Author Topic: Wifi Cards And Net Connection Help Help !  (Read 4502 times)

phillvs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Wifi Cards And Net Connection Help Help !
« on: November 24, 2006, 07:13:12 pm »
Dear All,

I haven't used my C860 for many months and thought I would try to get it working again tonight. I had thought that I had bricked it as it no longer boots to the Japanese menu when I press OK on power up. Non of the boot keys work (D+M on power up etc)  and I cant decide why. I have installed the u-boot system for beta3 and it was at that time that I gave up on the thing earlier this year.

Today I installed u-boot again and then version 121 ( have no idea how to flash to an earlier version as I can't get the Japanese menu up)

Anyway, 121 seems to work OK except that I can't get onto the network because the system doesn't recognise my WiFi card. I got it working under RC8, then RC10, then RC12 so I know it can work. In those cases I followed the instructions I found in this forum to add the details from cardctl to the .conf files (cant remember the file names anymore - wlan.conf perhaps) which used to be in the /etc/pcmcia directory (if I remember correctly) but now I can't find the network card setup files anywhere.

I have been advised that I can used pccardctl and I have found that it works for 121 (thanks luigi600) But, where do I put this information for the system to recognise my card?

After that, will the GUI configuration program work or will I have to set the card up manually?

Please please help
Phill

Using:
C860 with pdaXrom
5600 with theKompany Rom

anunakin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • View Profile
    • http://vivaphp.net
Wifi Cards And Net Connection Help Help !
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2006, 09:00:43 pm »
[img]http://www.vivaphp.net/imagens/rev2.jpg\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Anunakin (Marcus Fazzi)

Nokia N900 32GB + microSD 2GB
Nokia N810 w/ microSD 8GB
Nokia 5310 XpressMusic w/ microSD 1GB
HP48GX->Psion Sienna->Palm m130->Tungsten T->Zaurus SL-5500->C3000->C3100 ALL SOLD

My FEED(On Line AGAIN!!!)

newkirk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
    • http://myzaur.us
Wifi Cards And Net Connection Help Help !
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2006, 01:27:08 pm »
Quote
Dear All,

I haven't used my C860 for many months and thought I would try to get it working again tonight. I had thought that I had bricked it as it no longer boots to the Japanese menu when I press OK on power up. Non of the boot keys work (D+M on power up etc)  and I cant decide why. I have installed the u-boot system for beta3 and it was at that time that I gave up on the thing earlier this year.

[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=147199\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Try removing battery and power, then holding down FN+D+M while plugging in cord  

Quote
Anyway, 121 seems to work OK except that I can't get onto the network because the system doesn't recognise my WiFi card. I got it working under RC8, then RC10, then RC12 so I know it can work. In those cases I followed the instructions I found in this forum to add the details from cardctl to the .conf files (cant remember the file names anymore - wlan.conf perhaps) which used to be in the /etc/pcmcia directory (if I remember correctly) but now I can't find the network card setup files anywhere.

I have been advised that I can used pccardctl and I have found that it works for 121 (thanks luigi600) But, where do I put this information for the system to recognise my card?

After that, will the GUI configuration program work or will I have to set the card up manually?
What wifi card are you trying to get working?  What chipset?

j
newkirk @ myzaur.us
pdaxrom @ newkirk.us
SL-5600, SL-C860
Socket & Ambicom WiFis
Billionton bluetooth
Lexar 256mb CF & SD

phillvs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Wifi Cards And Net Connection Help Help !
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2006, 10:03:20 pm »
Quote
Try it:
http://mail.pdaxrom.org/node/121
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=147203\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


I did see this link but I am afraid I couldn't quite understand it. For example, it seems to suggest that there are two scripts, one called

eth0.up

and one called

wlan0.up

But I wonder if the eth0.up and the wlan0.up are the file names that the scripts are in, but it doesn't really say that, so I am not sure if that is what it means. If it does mean that, then I can create the files easily enough but I have no idea where to put them. Should I put them in /etc/pcmcia , or where ?

Also, can the scripts be made to auto run on boot? If so how?

Also, can the I get the script to scan for the channel rather than define it (NN) as my router varies the channel sometimes.

Very many thanks for everyones help.

Phill
Phill

Using:
C860 with pdaXrom
5600 with theKompany Rom

phillvs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Wifi Cards And Net Connection Help Help !
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2006, 10:11:38 pm »
Quote
Quote
Dear All,

I haven't used my C860 for many months and thought I would try to get it working again tonight. I had thought that I had bricked it as it no longer boots to the Japanese menu when I press OK on power up. Non of the boot keys work (D+M on power up etc)  and I cant decide why. I have installed the u-boot system for beta3 and it was at that time that I gave up on the thing earlier this year.

[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=147199\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Try removing battery and power, then holding down FN+D+M while plugging in cord  
Oh !!!!!!   'FN+D+M' !!!

I've been trying just 'D+M' on power up as that is the only info I can find on this forum or the pdaXrom site.

I will try this straight away and let you know if it doesn't work.

Very many thanks for your help.

Phill
Phill

Using:
C860 with pdaXrom
5600 with theKompany Rom

phillvs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Wifi Cards And Net Connection Help Help !
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2006, 06:56:40 am »
Quote
What wifi card are you trying to get working?  What chipset?

j
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=147220\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

The card is an Origo Wireless compact flash. I dont know the exact chipset at the moment but it is also known under many other names and I seem to remember that the standard prism drivers worked.

I can give you the output from the pccardctl:

product info: "WLAN", "11Mbps_PC-CARD_3.0", "ISL37100P", "Eval-RevA"
manfid: 0x000b, 0x7100
function: 6 (network)

..... as you can see, pretty standard card really.

Actually, I do have another card which is faster but previous notes on this forum ( months ago) sugesteded that that chipset wasn't supported so I have not pursued that, unless someone has now got that running!! (Linksys WCF54G)

many thanks for all your help ...

Phill
Phill

Using:
C860 with pdaXrom
5600 with theKompany Rom

InSearchOf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1144
    • View Profile
    • http://
Wifi Cards And Net Connection Help Help !
« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2006, 06:44:22 pm »
Do you get any lights on your card? if you are getting lights we are one step ahead of the game... if no lights... then we will know where to start diagnosing the issue... Also what do you get from dmesg...
Pull the card... then re-seat... then run the command dmesg... let me know what it says... it will be a series of lines... 8-10 give or take a few...

Late
Sharp Zaurus SL-C3100 and SL-6000L
pdaXrom Developer
Please visit pdaXrom.org for updates
My Blog
IRC #pdaxrom @ FreeNode

phillvs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Wifi Cards And Net Connection Help Help !
« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2006, 06:08:15 am »
Quote
Do you get any lights on your card? if you are getting lights we are one step ahead of the game... if no lights... then we will know where to start diagnosing the issue... Also what do you get from dmesg...
Pull the card... then re-seat... then run the command dmesg... let me know what it says... it will be a series of lines... 8-10 give or take a few...

Late
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=147296\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Many thanks for your reply.

On re-seating I get one blink of the LED on the card. Otherwise nothing. I ran dmesg and got a lot more than 10 lines or so. I have listed the out put here. Sorry its so long, but if anyone sees anything strange please let me know.

As I see it, the last few lines are the most pertinent to the network.

Here goes .........

