Author Topic: Porting Pdaxrom To Phycore Board  (Read 5082 times)

Adilson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Porting Pdaxrom To Phycore Board
« on: January 02, 2006, 10:58:54 am »
Hi.

This is my first post here. First of all, let me say I'm impressed by pdaXrom. It seens to be a very nice piece of work.
Let me explain my problem. I'm working on a digital inclusion project with will use a arm cpu, probably PXA270. As a development board for the prototipe, I'll use the phyCORE/PXA270. The idea is to create a desktop-like set of applications including gaim, abiword and gnumeric so pdaXrom fits like a glove but I'll have to make it run on this board.
I'm quite new on arm, despite quite experienced in embedded development. Is anyone there that used this board or could me give some tips about the problems I might find on this porting?

Thanks a lot!

pgas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1097
    • View Profile
    • http://
Porting Pdaxrom To Phycore Board
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2006, 04:50:30 am »
You might want to check the pdaxrom-builder documentation (pdaxrom-builder and the entries below in the menu on the left)

http://www.pdaxrom.org/index.php?showid=2&menuid=1

There is an entry about adding a new http://www.pdaxrom.org/index.php?showid=55&menuid=1.
SLC-860 cacko / senao wifi

Hrw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1366
    • View Profile
Porting Pdaxrom To Phycore Board
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2006, 06:47:13 am »
You can also try OpenEmbedded which will give you more packages then pdaX and contain more lowlevel stuff usefull during prototype development.
OpenZaurus 3.5.4x Release Manager
OpenEmbedded, Ångström, Poky developer
My website

Misc embedded hardware.

rpurdie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Porting Pdaxrom To Phycore Board
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2006, 07:34:41 am »
Quote
You can also try OpenEmbedded which will give you more packages then pdaX and contain more lowlevel stuff usefull during prototype development.
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I'd like to second the vote for using Openembedded. OE is built specifically to generate images customised to machines and has a much more diverse range of packages than pdaX [a href=\"http://www.openembedded.org/]http://www.openembedded.org/[/url].

Adilson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Porting Pdaxrom To Phycore Board
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2006, 09:34:08 am »
Quote
I'd like to second the vote for using Openembedded. OE is built specifically to generate images customised to machines and has a much more diverse range of packages than pdaX http://www.openembedded.org/.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=109328\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Thanks for the tip. I'll check it out.

Da_Blitz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pocketnix.org
Porting Pdaxrom To Phycore Board
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2006, 10:24:03 pm »
The first step is to port linux to the device, once that is done then IMHO getting pdaXrom should be a no brainer as there is really no implemntation dependent parts apart from a framebuffer storage and ram. you will probelly have to tweak the init scripts and do a bit of initrd trickery (if that depends on the board) but once that is done it should be fine

that said im no pdaXrom devloper so there may be somthing i have missed but as far as i can see everything really depends on the kernel to make it platform independent

here are some links to hardware that i could find, these links represent what i would call the best of whats avalible in the xscale range, basically lots of ram and flash and standard io (eg pci slots)
http://www.compulab.co.il/armcore-gx.htm
http://www.embeddedplanet.com/products/ep80219.asp
http://www.gumstix.com/spexwaysmalls.html
http://www.prolificx.com/products.htm
http://www.dulseelectronics.com/products/prod_seb3.html
http://www.riscstation.co.uk/html/products.html
http://www.cjemicros.co.uk/micros/products...nix/index.shtml
http://www.advantagesix.co.uk/products.html
http://www.simtec.co.uk/products/systems.html
http://www.applieddata.net/products.asp


and my favirote at the moment
http://www.teamasa.com/npwr_dp.shtml
Personal Blog
Code
Twitter

Gemini Order: #95 (roughly)
Current Device: Samsung Chromebook Gen 3
Current Arm Devices Count: ~30
Looking to acquire: Cavium Thunder X2 Hardware

Adilson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Porting Pdaxrom To Phycore Board
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2006, 10:59:23 pm »
Quote
The first step is to port linux to the device, once that is done then IMHO getting pdaXrom should be a no brainer as there is really no implemntation dependent parts apart from a framebuffer storage and ram..
[snip]
Hi

Thanks a lot for the advice and links. Actually, there's a crude linux port for it already, including X, so I think I won't have many problems.
I'm a little worried because this is the first time I do this kind of stuff with ARM.

[]s and again, thanks.

sashz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
    • View Profile
    • http://
Porting Pdaxrom To Phycore Board
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2006, 07:41:01 am »
Quote
Quote
The first step is to port linux to the device, once that is done then IMHO getting pdaXrom should be a no brainer as there is really no implemntation dependent parts apart from a framebuffer storage and ram..
[snip]
Hi

Thanks a lot for the advice and links. Actually, there's a crude linux port for it already, including X, so I think I won't have many problems.
I'm a little worried because this is the first time I do this kind of stuff with ARM.

[]s and again, thanks.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=109746\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

where is kernel sources? I can add this target in pdaXrom builder if you give me kernel sources

Adilson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Porting Pdaxrom To Phycore Board
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2006, 10:10:45 am »
Quote
where is kernel sources? I can add this target in pdaXrom builder if you give me kernel sources
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=109790\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
I don't have it with me right now but I'll put this in my website this weekend and let you know ASAP.

Thanks.

Adilson.

sashz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
    • View Profile
    • http://
Porting Pdaxrom To Phycore Board
« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2006, 10:22:10 am »
thanks! i will happy add new target in our build system!

Adilson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Porting Pdaxrom To Phycore Board
« Reply #10 on: January 08, 2006, 10:05:57 pm »
Quote
thanks! i will happy add new target in our build system!
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=109808\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
I just sent a PM about this.

Thanks a lot!

Adilson.