Author Topic: Solved: Developing Under Pdaxrom Impossible?  (Read 3437 times)

andreask

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • http://
Solved: Developing Under Pdaxrom Impossible?
« on: August 23, 2006, 03:57:02 am »
Hello Community,

i have tried days and hours of hours to run a acceptable good and full developing environment (Webserver [Apache, lighttpd ...], PHP, Database [mysql, postgresql, Sqlite3]) for Web Coding. But nothing works

I tried the following things:

1. ) Install Apache 2 with PHP4 support --> Works good --> Installing the mysql 4 Database --> Install works, but the start devours the whole zaurus (Because the > 8 Proccesses eats alle memory [can't get fewer proccesses than these my.cnf tuning has no effect) --> Developing impossible  

2.) Install Apache 2 with PHP 5 support --> Works good --> Sqlite2 works, but i need sqlite3 support, because i have a sqlite3 Database on a productive openbsd server [converting from a a new Database to an old one is, in my opinion, stupid] --> Developing impossible

3.) Install Apache 2 with PHP 4 support --> Works good --> Installing  the mysql 3 Database, works also. --> No support for mysql3 in PHP4 (needs libmysqlclient.so.6 but mysql3 have libmysqlclient.so.3) --> Developing impossible

4.) Install Apache 2 with PHP5 support --> Works good --> Install Postgresql (Eats here on the Z less memory than mysql ...) --> But where's the PHP support for it .... --> Developing impossible

5.) Install Lighttpd --> works gread (eats very few memory)  --> But where can i get an fcgi compiled PHP Version for the Z.... --> Developing impossible

6.) Tried the arm binarys of PHP Debian Package (Convert it to ipk Packages) but he tells me that the encoding type is wrong (something with ELF  ...) --> Developing impossible

7.) Tried to compile the php sources. But the few memory (for compiling too few) on the Z kills the compiling proccess.


Now i will try today to crosscompile the new php5 sources with sqlite3 support for the Z, but i don't believe that i'm alone with all my Problems, and others have/had possible the same trouble, maybe with a solution for the Problems???? I hope so  


Greetings from Germany
Andreas
« Last Edit: August 29, 2006, 06:18:51 am by andreask »
Zaurus SL-C1000 Wlan Card and other Accessories

Chero

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1140
    • View Profile
    • http://users.telenet.be/zaurususer/Chero
Solved: Developing Under Pdaxrom Impossible?
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2006, 06:26:08 am »
A lot of the problems seem to be memory problems.

Have you tried using swap ?

Chero
HP-95LX -> HP Jornada 680 -> SL-C860 -> SL-C3100 -> Fuji u810 -> SL-C1000 -> HTC uni -> SL-C860 -> SL-C760.
March 12 2009 : Back because the Zaurus is one of a kind.
SL-C760 : pdaXrom
Pandora pre-ordered -> received and tested : great device but not my cup of tea -> sold.

andreask

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • http://
Solved: Developing Under Pdaxrom Impossible?
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2006, 06:58:15 am »
Thank you for answering Chero.
Yes, in the beginning i tried it with swap (on SD, because i have just one CF Card that must be fat for the Digicam).
I doesn't understand that the mysql Daemon needs so much memory. On my productive Servers i have a single mysql proccess which manages everything correct. On Z i have 8 - 10 Proccess even with the treads_concurrency=2 option. Mysql ignores all the preferences that i set.
I will try as soon as possible the compilation of PHP with swapon on the Z, but this is not a good solution for me.
I can't compile everytime the PHP Sources, when i reflash the Zaurus. Is there no chance to get the deb packages of the new PHP without any Problems? I'm the only one, who will use the Z for Developing with PHP and mysql/Postgresql ??  

greets
Andreas
Zaurus SL-C1000 Wlan Card and other Accessories

anunakin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • View Profile
    • http://vivaphp.net
Solved: Developing Under Pdaxrom Impossible?
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2006, 07:58:01 am »
Many of my contribe, package, are made using Zaurus, not PC... is better... well this demands more time for compile and make ipkgs, but it works... I do some patchs on code using Z too!

And yeah ... you need create a swap space for compiles some apps... I using a partition... on HDD... using 128MB swap space...  
« Last Edit: August 23, 2006, 07:59:17 am by anunakin »
[img]http://www.vivaphp.net/imagens/rev2.jpg\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Anunakin (Marcus Fazzi)

Nokia N900 32GB + microSD 2GB
Nokia N810 w/ microSD 8GB
Nokia 5310 XpressMusic w/ microSD 1GB
HP48GX->Psion Sienna->Palm m130->Tungsten T->Zaurus SL-5500->C3000->C3100 ALL SOLD

My FEED(On Line AGAIN!!!)

desertrat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 743
    • View Profile
    • http://
Solved: Developing Under Pdaxrom Impossible?
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2006, 08:00:34 am »
Quote
i have tried days and hours of hours to run a acceptable good and full developing environment (Webserver [Apache, lighttpd ...], PHP, Database [mysql, postgresql, Sqlite3]) for Web Coding. But nothing works
I am running a pretty good (IMO) web development system on my 3100. I have apache, php 5, mysql 4, postgresql 8, sqlite 3.

Quote
I tried the following things:
What are your requirements? Any particular versions?

Quote
Because the > 8 Proccesses eats alle memory [can't get fewer proccesses than these my.cnf tuning has no effect)
My mysql starts up 10 processes - however there's no need to worry, they are all sharing the same bit of memory (just over 2MB on startup in my case).

