Author Topic: Wpa Howto?  (Read 4840 times)

ckblackm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Wpa Howto?
« on: May 28, 2008, 11:11:15 am »
Does anyone have a step-by-step guide for getting wpa running under pdaXrom?
I've got a SL-3200, D-Link DCF-660W, and am running beta3.  (actually... it's Daniels weeXpc.. but it's based off beta3.)

thanks,
Christopher.

Capn_Fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2342
    • View Profile
    • http://
Wpa Howto?
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2008, 12:17:42 pm »
It's simple:

Code: [Select]
wpa_passphrase YOUR_SSID YOUR_PASSPHRASE > /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
If you're using WPA2/AES, it should loook something like this:

Code: [Select]
network={
ssid="YOUR_SSID"
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
proto=RSN
group=CCMP
pairwise=CCMP
psk=(lots of gibberish)
}

(You have to add some lines yourself)

If you're using TKIP, the pairwise, proto, and/or group lines will be different, but I can't remember how ATM. They may not even be necessary.

I've also had issues connecting to a non-SSID-broadcasting network, so you may have to change that.

HTH
SL-C750- pdaXrom beta 1 (mostly unused)
Current distro: Gentoo

stupkid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 578
    • View Profile
    • http://
Wpa Howto?
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2008, 05:34:49 pm »
Well on pdaXii13 I had to make several changes to the pcmcia network scripts to get it working to my satisfaction.  I think the scripts were updated properly in the newer versions of pdaXrom. I can post my diffs if it helps anyone.

Zaurus SL-C3200 pdaXii13v2 5.5 / Ambicom WC1100C-CF / Socket Bluetooth Rev G


OpenMoko FreeRunner - Running Tweaked OM2008.x Image

kkazakov13

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 408
    • View Profile
Wpa Howto?
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2008, 04:19:59 am »
Quote from: stupkid
Well on pdaXii13 I had to make several changes to the pcmcia network scripts to get it working to my satisfaction.  I think the scripts were updated properly in the newer versions of pdaXrom. I can post my diffs if it helps anyone.


Do it, please. I'm running a script each time I want connection and I don't have time to play with this by myself
SL-C3200 ** FOR SALE :( **
https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=25969

Canon K30225 CF wireless card
Taxan iTax-LAN10 wired card
My packages for customized pdaXrom beta 3

stupkid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 578
    • View Profile
    • http://
Wpa Howto?
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2008, 02:16:44 am »
Sorry for the late reply.  Well I seem to have lost the original versions from pdaxii13, but here are the three files I changed

/etc/pcmcia/network
/etc/pcmcia/wireless
/etc/pcmcia/wireless.opts

These new scripts add new values that you can use in the wireless.opts options, examples are included.  You specify WPA=y to use WPA and WPADRIVER to specify a drive or I default to hostap.  You setup your /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf as usual.  For reference my home net, which uses WPA-PSK2, looks something like this:

network={
        ssid="MyHomeNetwork"
        scan_ssid=1
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        proto=WPA
        pairwise=CCMP TKIP
   group=CCMP TKIP
   psk="abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz"
}

With these scripts you should only need to setup the /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf and then add the necessary stanza to the wireless.opts for your network and you should be golden.  All I have to do is change schemes with cardctl (ex. cardctl -f Home) and I can switch configs and even different wpa_supplicant.conf entries.

Hope this helps! [ Invalid Attachment ]

Zaurus SL-C3200 pdaXii13v2 5.5 / Ambicom WC1100C-CF / Socket Bluetooth Rev G


OpenMoko FreeRunner - Running Tweaked OM2008.x Image

kkazakov13

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 408
    • View Profile
Wpa Howto?
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2008, 06:02:41 am »
Thanks, will check asap (tomorrow) and let you know if it's okay  if it works, I can include it in my patched system to b3
SL-C3200 ** FOR SALE :( **
https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=25969

Canon K30225 CF wireless card
Taxan iTax-LAN10 wired card
My packages for customized pdaXrom beta 3