Linux version 2.6.16 (sash@pdaX86) (gcc version 3.4.6) #1 PREEMPT Fri Sep 15 17:38:39 UTC 2006
CPU: XScale-PXA255 [69052d06] revision 6 (ARMv5TE)
Machine: SHARP Husky
Ignoring unrecognised tag 0x00000000
Ignoring unrecognised tag 0x00000000
Ignoring unrecognised tag 0x00000000
Ignoring unrecognised tag 0x00000000
Memory policy: ECC disabled, Data cache writeback
On node 0 totalpages: 16384
  DMA zone: 16384 pages, LIFO batch:3
  DMA32 zone: 0 pages, LIFO batch:0
  Normal zone: 0 pages, LIFO batch:0
  HighMem zone: 0 pages, LIFO batch:0
Memory clock: 99.53MHz (*27)
Run Mode clock: 199.07MHz (*2)
Turbo Mode clock: 398.13MHz (*2.0, active)
CPU0: D VIVT undefined 5 cache
CPU0: I cache: 32768 bytes, associativity 32, 32 byte lines, 32 sets
CPU0: D cache: 32768 bytes, associativity 32, 32 byte lines, 32 sets
Built 1 zonelists
Kernel command line: console=ttyS0,115200 console=tty1 root=/dev/mtdblock2 rootfstype=jffs2
PID hash table entries: 512 (order: 9, 8192 bytes)
Console: colour dummy device 80x30
Dentry cache hash table entries: 16384 (order: 4, 65536 bytes)
Inode-cache hash table entries: 8192 (order: 3, 32768 bytes)
Memory: 64MB = 64MB total
Memory: 62220KB available (2108K code, 401K data, 76K init)
Calibrating delay loop... 397.31 BogoMIPS (lpj=1986560)
Mount-cache hash table entries: 512
CPU: Testing write buffer coherency: ok
NET: Registered protocol family 16
Sharp Scoop Device found at 0x10800000 -> 0xc4800000
pxa25x: CPU frequency change support initialized (powersave tables)
NetWinder Floating Point Emulator V0.97 (double precision)
JFFS2 version 2.2. (NAND) (SUMMARY)  © 2001-2003 Red Hat, Inc.
Initializing Cryptographic API
io scheduler noop registered
io scheduler anticipatory registered (default)
Corgi Backlight Driver Initialized.
Found w100 at 0x08000000.
Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 80x30
fb0: w100fb frame buffer device
pxa2xx-uart.0: ttyS0 at MMIO 0x40100000 (irq = 15) is a FFUART
pxa2xx-uart.1: ttyS1 at MMIO 0x40200000 (irq = 14) is a BTUART
pxa2xx-uart.2: ttyS2 at MMIO 0x40700000 (irq = 13) is a STUART
pxa2xx-uart.3: ttyS3 at MMIO 0x41600000 (irq = 0) is a HWUART
loop: loaded (max 8 devices)
Uniform Multi-Platform E-IDE driver Revision: 7.00alpha2
ide: Assuming 50MHz system bus speed for PIO modes; override with idebus=xx
Sharp SL series flash device: 800000 at 0
Using static partision definition
Creating 1 MTD partitions on "sharpsl-flash":
0x00120000-0x007f0000 : "Boot PROM Filesystem"
pccard: PCMCIA card inserted into slot 0
pcmcia: registering new device pcmcia0.0
NAND device: Manufacturer ID: 0xec, Chip ID: 0x79 (Samsung NAND 128MiB 3,3V 8-bit)
Scanning device for bad blocks
Bad eraseblock 32 at 0x00080000
Creating 2 MTD partitions on "sharpsl-nand":
0x00000000-0x00700000 : "Logical"
0x00700000-0x08000000 : "JFFS2"
input: Corgi Keyboard as /class/input/input0
input: Corgi Touchscreen as /class/input/input1
sa1100-rtc sa1100-rtc: rtc intf: sysfs
sa1100-rtc sa1100-rtc: rtc intf: proc
sa1100-rtc sa1100-rtc: rtc intf: dev (253:0)
sa1100-rtc sa1100-rtc: rtc core: registered sa1100-rtc as rtc0
sa1100-rtc sa1100-rtc: SA11xx/PXA2xx RTC Registered
I2C: i2c-0: PXA I2C adapter
Registered led device: corgi:amber
Registered led device: corgi:green
NET: Registered protocol family 2
IP route cache hash table entries: 1024 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
TCP established hash table entries: 4096 (order: 2, 16384 bytes)
TCP bind hash table entries: 4096 (order: 2, 16384 bytes)
TCP: Hash tables configured (established 4096 bind 4096)
TCP reno registered
TCP bic registered
NET: Registered protocol family 1
NET: Registered protocol family 17
sa1100-rtc sa1100-rtc: setting the system clock to 1970-01-01 00:00:09 (9)
mmcblk0: mmc0:a95c SD512 495488KiB
 mmcblk0: p1
VFS: Mounted root (jffs2 filesystem).
Freeing init memory: 76K
FAT: utf8 is not a recommended IO charset for FAT filesystems, filesystem will be case sensitive!
NET: Registered protocol family 23
ASoC version 0.10rc4
wm8731: WM8731 Audio Codec 0.7
soc: WM8731 <-> pxa2xx-i2s mapping ok
w100fb: Using fast system clock (if possible)
NET: Registered protocol family 10
IPv6 over IPv4 tunneling driver
usbcore: registered new driver usbfs
usbcore: registered new driver hub
usbcore: deregistering driver usbfs
usbcore: deregistering driver hub
JFFS2 notice: (541) check_node_data: wrong data CRC in data node at 0x046a6400: read 0x70dce37c, calculated 0x835a4ff7.
mice: PS/2 mouse device common for all mice
soc: WM8731 <-> pxa2xx-i2s info:
soc: rate mask 0x6fe
soc: min ch 2 max ch 2
soc: min rate 8000 max rate 96000
soc: WM8731 <-> pxa2xx-i2s info:
soc: rate mask 0x6fe
soc: min ch 2 max ch 2
soc: min rate 8000 max rate 96000
Stopping tasks: =====================|
Restarting tasks... done
pccard: card ejected from slot 0
pccard: PCMCIA card inserted into slot 0
pcmcia: registering new device pcmcia0.0
ieee80211_crypt: registered algorithm 'NULL'
hostap_cs: 0.4.4-kernel (Jouni Malinen <jkmaline@cc.hut.fi>)
hostap_cs: setting Vcc=33 (constant)
hostap_cs: setting Vcc=33 (from config)
Checking CFTABLE_ENTRY 0x01 (default 0x01)
IO window settings: cfg->io.nwin=1 dflt.io.nwin=1
io->flags = 0x0046, io.base=0x0000, len=64
hostap_cs: Registered netdevice wifi0
hostap_cs: index 0x01: Vcc 3.3, irq 40, io 0xc4820000-0xc482003f
prism2_hw_init: initialized in 370 ms
wifi0: NIC: id=0x801b v1.0.0
wifi0: PRI: id=0x15 v1.1.1
wifi0: STA: id=0x1f v1.8.0
wifi0: registered netdevice wlan0
orinoco 0.15rc3 (David Gibson <hermes@gibson.dropbear.id.au>, Pavel Roskin <proski@gnu.org>, et al)
orinoco_cs 0.15rc3 (David Gibson <hermes@gibson.dropbear.id.au>, Pavel Roskin <proski@gnu.org>, et al)


...... as I see it the following lines are the important ones, or am I wrong?
 
hostap_cs: Registered netdevice wifi0 - so it has found my device then has it?
prism2_hw_init: initialised - So I assume the prism 2 drivers are running
orinoco 0.15rc3 - now that is the name of my card, so my card must have been recognised, yes?

Many thanks again for your help

Phill
Phill

Using:
C860 with pdaXrom
5600 with theKompany Rom

miskinis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
    • View Profile
    • http://
Wifi Cards And Net Connection Help Help !
« Reply #8 on: November 27, 2006, 07:08:19 am »
What does the command "iwconfig" show?

If the wlan0 device is shown try a few commands to see if you can talk to the card:

# iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
# iwconfig wlan0 essid YOUR_ESSID_OF_ACCESS_POINT

(if you use WEP and say your key was 1234567890)

# iwconfig wlan0 enc 1234567890

If these commands are accepted, and you use DHCP, try:

# dhcpcd wlan0 &

At that point, after about 10 seconds or so, you just may be connected, so try:

# ifconfig

And, see if you have a network device and address assigned.  If you do, you are connected,
so it just a matter of automating this in the proper config files.  Lately I have been using
beta1 on SL-5500/SL-6000 so I can't help you there...
_John Miskinis_

phillvs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Wifi Cards And Net Connection Help Help !
« Reply #9 on: November 29, 2006, 03:09:34 am »
Quote
What does the command "iwconfig" show?

