Author Topic: Making Angstrom Work On Tosa  (Read 40909 times)

xjqian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
    • View Profile
    • http://
Making Angstrom Work On Tosa
« Reply #15 on: October 20, 2007, 04:00:13 pm »
Quote from: adf
No, but I'd love to hear how it works.  Is Angstrom anywhere near approaching stable?

Nowhere near stable. No major issue (suspend/resume bug, corrupted screen etc) was resolved in the recent months. Tosa also becomes unsupported in Angstrom. I've also heard people in the mailing list complain about unusable altboot and corrupted keymap in the recent images. I don't have any time to test though.
My Blog | 6000L Tosa + sled | is: Angstrom | was: pdaXrom 1.1.0beta1 | was: stock 1.12 rom + no-ffpe fash kernel + X/Qt Debian |
CF GPS (FGPCFCD01) | USB "Prolific 2303" GPS (USB-UG-200) | Socket CF BT rev. H |  USB "Pegasus II" Ethernet (ADM8511) | PocketTop IR kbd | sip:527630@fwd.pulver.com
Todo: OESF wiki | stable VOIP app | usable GPS app |      Wishlist: VOIP + Bluetooth | GPS + Routing Calc

undrwater

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
    • View Profile
    • http://
Making Angstrom Work On Tosa
« Reply #16 on: October 22, 2007, 02:46:42 pm »
Quote from: xjqian
Tosa also becomes unsupported in Angstrom.

What does this mean? Is it useless to try testing unless one is a dev?

jbruno

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
    • http://
Making Angstrom Work On Tosa
« Reply #17 on: October 22, 2007, 03:21:53 pm »
Quote from: undrwater
Quote from: xjqian
Tosa also becomes unsupported in Angstrom.

What does this mean? Is it useless to try testing unless one is a dev?


It means nobody is working on fixing tosa bugs - I've switched back to openzaurus.   As far as tosa goes, Angstrom is unusable crap and apparently always will be.

BTW- don't get on the angstrom mailing list - the unsubscribe doesn't work and I keep getting spammed with angstrom mail.
-----
SL6000L
ATP 512MB SD

RX Shorty

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
    • http://www.lindoboom.nl
Making Angstrom Work On Tosa
« Reply #18 on: October 22, 2007, 05:29:35 pm »
Hmm a shame the support for the SL-6000 has dropped.
Well then I have to try OpenZaurus also or pdaXrom...
Owning a Zaurus SL-C860, SL-C3200, SL-6000, Netwalker
Got the GPD Win!

koen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
    • http://dominion.thruhere.net/koen/cms/
Making Angstrom Work On Tosa
« Reply #19 on: October 22, 2007, 05:52:12 pm »
/me wishes people would actually read the news on http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/ instead of believing the FUD on this ph0rum
Forums are not bugtrackers!!! Smart questions
Ångström release team
iPAQ h2210, iPAQ h5550, iPAQ hx4700, Zaurus SL-C700, Nokia 770, all running some form of GPE
My blog

RX Shorty

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
    • http://www.lindoboom.nl
Making Angstrom Work On Tosa
« Reply #20 on: October 22, 2007, 05:54:24 pm »
It sais:

Quote
These machines are not supported: tosa (6000), collie (5500), akita (1000).

We will continue to produce images for the unsupported machines but fixes to them are likely to be slow in being worked on without active developer working on them.

It will be done but slow. Ok...
Owning a Zaurus SL-C860, SL-C3200, SL-6000, Netwalker
Got the GPD Win!

jbruno

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
    • http://
Making Angstrom Work On Tosa
« Reply #21 on: October 22, 2007, 06:27:18 pm »
Quote from: koen
/me wishes people would actually read the news on http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/ instead of believing the FUD on this ph0rum

I read the news there, which is why I know tosa isn't being worked on.  It says "no developer is working on them".

