Author Topic: Turn On Problem , Please Help !  (Read 3977 times)

wlaw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Turn On Problem , Please Help !
« on: May 24, 2007, 03:22:15 am »
I am a newbie and I have bought a 2nd handed Zaurus 3100 recently.

The OS is pdaXrom beta 3. It happens sometimes that , no matter how hard I try, Zaurus could not be turned on. I have to remove the battery and reboot it  again in order to make it turn on.

Is it a physical problem or I could solve it by setting something ?

Also, it freezes whenever i alter the setting in "Lan and Wifi". What's wrong ?
I am a newbie on Zaurus C3100. I am a newbie in Linux too ! Please help ! Thank you !
Equipment
Sharp Zaurus running pdaXrom beta 3
1G SD card
Netgear MA701 CF wifi card

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Turn On Problem , Please Help !
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2007, 03:55:05 am »
Quote
I am a newbie and I have bought a 2nd handed Zaurus 3100 recently.

The OS is pdaXrom beta 3. It happens sometimes that , no matter how hard I try, Zaurus could not be turned on. I have to remove the battery and reboot it  again in order to make it turn on.

Is it a physical problem or I could solve it by setting something ?

Also, it freezes whenever i alter the setting in "Lan and Wifi". What's wrong ?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=161916\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Those are old bugs in beta3. Upgrade to pdaXii13...
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

wlaw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Turn On Problem , Please Help !
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2007, 03:58:14 am »
Quote
Quote
I am a newbie and I have bought a 2nd handed Zaurus 3100 recently.

The OS is pdaXrom beta 3. It happens sometimes that , no matter how hard I try, Zaurus could not be turned on. I have to remove the battery and reboot it  again in order to make it turn on.

Is it a physical problem or I could solve it by setting something ?

Also, it freezes whenever i alter the setting in "Lan and Wifi". What's wrong ?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=161916\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Those are old bugs in beta3. Upgrade to pdaXii13...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=161918\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


Oh ! I just change from pdaxii 13 to pdaxrom beta 3 just becasue pdaxii 13 takes more time to boot and  turn on . What' wrong ?
I am a newbie on Zaurus C3100. I am a newbie in Linux too ! Please help ! Thank you !
Equipment
Sharp Zaurus running pdaXrom beta 3
1G SD card
Netgear MA701 CF wifi card

Capn_Fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2342
    • View Profile
    • http://
Turn On Problem , Please Help !
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2007, 08:06:18 am »
Did you have it installed to the microdrive or flash? If it's on the MD, it will be slower, but if it's on flash, it should be about the same.
SL-C750- pdaXrom beta 1 (mostly unused)
Current distro: Gentoo

wlaw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Turn On Problem , Please Help !
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2007, 09:39:21 am »
Quote
Did you have it installed to the microdrive or flash? If it's on the MD, it will be slower, but if it's on flash, it should be about the same.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=161931\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


How can I check if it's on MD or flash ? If it is installed to MD ,  how could i copy it to flash ?
I am a newbie on Zaurus C3100. I am a newbie in Linux too ! Please help ! Thank you !
Equipment
Sharp Zaurus running pdaXrom beta 3
1G SD card
Netgear MA701 CF wifi card

Capn_Fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2342
    • View Profile
    • http://
Turn On Problem , Please Help !
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2007, 05:51:29 pm »
It's something you did when you installed pdaXii13. It can install to either your hard drive or to the flash memory, depending on which version you install (C1000 or C3000). I don't know where to find either version, but post or look around and I'm sure you can find instructions.
SL-C750- pdaXrom beta 1 (mostly unused)
Current distro: Gentoo

T3_slider

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
Turn On Problem , Please Help !
« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2007, 06:23:15 pm »
I would recommend doing a LOT of reading in the pdaXrom forum if you are determined to keep it as your ROM/distribution, especially since you are new to linux. You should aim to read all relevant threads that date at least 2 or 3 pages back -- you'll learn a heck of a lot and you'll be thankful that you did.

Here are a few key threads to get you started (They talk about pdaXii13 etc. -- they are LONG but useful).

https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=22798

https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=22032 (Note that this is for the C3000 -- a lot of it is irrelevant so you don't have to read the whole thing, but the last few pages might help)

Disabling SCIM should help speed up pdaXii13.

For your On/Off problem, you should always suspend the Zaurus by holding the On/Off button for about 0.75 seconds and turn it on by pressing the Home key (NOT the On/Off button). This works reliably for me on beta3.

If you need any further help it would be best to post in the pdaXrom forum.
Conics SL-C3200 running pdaXrom beta3 and XFCE with a Planex WiFi CF card.

Slackware rules!

Drake01

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
    • View Profile
Turn On Problem , Please Help !
« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2007, 09:00:37 pm »
Quote
I am a newbie and I have bought a 2nd handed Zaurus 3100 recently.

The OS is pdaXrom beta 3. It happens sometimes that , no matter how hard I try, Zaurus could not be turned on. I have to remove the battery and reboot it  again in order to make it turn on.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=161916\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Are you sure that the Zaurus isn't turning on?  The lowest screen brightness setting is actually "off," which can make it appear that the Z isn't turning on when, in fact, it is only the backlight that is still off.  If this is the case, Function-4 should kick the brightness up one level and you should be able to read the screen at that point.

Just a shot in the dark, but as you mention that you're a newbie, I thought it might be a valid suggestion.
Device: SL-C3200 running pdaXii13v2 build 5.5.0
Networking: Symbol Spectrum24 WLAN card; Kingston CIO10T CF NIC
Storage: 4GB Transcend 150x SD; 16GB Transcend 133x CF; 4GB Seagate CF HDD; 4GB Patriot SD
HID: Logitech V450 Laser Mouse; generic silicone USB keyboard; 2 generic optical mice; stock plastic stylus
GPS: generic "UT-41" USB GPS Receiver
Case: neoprene case from my old Palm foldable keyboard

wlaw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Turn On Problem , Please Help !
« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2007, 09:04:35 pm »
Quote
Quote
I am a newbie and I have bought a 2nd handed Zaurus 3100 recently.

The OS is pdaXrom beta 3. It happens sometimes that , no matter how hard I try, Zaurus could not be turned on. I have to remove the battery and reboot it  again in order to make it turn on.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=161916\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Are you sure that the Zaurus isn't turning on?  The lowest screen brightness setting is actually "off," which can make it appear that the Z isn't turning on when, in fact, it is only the backlight that is still off.  If this is the case, Function-4 should kick the brightness up one level and you should be able to read the screen at that point.

Just a shot in the dark, but as you mention that you're a newbie, I thought it might be a valid suggestion.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=161978\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
 Thank you for your kind suggestion. I'll try next time it happens.
I am a newbie on Zaurus C3100. I am a newbie in Linux too ! Please help ! Thank you !
Equipment
Sharp Zaurus running pdaXrom beta 3
1G SD card
Netgear MA701 CF wifi card

wlaw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Turn On Problem , Please Help !
« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2007, 09:10:08 pm »
Quote
It's something you did when you installed pdaXii13. It can install to either your hard drive or to the flash memory, depending on which version you install (C1000 or C3000). I don't know where to find either version, but post or look around and I'm sure you can find instructions.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=161960\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


I choose "NAND Flash Utils" when flashing the ROM, does it mean that I install it to flash meomry ?
I am a newbie on Zaurus C3100. I am a newbie in Linux too ! Please help ! Thank you !
Equipment
Sharp Zaurus running pdaXrom beta 3
1G SD card
Netgear MA701 CF wifi card

Capn_Fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2342
    • View Profile
    • http://
Turn On Problem , Please Help !
« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2007, 09:34:41 pm »
Quote
Quote
It's something you did when you installed pdaXii13. It can install to either your hard drive or to the flash memory, depending on which version you install (C1000 or C3000). I don't know where to find either version, but post or look around and I'm sure you can find instructions.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=161960\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


I choose "NAND Flash Utils" when flashing the ROM, does it mean that I install it to flash meomry ?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=161981\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Beta 3 or pdaXii13?
SL-C750- pdaXrom beta 1 (mostly unused)
Current distro: Gentoo

wlaw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Turn On Problem , Please Help !
« Reply #11 on: May 24, 2007, 09:36:04 pm »
Beta 3
I am a newbie on Zaurus C3100. I am a newbie in Linux too ! Please help ! Thank you !
Equipment
Sharp Zaurus running pdaXrom beta 3
1G SD card
Netgear MA701 CF wifi card

T3_slider

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
Turn On Problem , Please Help !
« Reply #12 on: May 24, 2007, 09:41:31 pm »
Beta 3 is always installed in flash (there is no option to install it to the hard drive). With pdaXii13, you can install it to the hard drive depending on what version you get (The akita version, aka Sally, is what you want since you want to install to flash).

If you're content with beta 3 then you don't have to do anything (except maybe apply some fixes to get everything working), or you can flash to pdaXii13 Sally and have those fixes done for you (if it's still slow, try disabling SCIM if you don't use it -- and there are lots of other tweaks in some of the pdaXii13 threads in the pdaXrom forum).
Conics SL-C3200 running pdaXrom beta3 and XFCE with a Planex WiFi CF card.

Slackware rules!

Capn_Fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2342
    • View Profile
    • http://
Turn On Problem , Please Help !
« Reply #13 on: May 25, 2007, 05:09:10 pm »
And look around for how to install it to flash memory. That will also give it a speed boost (not to mention helping your battery life).
SL-C750- pdaXrom beta 1 (mostly unused)
Current distro: Gentoo