Author Topic: 1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx  (Read 84365 times)

0xDEADBEEF

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #30 on: March 08, 2006, 04:20:03 pm »
I just installed it on my c3100 and here is what i noticed.

- suspend/resume sucks. after suspend, pressing hw button to wake the pda up sometimes flashes the desktop and thats it. it helped when i copied timezone file from my desktop. i think it would be great if collection of basic timezones was included and /etc/localtime already existed. but still it seems that now the clock goes to sleep when pda goes to sleep.

- wifi behaves erratically (i am using hostap driver and wpa_supplicant). once in a while when copying a big file it stalls, the card seems to lose connection and reacquire it. also it seems that it slows down (almost freezes) whole. i tried it with two wifi cards (linksys wcf12 and ambicom)

it seems that /var/log is on a flash partition. i am little afraid it may burn out the flash. is anyone else concerned about it? is it possible to move it to tmpfs somehow ? like tmp and /var/run. really i would prefer that c3100 system had root fs on microdrive and never used flash. is that possible? it seems c3000 operates this way.

daniel3000

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #31 on: March 09, 2006, 04:07:02 am »
Quote
- wifi behaves erratically (i am using hostap driver and wpa_supplicant). once in a while when copying a big file it stalls, the card seems to lose connection and reacquire it. also it seems that it slows down (almost freezes) whole. i tried it with two wifi cards (linksys wcf12 and ambicom)
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=117628\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

This is a behavior I also saw about 3-4 years ago when I worked on my diploma thesis using an early version of the hostap driver (on a desktop though, not a Zaurus).

Have you tried another driver?

daniel
SL-C3200 with weeXpc, based on pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3
HP 200LX with MS-DOS 5.0

axele

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #32 on: March 09, 2006, 02:42:39 pm »
I have installed it on my sl-c3000, and it works out fine...
I am glad I brought a compiler to work, so all Linux
is at hand....


Best regards,

Axel

Martin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #33 on: March 09, 2006, 03:19:08 pm »
Hi :-)

now running Beta 2 ... first impression every thing works all right ... no problem booting without cf and sd card ... wifi cf card works ok.

some problems with smbmnt ... maybe my fault.

Later some more tests ... SD Card 2 GB first test recorgnized but could not mount it.

Many thanks to all developers
Martin.
--------------------------------------------------------
sl-c860 /w pdaXrom 1.1.0 Kathrin r121
CF 1GB , SD 2GB + 1GB + 512MB , MMC 512MB
Netgear MA701 WLAN 801b
Asus WL-HDD2.5 (very nice thing) /w 60 GB
--------------------------------------------------------
PC/Notebook SuSE 10.1 Prof. / KDE3.5.4
VDR /w KnoppMyth R5C7 (/w Myth 0.19)
--------------------------------------(August 2006)---

cal

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #34 on: March 09, 2006, 03:22:41 pm »
0xDEADBEEF, I have had the same problem you describe in beta1.  I thought it was my router, but it happens everywhere.

0xDEADBEEF

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #35 on: March 09, 2006, 04:25:27 pm »
Quote
This is a behavior I also saw about 3-4 years ago when I worked on my diploma thesis using an early version of the hostap driver (on a desktop though, not a Zaurus).

Have you tried another driver?

daniel
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=117732\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I have great faith in hostap driver. I used different versions on my notebook and my firewall/accesspoint in AP mode and I find it the best ever wireless driver for any card in linux.

Interesting thing. With RC12 (hostap 0.3.9+wpa_supplicant) 802.11x at office worked just fine with supplicant loaded before the driver. in Beta2 I had to modify script files so the supplicant is loaded after the driver. Otherwise it just cannot associate when loaded before and waiting for the interface to show up.

Now another problem. Everytime I reboot my time gets reset to like a year ago. Isnt there some RTC in the cpu (or on the board) that keeps current time?

silencer51

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
    • http://tchalikias.blogspot.com
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #36 on: March 09, 2006, 11:04:02 pm »
So, is suspend/resume any better? As in faster?

I understand that you still cant suspend and resume immediatelly (results in screen turning on and off immediatelly)...
Zaurus SL-5500 with:
128MB CF Card                                    
128MB SD Card
Symbol WiFi CF Card (working, sorta... overheats and shuts down!)
OZ 3.5.4 & GPE

Zaurus SL-C3100 with:
pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 & XFCE4, /dev/hda1 256MB swap, /dev/hda2 512MB ext3, /dev/hda3 3328MB FAT32 for stuff
D-Link DCF-660 WiFi CF Card
1GB SD Card
128MB SD Card
128MB CF Card (for flashing)
USB Host Cable

& a Sony VAIO PCG-C1XD Picturebook with accessories...

