Author Topic: Swap On Hdd With Beta 4?  (Read 5042 times)

GadgetGuy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 321
    • View Profile
    • http://
Swap On Hdd With Beta 4?
« on: May 27, 2006, 01:44:43 pm »
Thanks to several  people, my C3100 starts to work quite nicely with beta 4 ( if I forget about the occasional cases where it does not come back after a suspend - and requires a reset...)

I am trying now to set up a swap partition on my HDD.

I am doing exatly what has perfectly worked with Cacko.

1. I add the following entry to my fstab file:

Code: [Select]
/dev/hda6   swap      swap    defaults     0   0
Then I type in my console as su

Code: [Select]
swapon -a
I get the following error:

Code: [Select]
swapon: /dev/hda6: invalid argument
What is going on? The exact same sequence worked 100% under cacko...

Thank you all...
Zaurus C-3100 from PriceJapan with OZ 3.5.4.1. Opie and GPE
Ambicom CF WL1100C Wifi Card and Symbol Wireless Networker CF Wifi Card
1 GB Sandisk Ultra II SD
PdAir leather case - Nintendo DS metal case
various smaller CF and SD cards
all kinds of USB cables and accessories
-------------------------------------------------------------
Previous computers: TI 99/4A, ZX81, C64, Amiga 500, Apple Powerbook 100
Previous PDA's: Palm 1000, Palm III, Palm V, Palm Vx, Audiovox Maestro Pocket PC, Psion 5mx
Current PDA: Palm Tungsten E2
Current favourite: Zaurus C3100 - my "micro laptop"

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Swap On Hdd With Beta 4?
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2006, 02:09:58 pm »
Quote
Thanks to several  people, my C3100 starts to work quite nicely with beta 4 ( if I forget about the occasional cases where it does not come back after a suspend - and requires a reset...)

I am trying now to set up a swap partition on my HDD.

I am doing exatly what has perfectly worked with Cacko.

1. I add the following entry to my fstab file:

Code: [Select]
/dev/hda6   swap      swap    defaults     0   0
Then I type in my console as su

Code: [Select]
swapon -a
I get the following error:

Code: [Select]
swapon: /dev/hda6: invalid argument
What is going on? The exact same sequence worked 100% under cacko...

Thank you all...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=128602\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
You did fdisk and made the partition and did mkswap to set it up?
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

GadgetGuy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 321
    • View Profile
    • http://
Swap On Hdd With Beta 4?
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2006, 03:04:17 pm »
Quote
You did fdisk and made the partition and did mkswap to set it up?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=128605\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I have used fdisk to create a swap partition - and it has worked on cacko.

Do I also need mkswap - in addition to creating the swap partition?
Zaurus C-3100 from PriceJapan with OZ 3.5.4.1. Opie and GPE
Ambicom CF WL1100C Wifi Card and Symbol Wireless Networker CF Wifi Card
1 GB Sandisk Ultra II SD
PdAir leather case - Nintendo DS metal case
various smaller CF and SD cards
all kinds of USB cables and accessories
-------------------------------------------------------------
Previous computers: TI 99/4A, ZX81, C64, Amiga 500, Apple Powerbook 100
Previous PDA's: Palm 1000, Palm III, Palm V, Palm Vx, Audiovox Maestro Pocket PC, Psion 5mx
Current PDA: Palm Tungsten E2
Current favourite: Zaurus C3100 - my "micro laptop"

InSearchOf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1144
    • View Profile
    • http://
Swap On Hdd With Beta 4?
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2006, 03:11:28 pm »
Quote
Do I also need mkswap - in addition to creating the swap partition?

yep do a:

Code: [Select]
mkswap /dev/hda6
should work perfectly for you....

then the swap on command
Sharp Zaurus SL-C3100 and SL-6000L
pdaXrom Developer
Please visit pdaXrom.org for updates
My Blog
IRC #pdaxrom @ FreeNode

GadgetGuy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 321
    • View Profile
    • http://
Swap On Hdd With Beta 4?
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2006, 03:21:17 pm »
Quote
Quote
Do I also need mkswap - in addition to creating the swap partition?

yep do a:

Code: [Select]
mkswap /dev/hda6
should work perfectly for you....

then the swap on command
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=128616\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


Perfect. Works now! Thanks!

