going to revert to the 'hard drive' installation -- since kde stores a lot of info in the root directory; the extra space is nice.
speaking of which, does everyone run in 'root' mode?

good form is to also remember to rename your original .xinitrc to xinitrc.old (i use xinitrc.mbox), so i can easily revert to the matchbox gui.  then symlink startkde to .xinitrc per earlier suggestions.  startx makes it happen.

as i began to use it, i wonder if anyone has any further suggestions for including battery and/or memory monitors in the toolbar.  also, is there a graphic pkg manager?

i'll be comparing some korganizer vs kopi over the next few days if anyone is interested.
korganizer would be nice, since i would like to access some calendars via internet (and, at last check, kopi did not support this option).

thanks again
« Last Edit: January 25, 2006, 02:54:55 pm by etrigan »
http://gfb.cas.psu.edu
zaurus sl-c3100

ZDevil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1998
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kde 3.5
« Reply #145 on: January 25, 2006, 10:19:59 am »
I was just wondering if someone could tell the speed and performance of the KDE lite squashfs image + symlinks solution work for C3100 and C3000.  In both my 860 and 1000, KDE 3.5 seems to run the fastest using this option.  

BTW I'm using KDE 3.5 as my primary desktop and window manager, leaving matchbox for auxiliary use now.  

Life is too precious for hacking *too much*
Visit my Z screencap gallery[/color]
My EeePC 701 Black = Debian (Lenny) on IceRocks + Transcend SDHC Class6 8GB + 2GB RAM
My Zaurus SL-C3200 = Debian EABI (kernel 2.6.24.3-yonggun) on a swapped internal Sandisk Extreme III CF 16gb
My Debian EABI feed: http://matrixmen.free.fr/zaurus/debian/
My OpenBSD/Zaurus feeds:  Link1, Link2
[/i][/font][/color][/size]

silencer51

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
    • http://tchalikias.blogspot.com
Kde 3.5
« Reply #146 on: January 25, 2006, 10:30:47 am »
Could someone please explain why its a good idea to allocate max memory to rom (121MB if I'm not mistaken...)?

From what I understand, the C3100 has 128 MB of memory. If my root partition is 58MB, then the rest is used for RAM? Right?

I'm running KDE from my hdd now and it is rather slow... But I would think that increasing the root partition in size would make things slower, right?
Zaurus SL-5500 with:
128MB CF Card                                    
128MB SD Card
Symbol WiFi CF Card (working, sorta... overheats and shuts down!)
OZ 3.5.4 & GPE

Zaurus SL-C3100 with:
pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 & XFCE4, /dev/hda1 256MB swap, /dev/hda2 512MB ext3, /dev/hda3 3328MB FAT32 for stuff
D-Link DCF-660 WiFi CF Card
1GB SD Card
128MB SD Card
128MB CF Card (for flashing)
USB Host Cable

& a Sony VAIO PCG-C1XD Picturebook with accessories...

[img]http://img58.imageshack.us/img58/7319/usbar21mw.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]

urielka

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
    • View Profile
Kde 3.5
« Reply #147 on: January 25, 2006, 04:15:18 pm »
128MB is for ROM and also you got 64MB of ram

silencer51

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
    • http://tchalikias.blogspot.com
Kde 3.5
« Reply #148 on: January 25, 2006, 06:03:31 pm »
Then that means that increasing the root partition doesn't affect performance, right? Of course, having a bigger root partition would allow for more programs to be installed in main memory and thus run faster...
Zaurus SL-5500 with:
128MB CF Card                                    
128MB SD Card
Symbol WiFi CF Card (working, sorta... overheats and shuts down!)
OZ 3.5.4 & GPE

Zaurus SL-C3100 with:
pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 & XFCE4, /dev/hda1 256MB swap, /dev/hda2 512MB ext3, /dev/hda3 3328MB FAT32 for stuff
D-Link DCF-660 WiFi CF Card
1GB SD Card
128MB SD Card
128MB CF Card (for flashing)
USB Host Cable

& a Sony VAIO PCG-C1XD Picturebook with accessories...

[img]http://img58.imageshack.us/img58/7319/usbar21mw.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]

urielka

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
    • View Profile
Kde 3.5
« Reply #149 on: January 25, 2006, 06:39:07 pm »
yes bigger root partition doesn`t speed up things.
but... if you install things on the flash it will run faster than installing on some cards