Author Topic: Wireless Configure On Tosa 6000l For Pdaxrom  (Read 2297 times)

xjqian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
    • View Profile
    • http://
Wireless Configure On Tosa 6000l For Pdaxrom
« on: August 11, 2006, 01:57:16 am »
I searched low and high but can't find an instruction. Tried different approaches myself, but all failed. I've been stick with the sharp stock rom for quite a while, this is my first time to try pdaXrom. Hope some more experienced Tosa user can enlighten me.
My Blog | 6000L Tosa + sled | is: Angstrom | was: pdaXrom 1.1.0beta1 | was: stock 1.12 rom + no-ffpe fash kernel + X/Qt Debian |
CF GPS (FGPCFCD01) | USB "Prolific 2303" GPS (USB-UG-200) | Socket CF BT rev. H |  USB "Pegasus II" Ethernet (ADM8511) | PocketTop IR kbd | sip:527630@fwd.pulver.com
Todo: OESF wiki | stable VOIP app | usable GPS app |      Wishlist: VOIP + Bluetooth | GPS + Routing Calc

karlto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 343
    • View Profile
    • http://
Wireless Configure On Tosa 6000l For Pdaxrom
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2006, 04:22:30 pm »
Hi xjqian

Unfortunately the graphical tool doesn't quite cut it, so everything here requires editing text files and shell commands. Hopefully not too complex though.

There are two files that you need to alter (everything else is ready to go):

/etc/wlan/wlan.conf
/etc/wlan/wlancfg-<yourSSID> (copy this from wlancfg-DEFAULT)

Edit wlan.conf to change the following two lines at the bottom of the file:

Code: [Select]
SSID_wlan0=""
ENABLE_wlan0=y
(yourSSID must match the file name of the second file as above)

In the wlancfg-<yourSSID> file, set the network-specific settings, and leave the rest as-is. Here are the important lines from mine:

Code: [Select]
dot11WEPDefaultKey0=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX (I'm not telling you this...)
IS_ADHOC=y
(you'll see that I use WEP on an ad-hoc network)

Then start the connection from the shell:

Code: [Select]
/etc/rc.d/init.d/wlan start
ifconfig wlan0 up
(use whatever <fixedIPaddr> you like; I haven't tried DHCP but I've seen that others have it working and it should operate the same as any other interface)

Stop the connection with:

Code: [Select]
/etc/rc.d/init.d/wlan stop
I saved some scripts and linked them to menu items and buttons to make life easier with the up and down, and also some routing. Hopefully I haven't missed anything; you should be able to go by the comments in the files if I have.

Karl
SL6000-L, RC12

miskinis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
    • View Profile
    • http://
Wireless Configure On Tosa 6000l For Pdaxrom
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2006, 06:58:32 pm »
Quote
I haven't tried DHCP but I've seen that others have it working and it should operate the same as any other interface)
\

Hi,

Yes, I use DHCP with pdaXrom on my 6000.  The "tutorial on 6000" or closely-named
topic gives the step by step procedure.  I also put a script in the suspend.d directory
to ensure that WIFI is shutdown during a suspend, since the Z will hang on a resume
if WIFI was running when suspended.

I have not yet tried an "ad hoc" setup, nor have I ever setup my 6000 as an access
point, but I am very eager to try to setup the Z as an access point for my 5500.

One of these days I will organize my notes, tips, tricks on a web site, I think I
found a decent free hosting site, but it forces ads.  

EDIT: I never figured out how to set the Z up to connect to any access point (like
when you don't knoe the name, etc.) , so if anyone has clues, post them!  Thanks!

John
« Last Edit: August 13, 2006, 06:59:52 pm by miskinis »
_John Miskinis_

karlto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 343
    • View Profile
    • http://
Wireless Configure On Tosa 6000l For Pdaxrom
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2006, 09:52:40 pm »
Quote
EDIT: I never figured out how to set the Z up to connect to any access point (like
when you don't knoe the name, etc.) , so if anyone has clues, post them!  Thanks!

John
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=138536\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
The config file says to leave the SSID blank, but I'm sure I've seen it reported around here somewhere as a bug that this doesn't work...
SL6000-L, RC12

Srono

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
    • http://
Wireless Configure On Tosa 6000l For Pdaxrom
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2006, 04:22:27 am »
[span style=\'font-size:7pt;line-height:100%\']C3100 /w Meanie's pdaxii13 5.2alpha
SL5500 collecting dust.

[/span]

miskinis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
    • View Profile
    • http://
Wireless Configure On Tosa 6000l For Pdaxrom
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2006, 06:08:06 pm »
Quote
Is it the one you 're looking for ?

Yes, that's the (great) post!
_John Miskinis_

xjqian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
    • View Profile
    • http://
Wireless Configure On Tosa 6000l For Pdaxrom
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2006, 02:32:13 am »
Quote
Is it the one you 're looking for ?
https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=14462
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Thanks, that's the one I'm looking for. And thanks karlto, you post got me there too, however
ifconfig wlan0 <fixedIPaddr> up does not work (network unreachable) for WEP secured AP. I guess more explicit managed options should be put inline.

I updated the howto for the wificonfiguration using dhcpcd: [a href=\"https://www.oesf.org/index.php?title=How_to_install_pdaXrom]https://www.oesf.org/index.php?title=How_to_install_pdaXrom[/url]
My Blog | 6000L Tosa + sled | is: Angstrom | was: pdaXrom 1.1.0beta1 | was: stock 1.12 rom + no-ffpe fash kernel + X/Qt Debian |
CF GPS (FGPCFCD01) | USB "Prolific 2303" GPS (USB-UG-200) | Socket CF BT rev. H |  USB "Pegasus II" Ethernet (ADM8511) | PocketTop IR kbd | sip:527630@fwd.pulver.com
Todo: OESF wiki | stable VOIP app | usable GPS app |      Wishlist: VOIP + Bluetooth | GPS + Routing Calc

karlto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 343
    • View Profile
    • http://
Wireless Configure On Tosa 6000l For Pdaxrom
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2006, 04:03:07 pm »
Quote
Quote
Is it the one you 're looking for ?
https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=14462
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=138572\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Thanks, that's the one I'm looking for. And thanks karlto, you post got me there too, however
ifconfig wlan0 <fixedIPaddr> up does not work (network unreachable) for WEP secured AP. I guess more explicit managed options should be put inline.
Come to think of it, that linked post is probably where I got my information originally (thanks jcabrer). Odd thing with WEP - I use it exactly like that, but I guess ad-hoc mode works differently...
SL6000-L, RC12