Author Topic: Porting Pdaxii13 To C7x0?  (Read 3297 times)

kellyharding

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
    • http://www.geekgothgrrl.co.uk
Porting Pdaxii13 To C7x0?
« on: March 30, 2007, 11:34:17 am »
Seems to look the best of the pdaXrom flavours I've seen. What'd be needed to port it over? there was a beta3 for the c7x0 iirc.

Anyone wanna help give it a try?

Kelly
SL-C860: cacko 1.23(currently pdaxii3 to test)
1Gb SD, 2Gb CF, various 512Mb SD and CF cards, Socket LP wifi, Socket Rev F Bluetooth. 2Gb SD and 4Gb CF on order.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
PC: Athlon64 3000+ with XP/SimplyMepis
Mac: G4 Quicksilver 733 with OS X.4.9
Laptop: iBook G4 (2005) 1.42Ghz, OS X 4.9
Server: Dual PIII/500 with Debian 'etch'

HoloVector

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 533
    • View Profile
    • http://
Porting Pdaxii13 To C7x0?
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2007, 11:47:52 am »
I believe that Meanie has put out an alpha version for the 7x0.  It is referred to as pdaXii13 (Charlie).  The Alice build is for the 3000.  The Sally build is for the 1000, 3100 and 3200.  I can't seem to find it on Tyrannozaurus though so, maybe he is only giving it to his testers.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2007, 11:48:22 am by HoloVector »
I think I'm coming down with what kahm's got!  I now have 3 Zaurii in house!  ;)
Current: Zaurus SL-C3200 -  Bobby (Configuring pdaXii13 Akita with Full 5.4.9 upgrade running IceWM)
Zaurus SL-C1000 - Hachiko (Configuring Cacko 1.23 with evilJazz's new kernel)
Zaurus SL-C860 - Fett (Customized Cacko 1.23 with handmade Boba Fett Theme)
Symbol WiFi CF card|Buffalo WiFi CF Card|Buffalo Ethernet CF Card|Red Piel Frama Case|PDAir Case|Black Pelican 1020 Case|Pentopia Stylii|SaruTek Protectors|Transcend SDs (4GB 150X, 1GB 80X, 256MB 45X, 128MB 45X)|2GB PNY SD|2GB SanDisk SD|Transcend CFs (1GB 80X, 512MB 80X)|Sandisk CFs (4GB, 512MB, 256MB)|256MB Netac USB-CF|RH-1 Remote
Check out the ScummVM@tyrannozaurus page if you are an "adventurer" type of person.

kellyharding

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
    • http://www.geekgothgrrl.co.uk
Porting Pdaxii13 To C7x0?
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2007, 12:38:04 pm »
Quote
I believe that Meanie has put out an alpha version for the 7x0.  It is referred to as pdaXii13 (Charlie).  The Alice build is for the 3000.  The Sally build is for the 1000, 3100 and 3200.  I can't seem to find it on Tyrannozaurus though so, maybe he is only giving it to his testers.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=157596\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

That'd be excellent. Having a C860 I'd be willing to test it

Kelly
SL-C860: cacko 1.23(currently pdaxii3 to test)
1Gb SD, 2Gb CF, various 512Mb SD and CF cards, Socket LP wifi, Socket Rev F Bluetooth. 2Gb SD and 4Gb CF on order.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
PC: Athlon64 3000+ with XP/SimplyMepis
Mac: G4 Quicksilver 733 with OS X.4.9
Laptop: iBook G4 (2005) 1.42Ghz, OS X 4.9
Server: Dual PIII/500 with Debian 'etch'

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
Porting Pdaxii13 To C7x0?
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2007, 12:54:39 pm »
There is an install path for the C7x0's (I know, I tried). It's actually an upgrade from one of the earlier beta's (i.e. install the beta then install the 'patch' file), so there's no actual flashable ROM image for it.

I don't know the subject topic off the top of my head, should be searchable, though. HTH
GROG!

HoloVector

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 533
    • View Profile
    • http://
Porting Pdaxii13 To C7x0?
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2007, 02:57:57 pm »
Quote
There is an install path for the C7x0's (I know, I tried). It's actually an upgrade from one of the earlier beta's (i.e. install the beta then install the 'patch' file), so there's no actual flashable ROM image for it.

I don't know the subject topic off the top of my head, should be searchable, though. HTH
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=157604\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Thanks for clearing that up, grog.  
I think I'm coming down with what kahm's got!  I now have 3 Zaurii in house!  ;)
Current: Zaurus SL-C3200 -  Bobby (Configuring pdaXii13 Akita with Full 5.4.9 upgrade running IceWM)
Zaurus SL-C1000 - Hachiko (Configuring Cacko 1.23 with evilJazz's new kernel)
Zaurus SL-C860 - Fett (Customized Cacko 1.23 with handmade Boba Fett Theme)
Symbol WiFi CF card|Buffalo WiFi CF Card|Buffalo Ethernet CF Card|Red Piel Frama Case|PDAir Case|Black Pelican 1020 Case|Pentopia Stylii|SaruTek Protectors|Transcend SDs (4GB 150X, 1GB 80X, 256MB 45X, 128MB 45X)|2GB PNY SD|2GB SanDisk SD|Transcend CFs (1GB 80X, 512MB 80X)|Sandisk CFs (4GB, 512MB, 256MB)|256MB Netac USB-CF|RH-1 Remote
Check out the ScummVM@tyrannozaurus page if you are an "adventurer" type of person.

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
Porting Pdaxii13 To C7x0?
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2007, 04:14:31 pm »
Quote
Thanks for clearing that up, grog.   [div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
No prob. And here the link to boot: [a href=\"https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=23350&hl=]Upgrading Beta1/beta3 To Pdaxii13, on all clamshell models[/url]
GROG!

kellyharding

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
    • http://www.geekgothgrrl.co.uk
Porting Pdaxii13 To C7x0?
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2007, 04:25:27 pm »
Quote
No prob. And here the link to boot: Upgrading Beta1/beta3 To Pdaxii13, on all clamshell models
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=157615\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Thanks for that. Was searching for it myself, saved me the time

Kelly
SL-C860: cacko 1.23(currently pdaxii3 to test)
1Gb SD, 2Gb CF, various 512Mb SD and CF cards, Socket LP wifi, Socket Rev F Bluetooth. 2Gb SD and 4Gb CF on order.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
PC: Athlon64 3000+ with XP/SimplyMepis
Mac: G4 Quicksilver 733 with OS X.4.9
Laptop: iBook G4 (2005) 1.42Ghz, OS X 4.9
Server: Dual PIII/500 with Debian 'etch'

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
Porting Pdaxii13 To C7x0?
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2007, 09:48:48 pm »
Quote
Quote
No prob. And here the link to boot:Upgrading Beta1/beta3 To Pdaxii13, on all clamshell models[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Thanks for that. Was searching for it myself, saved me the time [div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=157616\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
You're welcome. I'm not much help beyond that. After a brief visit with pdaxii13 I went back to r121. I find r121 a lot faster. There's still bugs, but there's supposed to be a new release any time now (see [a href=\"https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=23524&hl=] Desperate For An Update, crippled for months!![/url]).

havefun
GROG!

kellyharding

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
    • http://www.geekgothgrrl.co.uk
Porting Pdaxii13 To C7x0?
« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2007, 03:21:58 pm »
Quote
You're welcome. I'm not much help beyond that. After a brief visit with pdaxii13 I went back to r121. I find r121 a lot faster. There's still bugs, but there's supposed to be a new release any time now (see Desperate For An Update, crippled for months!!).

havefun
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=157629\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I could never get r121 to work on my C860. pdaxii13 seems to work ok, but there seem a few issues (for isntance won't exit X to a cli, just crashes).
I'd stick with cacko but fancied trying other things. OZ has always been a bit iffy to my liking.

i did have pdaxrom beta4 working at one point, but it wouldn't work with my CF wifi card :/

I may give r121s replacement a try when it is released if it proves reliable enough I may stick with that and keep an eye and see how Angstrom comes along.