I now just hope, that beta 5 will come soon, as I would love to be able to properly suspend, use the character "a" after leaving X and more...
« Last Edit: May 27, 2006, 03:22:07 pm by GadgetGuy »
Zaurus C-3100 from PriceJapan with OZ 3.5.4.1. Opie and GPE
Ambicom CF WL1100C Wifi Card and Symbol Wireless Networker CF Wifi Card
1 GB Sandisk Ultra II SD
PdAir leather case - Nintendo DS metal case
various smaller CF and SD cards
all kinds of USB cables and accessories
-------------------------------------------------------------
Previous computers: TI 99/4A, ZX81, C64, Amiga 500, Apple Powerbook 100
Previous PDA's: Palm 1000, Palm III, Palm V, Palm Vx, Audiovox Maestro Pocket PC, Psion 5mx
Current PDA: Palm Tungsten E2
Current favourite: Zaurus C3100 - my "micro laptop"

Xromer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
    • View Profile
    • http://
Swap On Hdd With Beta 4?
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2006, 04:29:49 pm »
Quote
Quote
Quote
Do I also need mkswap - in addition to creating the swap partition?

yep do a:

Code: [Select]
mkswap /dev/hda6
should work perfectly for you....

then the swap on command
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=128616\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


Perfect. Works now! Thanks!

I now just hope, that beta 5 will come soon, as I would love to be able to properly suspend, use the character "a" after leaving X and more...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=128617\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

UHM.... pay attention with the swap on the Zauri HD, i did a swap and a ext2 partition on my 3100.
Never had problems with other Beta, but the 2.6 kernel seems to be not stable with the Swap.
Yesterday mounting the swap fs i had a strange behaviour.
After after a suspend and wake up action, my partition table was altered, i really don' t know why.
The Zauri froze and partitions were deleted, maybe my fault but i formatted again with a unic ext2 partition, did a lot of tries and nothing happened.
It' s a strange thing.
BYEZ!  
[span style=\'font-size:10pt;line-height:100%\']I don't know how, but i' ll do!!!
This is how i like to live! :)[/span]

Ipaq hx4700

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Swap On Hdd With Beta 4?
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2006, 04:37:44 pm »
have you tried a swapfile instead of a partition? theoretically slower, but I don'really see much difference in real performance on cacko.  It might be easier to manage.

I'm really loooking forward to beta5 or beta4 non-extreme or whatever it gets called too  --pdaX with 2.6 and the problems ironed out bvdd back in and generally behaving itself the way it normally does will be ..well...really cool.

To go back from cacko/pdaxqt, though, I'll need bvdd (or some unknown to me equiavalent or improvement) and most importantly support for my 4 gig sd card.  I'm guessing thes, other improvements and the stability you mentioned are in the near future.  til then, try the swapfile and let us know if it's an improvement?
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

GadgetGuy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 321
    • View Profile
    • http://
Swap On Hdd With Beta 4?
« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2006, 09:11:07 pm »
Quote
UHM.... pay attention with the swap on the Zauri HD, i did a swap and a ext2 partition on my 3100.
Never had problems with other Beta, but the 2.6 kernel seems to be not stable with the Swap.
Yesterday mounting the swap fs i had a strange behaviour.
After after a suspend and wake up action, my partition table was altered, i really don' t know why.
The Zauri froze and partitions were deleted, maybe my fault but i formatted again with a unic ext2 partition, did a lot of tries and nothing happened.
It' s a strange thing.
BYEZ! 
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=128622\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

That sounds scary... I hope it will not happen to me too... I have 5 partitions: the first 2 are the "factory" ones, the third is a Fat partition ( so that I can transfer data easily via USB), the fourth is an Ext3 partition and the last is the swap.

For now it works ok... but the fact that most of the time I cannot put the unit properly to sleep (and also that the UP directional key does not work when X is running) is quite bad... I hope Beta 5 will fix these issues...
Zaurus C-3100 from PriceJapan with OZ 3.5.4.1. Opie and GPE
Ambicom CF WL1100C Wifi Card and Symbol Wireless Networker CF Wifi Card
1 GB Sandisk Ultra II SD
PdAir leather case - Nintendo DS metal case
various smaller CF and SD cards
all kinds of USB cables and accessories
-------------------------------------------------------------
Previous computers: TI 99/4A, ZX81, C64, Amiga 500, Apple Powerbook 100
Previous PDA's: Palm 1000, Palm III, Palm V, Palm Vx, Audiovox Maestro Pocket PC, Psion 5mx
Current PDA: Palm Tungsten E2
Current favourite: Zaurus C3100 - my "micro laptop"

bdbell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Swap On Hdd With Beta 4?
« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2006, 09:20:00 pm »
Quote
I now just hope, that beta 5 will come soon, as I would love to be able to properly suspend, use the character "a" after leaving X and more...
GadgetGuy - to get the 'a' working after exiting x you need to delete (or rename) the "/etc/sysconfig/keyboard/kernel.map" file.  There is a bug with the Input Setup applet that causes this to happen - any changes in this will cause the "a" to stop working.