The last image I tried was ridden with show-stopping bugs (can't suspend/resume, for example).  going to bugs.openembedded.org and searching for "tosa" shows a screen full of bugs that have been "NEW" for at least a year.
-----
SL6000L
ATP 512MB SD

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Making Angstrom Work On Tosa
« Reply #22 on: October 22, 2007, 11:31:47 pm »
Quote from: RX Shorty
Hmm a shame the support for the SL-6000 has dropped.
Well then I have to try OpenZaurus also or pdaXrom...
OpenZaurus is history. PdaXrom hasn't updated 6000 images in a long time (beta1, I think) though what is there works.
Honestly I'd think about going with a tetsu kernel on sharprom and running pdaXqt.
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

koen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
    • http://dominion.thruhere.net/koen/cms/
Making Angstrom Work On Tosa
« Reply #23 on: October 23, 2007, 03:35:16 am »
Quote from: jbruno
Quote from: koen
/me wishes people would actually read the news on http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/ instead of believing the FUD on this ph0rum

I read the news there, which is why I know tosa isn't being worked on.  It says "no developer is working on them".

The last image I tried was ridden with show-stopping bugs (can't suspend/resume, for example).  going to bugs.openembedded.org and searching for "tosa" shows a screen full of bugs that have been "NEW" for at least a year.

We can assign them all to you if you think "NEW" is so offensive.
Forums are not bugtrackers!!! Smart questions
Ångström release team
iPAQ h2210, iPAQ h5550, iPAQ hx4700, Zaurus SL-C700, Nokia 770, all running some form of GPE
My blog

undrwater

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
    • View Profile
    • http://
Making Angstrom Work On Tosa
« Reply #24 on: October 23, 2007, 12:49:27 pm »
Quote from: koen
/me wishes people would actually read the news on http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/ instead of believing the FUD on this ph0rum

Is there still any value to your team for folks to test the Tosa images and report the bugs?  Or would it be better to wait for a dev to be assigned?
« Last Edit: October 23, 2007, 12:51:24 pm by undrwater »

koen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
    • http://dominion.thruhere.net/koen/cms/
Making Angstrom Work On Tosa
« Reply #25 on: October 23, 2007, 12:50:35 pm »
Quote from: undrwater
Quote from: koen
/me wishes people would actually read the news on http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/ instead of believing the FUD on this ph0rum

Is there any value to your team for folks to test the Tosa images and report the bugs?

That's what we encourage people to do, provided that 'reporting bugs' means putting them in the bugtracker.
Forums are not bugtrackers!!! Smart questions
Ångström release team
iPAQ h2210, iPAQ h5550, iPAQ hx4700, Zaurus SL-C700, Nokia 770, all running some form of GPE
My blog

undrwater

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
    • View Profile
    • http://
Making Angstrom Work On Tosa
« Reply #26 on: October 23, 2007, 01:24:45 pm »
Done.

First bug (reported first at the bugtracker) is the updater.sh.tosa script is not downloadable.

undrwater

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
    • View Profile
    • http://
Making Angstrom Work On Tosa
« Reply #27 on: October 23, 2007, 02:32:02 pm »
OK...files have changed, thus the instructions have changed.  I have updated the tosa install wiki to reflect this.

unplug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Making Angstrom Work On Tosa
« Reply #28 on: January 14, 2008, 12:31:08 pm »
I installed Angstrom on my tosa and it seemed to work fine. However, none of the ipks I downloaded unstable/armv5te/base/ works for me. I used package manager and it just popped up an error message saying:
Quote
An error occured.
Please consult the message log for hints what went wrong.
I have no clue what went wrong and where to check message log.
In the system info -> log display -> System Log, I got:
Quote
Can't find circular buffer, is syslog running?
Can't find circular buffer, is syslog running?
SHARP SL-6000L
Sharp ROM
pdaXrom
1GB SD
2 x 512MB CF
HAiCom HI-303S

Capn_Fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2342
    • View Profile
    • http://
Making Angstrom Work On Tosa
« Reply #29 on: January 14, 2008, 02:32:22 pm »
Is syslog running? You could try starting it manually and try again.
SL-C750- pdaXrom beta 1 (mostly unused)
Current distro: Gentoo