In any case you definitely need to enable swap, I have a 256MB swap partition (but even under heavy usage I never seen it swap usage go above about 128MB, ymmv).

Quote
I can't compile everytime the PHP Sources, when i reflash the Zaurus. Is there no chance to get the deb packages of the new PHP without any Problems?
I'm not sure why you are reflashing that often. Anyway after you compile the first time, just package the files into an IPK so you can easily reinstall after reflash.

-- cheers
SL-C3100 / Ambicon WL1100C-CF / pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 / IceWM

andreask

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • http://
Solved: Developing Under Pdaxrom Impossible?
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2006, 08:22:54 am »
@desertrat: Do you have the exstensions for postgresql and sqlite3 enabled in PHP? Sqlite3 and Postgresql stand alone Installation is no Problem and works good, but without an extension for php it is useless for me

It seems that i must buy a CF Card to use swap and finally WORK and not PLAY with the Z, or?

The flashsessions appears because i tried the several possibilities, wrote in the thread. Particular after the PHP deb Package install tries i could forget the system ...

OT but also interesting for me: Has somebody try to run Applications, made with Lazarus (FPC), under pdaxrom?

Thanks for the existing real good answers. I'll try today to build up a stable coding environment and hope it will run for a while
« Last Edit: August 23, 2006, 08:25:00 am by andreask »
Zaurus SL-C1000 Wlan Card and other Accessories

ThirtyOne

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
Solved: Developing Under Pdaxrom Impossible?
« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2006, 01:28:02 pm »
I have the same issues on my C760.  I found that using swapd makes it usable.

If I use dillo to test then it is fine.  If I have to use firefox it is too painful to really be usable.

andreask

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • http://
Solved: Developing Under Pdaxrom Impossible?
« Reply #7 on: August 24, 2006, 04:23:16 am »
@ThirtyOne: Oh, it is good that I'm not the only one with developing Problems. But how do you make this with spwap? I have a wlan CF-Card. Should i create two swapfiles. One on the SD and one on the CF. If i develop i must/should use the swap on the CF and if i surf with firefox must use the SD? Is this the real solution?

Does somebody compile the new PHP (with sqlite3 support) for the Zaurus/pdaxrom?

Greetings Andreas
Zaurus SL-C1000 Wlan Card and other Accessories

desertrat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 743
    • View Profile
    • http://
Solved: Developing Under Pdaxrom Impossible?
« Reply #8 on: August 25, 2006, 03:43:28 am »
Quote
Does somebody compile the new PHP (with sqlite3 support) for the Zaurus/pdaxrom?
The PHP 5 I compiled has support for that. Unfortunately the ipk is stored on my desktop machine and that has been down for the past couple of weeks - my Z has been doing a wonderful job of "taking over" that I haven't been compelled to fix it yet. I might try and fix the machine at the weekend and upload it.

-- cheers
SL-C3100 / Ambicon WL1100C-CF / pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 / IceWM

andreask

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • http://
Solved: Developing Under Pdaxrom Impossible?
« Reply #9 on: August 25, 2006, 05:24:05 am »
Quote
I might try and fix the machine at the weekend and upload it.

Thanks, this would be very good and will help me much


greetings
Andreas
« Last Edit: August 25, 2006, 05:24:19 am by andreask »
Zaurus SL-C1000 Wlan Card and other Accessories

andreask

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • http://
Solved: Developing Under Pdaxrom Impossible?
« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2006, 08:57:47 am »
desertrat send me the files, and now the system works great  With swap all my requirements are solved.
Now Apache 1.3 works with PHP 5.1 and mysql 4.1.18 database. They work with firefox really good (no highspeed but for non-stop swaping very good)

Thanks for it desertrat.

Thread can be marked as solved
Zaurus SL-C1000 Wlan Card and other Accessories

jcabrer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
Solved: Developing Under Pdaxrom Impossible?
« Reply #11 on: August 29, 2006, 03:02:35 pm »
I have an SL6000 that I use for development.  I have a list of things that make development here easier for me.

1.  VNC Server.  I can leave the PDA at home, and use it from anywhere!
2.  SSHD.  Same as above.
3.  4GB Microdrive.  3GB ext3, 1GB swap.  This resolves most memory problems.
4.  All additional ipks installed on fast 1GB SD Flash.
5.  System is overclocked to max, screen light is turned off when docked.  Keeps things a bit cooler.
6.  Apache, Mysql, PHP installed internal, due to ipk install limitations.  If you don't need things to autostart at boot, you can move Apache to SD and symlink the directory.
7.  Ruby & Rails.
8. SQLITE
9.  USB networking.  I can connect via wireless too.
10.  I don't use Firefox local.  Too slow.

I've compiled full versions of the latest MAME on my Tosa with no problems.  Ruby/Rails is a bit intense.  Have not tried FAST CGI yet.
Sharp SL-C3100 - pdaXrom Beta 3
Sharp SL-6000L - pdaXrom Beta 1

ScottYelich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 992
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php?opmodload&namephpWiki&filei
Solved: Developing Under Pdaxrom Impossible?
« Reply #12 on: September 03, 2006, 11:06:42 am »
hey --

can you get above 25% (30%?) speed with ms pacman?

older mame was ok -- but it would never run better than 1/4 speed!

playing all games on valium sucked.

Scott