Author Topic: Pdaxii13  (Read 1435 times)

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxii13
« on: March 20, 2007, 11:34:03 pm »
But....  how do I tweak the gui package manager to install ipks to /mnt/ide..or /media/fakeroot/usr... (or generally in the system stuff on the hd) in such a way as to be able to use them?

I haven't used the fakeroot thing before, and suspect that if I tinker around too freely I'll end up reflashing and right back in the same place

installs to / go to /media/fakeroot/usr, and are not recognzed as having been installed, nor do they run.

I could whip up some linking of my own, but I suspect there must be a sane method I'm missing here, given how well the rest of it works.  I'm disinclined to install to sd, as the point of using the microdrive was to keep my slots free.

The /etc/ipkg.conf /mnt/ide destination won't show in the drop menu in the gui package manager (even if it is placed 1st --default-- in the list)

z3100
5.3.3 tarball (full)
5.2 zgccsquashfs (the newer one seemed to be corrupt and wouldn't mount)
hd partitioned /mnt/ide (hda1, ext3) swap (hda2) /data (hda3, fat32)

I'm sure this will be a D'oh! moment, but in the meantime, I'm kinda stuck if I want to use the gui.
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

Fromwithin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
    • http://fromwithin.com/
Pdaxii13
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2007, 09:20:34 am »
Quote
But....  how do I tweak the gui package manager to install ipks to /mnt/ide..or /media/fakeroot/usr... (or generally in the system stuff on the hd) in such a way as to be able to use them?

Did you manage to sort this problem out? I'm having the same one now, except that in Package Manager, my / says it only has about 1.5MB free, and if I try to install to it, it runs out of space. And yet there sits the hard drive with hdc1 having 1.6GB free and hdc3 having 1.3GB free.

markbedish

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxii13
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2007, 07:34:28 am »
Just add this line to /etc/ipkg.conf and it will then show up in package manager with all that space.


Code: [Select]
dest fakeroot /media/fakeroot
3200 from conics.net (switched from sharp to pdaxii13)

Fromwithin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
    • http://fromwithin.com/
Pdaxii13
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2007, 08:59:13 am »
Quote
Just add this line to /etc/ipkg.conf and it will then show up in package manager with all that space.


Code: [Select]
dest fakeroot /media/fakeroot[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=159747\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Thanks. I did a similar thing. I deleted all of the "dest" entries and change the root to "dest / /media/fakeroot".

Cheers.

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxii13
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2007, 07:56:22 pm »
I had just changed dest / to /media/fakeroot
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf