Author Topic: Overclocking / Underclocking...  (Read 36032 times)

maslovsky

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1426
    • View Profile
    • http://my-zaurus.narod.ru
Overclocking / Underclocking...
« Reply #30 on: June 10, 2004, 09:56:08 am »
Quote
One question I have is, what exactly is the difference between \"Default (PXA255)\" and \"Normal.\" ? I mean, I see the difference in \"numbers,\" but practically what happens?


\"Normal\" is what goes between default speed for PXA250 processor (in C700) and PXA255 (in other models). I could not come up with a better name for this option

Quote
Is \"Normal\" overclocking or is it not? If so, when? When does \"turbo mode\" kick in?


Normal can be considered slight overclocking for C700 and downclocking for other Zs

Quote
Would this mode be considered \"safer\" (again, I know this is opinion) than \"Overclocked\" and if so, why? (Again, what is different about it makeing it safer or not any safer than the other.)


Here is my opinion - you won\'t damage your zaurus if you use any of the overclocking options. If your Zaurus can\'t handle it - it\'ll just hang. So next tme - don;t use that option. That\'s all.  Personaly I always keep my C750 Z overclocked.

kaos42_ze

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • http://kaos.a-spec.ca
Overclocking / Underclocking...
« Reply #31 on: November 22, 2004, 04:05:31 pm »
Is there an overclockign app i can use with TKCROM ?

xatax

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Overclocking / Underclocking...
« Reply #32 on: December 10, 2004, 11:46:40 pm »
Quote
Quote
Is "Normal" overclocking or is it not? If so, when? When does "turbo mode" kick in?

Normal can be considered slight overclocking for C700 and downclocking for other Zs
I still don't understand the numbers here.

When does "turbo-mode" kicks in?

Normal has a lower "normal" speed but in "turbo-mode" it's overclocked. Why there's no turbo mode in default speeds?

Thanks in advance.
SL-C750 running Cacko 1.22

xatax

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Overclocking / Underclocking...
« Reply #33 on: December 12, 2004, 09:22:36 pm »
YOOHOO!! Nobody? Common... I can't believe no one is interested in the health of your Z!!
SL-C750 running Cacko 1.22

pelrun

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 366
    • View Profile
    • http://
Overclocking / Underclocking...
« Reply #34 on: December 12, 2004, 10:57:56 pm »
I don't know how much clearer you need it explained - the C700 has a lower clock speed than the C750/C860.

If you own a C700, then Default(PXA250) is normal, and everything above that is overclocked.

If you own a C750/C860, the Default(PXA255) is normal, and only "Overclocked" is faster. All the other options are slower than normal.

"Normal" is only called that because maslovsky couldn't think of a better term - NOT because it is any sort of default.
SL-C3100 with usb power mod running debian eabi
pdaXii13 still on the NAND for dualbooting
16GB SDHC! (a new one, after I sat on the old one and it went kaput)
D-Link 660 wifi, Socket Bluetooth rev H
External 9800mAh LiIon battery and slimline dvd drive
Homebrew microphone and remote

Bundabrg

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Overclocking / Underclocking...
« Reply #35 on: December 13, 2004, 01:11:08 am »
No I think I understand what he's asking.

What is the difference between 'turbo mode' and 'normal mode' (The COLUMN names versus the ROW names).

I've actually wondered this too..

 - Bundabrg
[img]http://www.worldguard.com.au/brendan-ambi.png\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]

pelrun

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 366
    • View Profile
    • http://
Overclocking / Underclocking...
« Reply #36 on: December 13, 2004, 01:22:46 am »
That would explain my confusion - my o/c applet doesn't have columns, just the basic 5 settings.

Maybe turbo mode is to do with the cache bug fix? I have an 860 so I don't have this as an issue.
SL-C3100 with usb power mod running debian eabi
pdaXii13 still on the NAND for dualbooting
16GB SDHC! (a new one, after I sat on the old one and it went kaput)
D-Link 660 wifi, Socket Bluetooth rev H
External 9800mAh LiIon battery and slimline dvd drive
Homebrew microphone and remote

bam

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1213
    • View Profile
    • http://thegrinder.ws
Overclocking / Underclocking...
« Reply #37 on: October 28, 2005, 05:06:31 am »
anyone know the stock settings and overclock settings for the 3100? I ahve found BatteryPlus(to run with cacko/tetsu) The "suggested" setting I believe are way to high. 1.6volts is too much. and my VCORE reports 0x019, not even on the BatteryPlus site details(what I can make of them. I just need a slight boost when using kino2 (some fast action is a little jumpy), perhaps I should re-encode at a smaller fps?
SL-C3100 current: Stock/Tetsu 18h
Socket BT CF Card
Linksys WCF-12 802.11b/Cheapie USB Ethernet

The Grinder

Hrw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1366
    • View Profile
Overclocking / Underclocking...
« Reply #38 on: October 28, 2005, 05:55:38 am »
2.6 development kernels in OZ have cpufreq enabled which can give automatically underclocking if machine does not need full speed.
OpenZaurus 3.5.4x Release Manager
OpenEmbedded, Ångström, Poky developer
My website

Misc embedded hardware.

bam

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1213
    • View Profile
    • http://thegrinder.ws
Overclocking / Underclocking...
« Reply #39 on: October 30, 2005, 11:36:35 am »
Quote
YOOHOO!! Nobody? Common... I can't believe no one is interested in the health of your Z!!
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=56944\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


put my z on steriods and crystal meth, now its running at 100mph, work you slave, work!
SL-C3100 current: Stock/Tetsu 18h
Socket BT CF Card
Linksys WCF-12 802.11b/Cheapie USB Ethernet

The Grinder