If the wlan0 device is shown try a few commands to see if you can talk to the card:

# iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
# iwconfig wlan0 essid YOUR_ESSID_OF_ACCESS_POINT

(if you use WEP and say your key was 1234567890)

# iwconfig wlan0 enc 1234567890

If these commands are accepted, and you use DHCP, try:

# dhcpcd wlan0 &

At that point, after about 10 seconds or so, you just may be connected, so try:

# ifconfig

And, see if you have a network device and address assigned.  If you do, you are connected,
so it just a matter of automating this in the proper config files.  Lately I have been using
beta1 on SL-5500/SL-6000 so I can't help you there...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=147329\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Thanks for your suggestions. I tried the iwconfig commands as you listed and got error messages. I have listed the output from the plain command below:

wifi0     IEEE 802.11b  ESSID:"test"  
          Mode:Master  Access Point: 00:00:00:00:00:00  Bit Rate:11Mb/s  
          Sensitivity=1/3  
          Retry min limit:8   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
         
wlan0     IEEE 802.11b  ESSID:"test"  
          Mode:Master  Access Point: 00:00:00:00:00:00  Bit Rate:11Mb/s  
          Sensitivity=1/3  
          Retry min limit:8   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0

These seem to me to be the default values only and dont seem to relate to my card or network.

Thanks again for everyone's help

Phill
Phill

Using:
C860 with pdaXrom
5600 with theKompany Rom

ntrolls

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Wifi Cards And Net Connection Help Help !
« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2006, 06:55:57 pm »
Phill, did you configure your wireless card? I am facing the same problem with rc121. I have a wireless CF card that is :

product info : "IPOne", "AirGate2000C", "Version 01.02", ""
manfid: 0x0713, 0x0002
function: 6

and it used to work perfectly with beta3, once I added the manfid to /etc/pcmcia/hermes.conf - rc121 does not have this configuration file. I guess what you are looking for is the same thing: how to add the card information so that the system recognizes it. Any luck?
SL-C1000/pdaXii13

InSearchOf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1144
    • View Profile
    • http://
Wifi Cards And Net Connection Help Help !
« Reply #11 on: December 29, 2006, 09:05:50 pm »
Quote
Phill, did you configure your wireless card? I am facing the same problem with rc121. I have a wireless CF card that is :

product info : "IPOne", "AirGate2000C", "Version 01.02", ""
manfid: 0x0713, 0x0002
function: 6

and it used to work perfectly with beta3, once I added the manfid to /etc/pcmcia/hermes.conf - rc121 does not have this configuration file. I guess what you are looking for is the same thing: how to add the card information so that the system recognizes it. Any luck?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=149513\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Do the device lights light up when inserted?

Late
Sharp Zaurus SL-C3100 and SL-6000L
pdaXrom Developer
Please visit pdaXrom.org for updates
My Blog
IRC #pdaxrom @ FreeNode

ntrolls

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Wifi Cards And Net Connection Help Help !
« Reply #12 on: December 30, 2006, 03:30:25 am »
Quote
Do the device lights light up when inserted?

Late
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=149522\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Yes it does. And pccardctl recognizes the card correctly. However iwconfig does now show wlan0 that the card used to be. Also, dmesg shows:

pccard: PCMCIA card inserted into slot 0
pcmcia: registering new device pcmcia0.0

and that's it. No hostap_cs related message. What is wrong here?
SL-C1000/pdaXii13

louigi600

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 471
    • View Profile
Wifi Cards And Net Connection Help Help !
« Reply #13 on: December 30, 2006, 07:11:35 am »
Some cards fail to take iwconfig commands till the device is up ....
so first do

ifconfig wlan0 up

or whatever the device name is

and then do the iwconfig stuff

I haveto do this to set correctly the essid on my linksys.
Regards
David

SL-c760*  pdaXrom latest
SL-c860    pdaXrom latest ;-)
SL-c1000  pdaXrom Latest
Acer Aspire One running slackware and Clash
Toshiba AC100 running ARMedslack and Clash

*with some hardware problems but good for testing

ntrolls

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Wifi Cards And Net Connection Help Help !
« Reply #14 on: December 30, 2006, 11:35:09 am »
Quote
Some cards fail to take iwconfig commands till the device is up ....
so first do

ifconfig wlan0 up

or whatever the device name is
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=149553\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

The thing is, the card is not associated with any device name. Both wlan0 and wifi0 does not work; I don't think the system recognizes the card as a valid network card. When I was using beta3, I had to add the manfid information to hermes.conf - which is missing in rc121. I think it will work once the system recognizes the card.

So there is no way to add card information manually in rc121?
SL-C1000/pdaXii13