Kelly
SL-C860: cacko 1.23(currently pdaxii3 to test)
1Gb SD, 2Gb CF, various 512Mb SD and CF cards, Socket LP wifi, Socket Rev F Bluetooth. 2Gb SD and 4Gb CF on order.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
PC: Athlon64 3000+ with XP/SimplyMepis
Mac: G4 Quicksilver 733 with OS X.4.9
Laptop: iBook G4 (2005) 1.42Ghz, OS X 4.9
Server: Dual PIII/500 with Debian 'etch'

tovarish

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
    • View Profile
Porting Pdaxii13 To C7x0?
« Reply #9 on: April 01, 2007, 04:48:55 am »
i presently use beta1 with my customisations quite well in my c860. presently i havent rebooted for more than 3 weeks.

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Porting Pdaxii13 To C7x0?
« Reply #10 on: April 03, 2007, 06:46:18 pm »
Quote
There is an install path for the C7x0's (I know, I tried). It's actually an upgrade from one of the earlier beta's (i.e. install the beta then install the 'patch' file), so there's no actual flashable ROM image for it.

I don't know the subject topic off the top of my head, should be searchable, though. HTH
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=157604\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


if you successfully upgrade, you will be able to run zbackup which can genera5e an initrd.bin that can be used by others to flash.
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
Porting Pdaxii13 To C7x0?
« Reply #11 on: April 04, 2007, 10:51:27 am »
Quote
Quote
There is an install path for the C7x0's (I know, I tried). It's actually an upgrade from one of the earlier beta's (i.e. install the beta then install the 'patch' file), so there's no actual flashable ROM image for it.

I don't know the subject topic off the top of my head, should be searchable, though. HTH[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=157604\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
if you successfully upgrade, you will be able to run zbackup which can genera5e an initrd.bin that can be used by others to flash.[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=15789\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
I'd be willing to do it, but I'd hate to lose my current r121 setup & I haven't come up with a way to reliably back it up. I don't suppose zbackup works for the r+ releases?
GROG!

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Porting Pdaxii13 To C7x0?
« Reply #12 on: April 05, 2007, 03:09:57 am »
Quote
Quote
Quote
There is an install path for the C7x0's (I know, I tried). It's actually an upgrade from one of the earlier beta's (i.e. install the beta then install the 'patch' file), so there's no actual flashable ROM image for it.

I don't know the subject topic off the top of my head, should be searchable, though. HTH[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=157604\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
if you successfully upgrade, you will be able to run zbackup which can genera5e an initrd.bin that can be used by others to flash.[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=15789\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
I'd be willing to do it, but I'd hate to lose my current r121 setup & I haven't come up with a way to reliably back it up. I don't suppose zbackup works for the r+ releases?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=157963\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

well, that's an intriguing thought.

does the c8x0 in r121 get flashed with a initrd.bin file or a similar file with a different name?

if yes, what does the following show:

head -c 10 initrd.bin

if it shows

SHARP!1.11

then it probably is possible to use zbackup to generate a flashable backup.. but of course all this is theory until someone actually tests it since I can't do it without one of those
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
Porting Pdaxii13 To C7x0?
« Reply #13 on: April 05, 2007, 11:27:00 am »
Quote
does the c8x0 in r121 get flashed with a initrd.bin file or a similar file with a different name?

if yes, what does the following show:

head -c 10 initrd.bin

if it shows

SHARP!1.11

then it probably is possible to use zbackup to generate a flashable backup.. but of course all this is theory until someone actually tests it since I can't do it without one of those [div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=158019\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Nope, no dice. Besides the separate bootloader required (which I wouldn't expect to be backed up anyway), the install files are in two separate pieces, a kernel.img & a rootfs.img. oh well.

What I'm trying to do is create a tarball of my rootfs & use that to restore. As far as I can tell it's failing because tar is dereferencing symlinks & thus create an image that's too big, but I'm not sure yet.

Another idea I've thought of is using rsync to sync the rootfs & a backup directory on a card. That way even files that had been removed from the base image (say, uninstalling a package) would be accounted for. Haven't had time to do any testing with that yet. The only 'issue' I can think of would be that I don't think rsync is included in the base image (it's been a while, so I'm not sure), so that would require installing it before restoring the backup.
GROG!