Author Topic: Screen Problem After Installing Beta4?  (Read 1543 times)

wrc4

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Screen Problem After Installing Beta4?
« on: July 05, 2006, 02:30:55 am »
Very weird.

I played with beta4 on my SL-7500C yesterday and switched back to beta1 after a little while. Now I noticed that there are some "ghost shadow" on my screen: it's like some faint image on top of the real image (just like what you will see on a TV screen if you use an indoor ant.)

I don't know if this is a hardware problem. (I dissembled my 7500 several times and some connectors might worn out) But I just wonder if it's possible that this has something to do with installing beta4 (I didn't see the "ghost shadow" before). I mean, could an incorrect refresh rate kill the LCD control IC?

Does anybody have some idea?
Zaurus SL-C1000 (Debian)
Zaurus SL-7500C
Nokia N810
KOHJINSHA SC3
ASUS EEEPC 701
ASUS WL-HDD 2.5
ASUS WL-500GPv2
WD MyBookWorldEdition (with a Segate 500G HD inside)

Bundabrg

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Screen Problem After Installing Beta4?
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2006, 02:37:10 am »
Check this post out:
  https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=8541

 - Bundabrg
[img]http://www.worldguard.com.au/brendan-ambi.png\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]

wrc4

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Screen Problem After Installing Beta4?
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2006, 04:37:56 am »
Quote
Check this post out:
  https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=8541

 - Bundabrg
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=133962\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Thanks Bundabrg! Problem solved with:
Com: 115
LCD Phase: 4

I should have looked at the pinned-posts more carefully

Wouldn't that be a good idea if we keep a note of our original value before playing with something new?
Zaurus SL-C1000 (Debian)
Zaurus SL-7500C
Nokia N810
KOHJINSHA SC3
ASUS EEEPC 701
ASUS WL-HDD 2.5
ASUS WL-500GPv2
WD MyBookWorldEdition (with a Segate 500G HD inside)

clofland

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
    • http://www.lofland.net/
Screen Problem After Installing Beta4?
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2006, 11:23:34 am »
Quote
Wouldn't that be a good idea if we keep a note of our original value before playing with something new?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=133978\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Yeah, I was kind of bummed when that happend to mine, because my screen was always so perfect until then. I spent a long time testing values and I still do not think my screen is back to as nice as it was before Beta4. Who knew a ROM flash could change NAND values?!

On the flip side, it looked VERY good under Beta4, so I am kind of guessing that once I move on to a stable pdaXrom with 2.6 kernel, my screen will look good for sure.
[span style=\'font-size:14pt;line-height:100%\']C-760 pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3[/span]
- Sandisk UltraII 1GB SD card - Socket LP CF LAN card - Socket LP CF WLAN card - Socket CF Bluetooth Card Rev H -

Bundabrg

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Screen Problem After Installing Beta4?
« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2006, 10:50:40 pm »
Quote
Quote
Wouldn't that be a good idea if we keep a note of our original value before playing with something new?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=133978\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Yeah, I was kind of bummed when that happend to mine, because my screen was always so perfect until then. I spent a long time testing values and I still do not think my screen is back to as nice as it was before Beta4. Who knew a ROM flash could change NAND values?!

On the flip side, it looked VERY good under Beta4, so I am kind of guessing that once I move on to a stable pdaXrom with 2.6 kernel, my screen will look good for sure.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=134021\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I think it was more the flash erase maybe.
[img]http://www.worldguard.com.au/brendan-ambi.png\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]

louigi600

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 471
    • View Profile
Screen Problem After Installing Beta4?
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2006, 09:52:03 am »
I did the D+M stuff but I still have a flicker on the text console.
How can I remove that ?

Regards
David
Regards
David

SL-c760*  pdaXrom latest
SL-c860    pdaXrom latest ;-)
SL-c1000  pdaXrom Latest
Acer Aspire One running slackware and Clash
Toshiba AC100 running ARMedslack and Clash

*with some hardware problems but good for testing

wrc4

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Screen Problem After Installing Beta4?
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2006, 02:53:46 am »
Quote
I did the D+M stuff but I still have a flicker on the text console.
How can I remove that ?

Regards
David
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=134234\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Not sure, with beta4 I still have flickering issue. But after flashing back to beta1 and adjusted COM and Phase, everything seems OK.
Zaurus SL-C1000 (Debian)
Zaurus SL-7500C
Nokia N810
KOHJINSHA SC3
ASUS EEEPC 701
ASUS WL-HDD 2.5
ASUS WL-500GPv2
WD MyBookWorldEdition (with a Segate 500G HD inside)

louigi600

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 471
    • View Profile
Screen Problem After Installing Beta4?
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2006, 04:22:11 am »
Hum ... I've noticed that adter the adjustments things emproved in normal boot mode but emerg remained bad ....  brobably data is written in some place where emerg image is not reading it.

But I must add that untill the backlight is dimmed also the normal boot mode is not as good as the beta1 release. Things emproove duting the boot proces (somwhere neat the end, maybe doing the runlevel stuff) when the backlight decreases brigthness by about 50%.

Also the text console (before starting X) has some, buffer I guess, issues while editing command lines.

Regards
David
Regards
David

SL-c760*  pdaXrom latest
SL-c860    pdaXrom latest ;-)
SL-c1000  pdaXrom Latest
Acer Aspire One running slackware and Clash
Toshiba AC100 running ARMedslack and Clash

*with some hardware problems but good for testing

louigi600

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 471
    • View Profile
Screen Problem After Installing Beta4?
« Reply #8 on: August 11, 2006, 05:30:59 am »
concerning the lcd setup ... I found out why :
Beta4 no longer looks at the values saved in flash for COMM and PHASE ... etc,
instead it pics values from /etc/sysconfig/zaurushw .

The emerg system is ver much brighter for 2 reasosn:
1)lightpower.py is not loaded
2)there is no /etc/sysconfig/zaurushw
Regards
David

SL-c760*  pdaXrom latest
SL-c860    pdaXrom latest ;-)
SL-c1000  pdaXrom Latest
Acer Aspire One running slackware and Clash
Toshiba AC100 running ARMedslack and Clash

*with some hardware problems but good for testing