[img]http://img58.imageshack.us/img58/7319/usbar21mw.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]

km2783

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #37 on: March 10, 2006, 04:49:18 pm »
I have a 4GB SD card on the way, I will report my findings
SL-C3100 - pdaXii3 5.4.9

omro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #38 on: March 10, 2006, 04:54:08 pm »
I've put it on my C1000 and the suspend/resume is as flakey as before if you press the on/off button too quickly.

You press the button and it suspends.
You press the button to bring it back and nothing seems to happen or it flashes up for a second and goes again.

But... if you wait for a little while before you press the button again, it seems to work as you would expect.
Zaurus C-1000

km2783

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #39 on: March 15, 2006, 10:49:16 am »
My card arrives today

All this talk about suspend/release... I never really had issues with it.  I press the power button, and the only thing that really does not repsond immediately is the backlight.  After a couple seconds, it kicks on and away I go.  Sometimes, there is a few second interval that the screen refreshes a few times, but that seems to only occur if I have left the unit in suspend for several days.

I mostly use the Menu to Suspend, but it works just like the power button on my 3100.  It is actually pretty much the reverse of when I tell it to leave suspend.  The backlight goes out, and a second or two later the screen itself finally goes blank.

I suppose it would be nice if it responded as rapidly as my Tungsten T3, but the only thing happening there when you press the power button is the screen is shutting off or turning on.  How it works now does not really bother me at all, though.
« Last Edit: March 15, 2006, 10:50:08 am by km2783 »
SL-C3100 - pdaXii3 5.4.9

km2783

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #40 on: March 16, 2006, 01:50:30 am »
Reflashed to beta2 and let's just say it won't work .  The 512MB card I had in there was recognized, but I could not unmount it.  Under X, it just sat there.

So I thought to reboot the system.  Closed X, then told it to shutdown now.  well, after it got to "Unloading USB: it sat there for over 5 minutes.  So I pulled the battery  

Power the unit back on, no SD card in the slot.  Nothing I do will get even the 512MB card to mount.

The applet under X just sits there, and when I try:

mount /dev/mmcda /mnt/card it just sits there
mount /dev/mmcda1 /mnt/card it just sits there
mount /dev/mmcda2 /mnt/card it just sits there

I thought I remember reading something in this thread about SD cards and cards in the slot on powerup for this release to test something, but it is late, I don't have time to reread the thread right now, I could be making it up anyway  

i'll investiage further tomorrow.

the card is an a-data turbo 4GB from newegg.com
« Last Edit: March 16, 2006, 01:50:49 am by km2783 »
SL-C3100 - pdaXii3 5.4.9

km2783

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #41 on: March 16, 2006, 02:06:33 am »
okay, okay, quick update.

I did get it to boot and recognize the old 512MB card again.  But the 4GB is a no go for now
SL-C3100 - pdaXii3 5.4.9

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #42 on: March 16, 2006, 05:22:14 am »
Quote
okay, okay, quick update.

I did get it to boot and recognize the old 512MB card again.  But the 4GB is a no go for now
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=118800\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

did you try:

Code: [Select]
/etc/sdcontrol eject
/etc/sdcontrol insert
?
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

km2783

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #43 on: March 16, 2006, 10:35:41 am »
Good question.

In answer... I just learned something new

And walking up to the work building this morning, what was happening with the 512 card was that when I interupted the (presumed) hang while trying to mount the 4GB card, I could no longer mount the 512MB card.  If left alone, it auto-mounts whenever I insert the 512MB card, and umouts when I remove it.

I'll try it right now.
« Last Edit: March 16, 2006, 10:49:51 am by km2783 »
SL-C3100 - pdaXii3 5.4.9

km2783

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0beta2 For Cxxxx
« Reply #44 on: March 16, 2006, 10:43:38 am »
here's a fun thing.

After being suspended all night, it won't come back on.  I removed the battery, replaced it, and it still won't come back on  

I can't even get into the service menu   Magical.

The power LED comes on to show the battery is being charged.  That is all.

No power plugged in, I remove the battery for several seconds (at least 5), put it back in, plug in power, hold Ok and press power.  Nothing.  Nothing but tears  

Time for some OESF search engine queries

**edit**

after being plugged in for a few minutes, it turned on  The battery had nearly a full charge, wtf  oh well.

Now I can try it
« Last Edit: March 16, 2006, 10:50:04 am by km2783 »
SL-C3100 - pdaXii3 5.4.9