There may be a better way to fix this - check the following two links;

https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=18112

https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=17050

I discovered this while trying to figure out how to get the "alt-tap" right mouse button funtion to work - never did figure that one out.  I have switched back to Cacko until I can get a fix for this, and bvvd, and the resume from suspend problem...otherwise I think it is a great ROM - also waiting eagerly for beta 5

BTW - I found that the most recent beta 4 initialized my swap partition automatically without making any changes at all - but then I had already done a mkswap on it?

GadgetGuy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 321
    • View Profile
    • http://
Swap On Hdd With Beta 4?
« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2006, 09:27:02 pm »
Quote
GadgetGuy - to get the 'a' working after exiting x you need to delete (or rename) the "/etc/sysconfig/keyboard/kernel.map" file.  There is a bug with the Input Setup applet that causes this to happen - any changes in this will cause the "a" to stop working.

[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=128633\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Thanks... I decided to wait for beta 5 instead of all the various fixes... ( I still dont know how to make the "UP" work - it works after a reboot, but does not work in X, and does not work after X has been shut down. )

I just hope it comes soon - as I would really like to use my Z ( and I am too lazy to reflash Cacko) to learn Python on it...
Zaurus C-3100 from PriceJapan with OZ 3.5.4.1. Opie and GPE
Ambicom CF WL1100C Wifi Card and Symbol Wireless Networker CF Wifi Card
1 GB Sandisk Ultra II SD
PdAir leather case - Nintendo DS metal case
various smaller CF and SD cards
all kinds of USB cables and accessories
-------------------------------------------------------------
Previous computers: TI 99/4A, ZX81, C64, Amiga 500, Apple Powerbook 100
Previous PDA's: Palm 1000, Palm III, Palm V, Palm Vx, Audiovox Maestro Pocket PC, Psion 5mx
Current PDA: Palm Tungsten E2
Current favourite: Zaurus C3100 - my "micro laptop"

jerrybme

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
    • View Profile
    • http://
Swap On Hdd With Beta 4?
« Reply #10 on: May 29, 2006, 09:00:16 am »
Quote
Quote
GadgetGuy - to get the 'a' working after exiting x you need to delete (or rename) the "/etc/sysconfig/keyboard/kernel.map" file.  There is a bug with the Input Setup applet that causes this to happen - any changes in this will cause the "a" to stop working.

[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=128633\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Thanks... I decided to wait for beta 5 instead of all the various fixes... ( I still dont know how to make the "UP" work - it works after a reboot, but does not work in X, and does not work after X has been shut down. )

I just hope it comes soon - as I would really like to use my Z ( and I am too lazy to reflash Cacko) to learn Python on it...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=128634\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
The "a" problem & "up" cursor problem are the result of running the input config app. It modifies your /etc/sysconfig/keyboard/Borzoi/kernel map, /etc/sysconfig/x11mousebuttons, /etc/x11/kb/xmodmap_us and ~/.Choices/input.conf files.

I recommend backing up those files after a fresh flash so you can replace them if needed to get back to normal keyboard/cursor behavior.

To get right mouse action working I had to manually modify ~/Choices/input.conf file. I set it to my right shift key.
Cheers,
Jerry
« Last Edit: May 30, 2006, 10:41:15 am by jerrybme »
SL-C3100
Angstrom-GPE
Lexar SD 1 GB
PQI 2GB CF
Ambicom WL1100 CF

anunakin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • View Profile
    • http://vivaphp.net
Swap On Hdd With Beta 4?
« Reply #11 on: May 29, 2006, 05:33:25 pm »
1 -open cfdisk
Code: [Select]
$ cfdisk2 -change the type of your swap partition to SWAP Type (number 82) ....
3- look at FS Type
Code: [Select]
 Name        Flags      Part Type  FS Type          [Label]        Size (MB)
 ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    hda1                    Primary   Linux ext3                         150.71
    hda2                    Primary   Linux ext3                          50.58
    hda3                    Primary   Linux ext3                        3765.96
    hda4                    Primary   Linux swap / Solaris               128.51

     [Bootable]  [ Delete ]  [  Help  ]  [Maximize]  [ Print  ]
     [  Quit  ]  [  Type  ]  [ Units  ]  [ Write  ]

  yeah .... now your swap partition goes up on boot time!
« Last Edit: May 29, 2006, 05:50:56 pm by anunakin »
[img]http://www.vivaphp.net/imagens/rev2.jpg\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Anunakin (Marcus Fazzi)

Nokia N900 32GB + microSD 2GB
Nokia N810 w/ microSD 8GB
Nokia 5310 XpressMusic w/ microSD 1GB
HP48GX->Psion Sienna->Palm m130->Tungsten T->Zaurus SL-5500->C3000->C3100 ALL SOLD

My FEED(On Line AGAIN!!!)