Author Topic: Pdaxqtrom 0.8.2  (Read 32983 times)

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Pdaxqtrom 0.8.2
« Reply #30 on: September 23, 2007, 07:31:32 pm »
Quote
I would like to be able to mount pdaXqtrom manually when I need it instead of using the automounter-lite to mount it for me every time I reboot.
I think I would probably need to uninstall automounter-lite.
I have tried every possible command combinations I can think of and I can't get it to mount manually.
I always get a "failed: Block device required" error message.

I am using pdaXqtrom-base.cramfs and pdaXqtrom-apps.cramfs.
I have them located in my /mnt/card/pdaXqtrom folder.
If anyone can help me out with this I would really appreciate it.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167802\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

have you tried to use simply tried

mount pdaXqtrom-base.cramfs
mount pdaXqtrom-apps.cramfs

if you have the correct entries in /etc/fstab then the above should be sufficient. otherwise, you need to add
-o loop to the full mount command parameters....
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

dougeeebear

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 537
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxqtrom 0.8.2
« Reply #31 on: September 23, 2007, 08:13:56 pm »
Quote
have you tried to use simply tried

mount pdaXqtrom-base.cramfs
mount pdaXqtrom-apps.cramfs[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=167839\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Thank you ... that worked perfect.

I would have never thought a command that simple would work.
Zaurus SL-C1000 and SL-5500
NetWalker PC-T1 (tablet)

xamindar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.radnimax.com
Pdaxqtrom 0.8.2
« Reply #32 on: November 03, 2007, 02:10:49 am »
Quote from: Meanie
Quote
Quote
Quote
I still get an error when trying to launch thunderbird. 
 "cannot find mozilla runtime directory, exiting."
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Not sure if this will help.  I found it in 5 seconds putting that error into google:

[a href=\"http://www.ale.org/archive/ale/ale-2004-12/msg00335.html]http://www.ale.org/archive/ale/ale-2004-12/msg00335.html[/url]

If it does work, it would be nice to post the results, so others will know what to do...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=141989\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

No it doesn't help, thanks though.  mthat page is just asking the same question,with no solution.

Does anyone else get this?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=142576\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

yikes! i thought i fixed that already
does firefox work? i suspect both firefox and thunderbird are broken for you.
is this on an upgrade or fresh install?


Did this ever get fixed?  I got an urge to set up thunderbird on my Z sense gmail now supports imap and then I was reminded of this error.  Like before, firefox works but trying to launch thunderbird spits out this error.  Is there a way I can fix it?  Is it a simple linking problem or more than that?  Thanks for any help.

Or, on an offtopic question.  Is there a good zaurus email client that can do imap?  The zaurus one doesn't have encryption so can't connect and the Kopie mail program seems to fail on any good amount of messages.
SL-C3100 happily Dualbooting Japanese Rom 1.02 and Debian Eabi
Replaced internal CF with 8gb seagate cf hard drive
Ambicom CF GPS
CyberPower battery powered USB hub
D-link DCF-650W (MAN THIS THING IS HUGE!!)

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxqtrom 0.8.2
« Reply #33 on: November 03, 2007, 02:19:07 am »
sylpheed works with gmail I'm using pop, fthough- not sure about sylpheed&imap, though
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

xamindar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.radnimax.com
Pdaxqtrom 0.8.2
« Reply #34 on: November 03, 2007, 12:08:27 pm »
Quote from: adf
sylpheed works with gmail I'm using pop, fthough- not sure about sylpheed&imap, though

Thanks, I'll give it a try.
SL-C3100 happily Dualbooting Japanese Rom 1.02 and Debian Eabi
Replaced internal CF with 8gb seagate cf hard drive
Ambicom CF GPS
CyberPower battery powered USB hub
D-link DCF-650W (MAN THIS THING IS HUGE!!)

Ryokio

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxqtrom 0.8.2
« Reply #35 on: February 11, 2008, 12:34:49 pm »
This looks like a great project and I'd like to try it out.  Unfortunately it looks like Meanie's website (http://pdaxqtrom.thegrinder.ws/) has been down for a week or so.  I can't reach it or even get the name to resolve through DNS.  Is anyone mirroring the installation files?

Thanks,
Ryokio

Zaurus C3200
Cacko 1.23

xamindar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.radnimax.com
Pdaxqtrom 0.8.2
« Reply #36 on: February 13, 2008, 03:36:48 am »
Quote from: Ryokio
This looks like a great project and I'd like to try it out.  Unfortunately it looks like Meanie's website (http://pdaxqtrom.thegrinder.ws/) has been down for a week or so.  I can't reach it or even get the name to resolve through DNS.  Is anyone mirroring the installation files?

Thanks,
Ryokio

Zaurus C3200
Cacko 1.23


Here you go, I currently use it on my zaurus and love it.  I just grabbed it off my zaurus and tared it for you.  All you have to do is untar it on your zaurus and run that install script on the zaurus.

http://radnimax.org/misc/pdaxqtrom-0.8.2.tar

enjoy
SL-C3100 happily Dualbooting Japanese Rom 1.02 and Debian Eabi
Replaced internal CF with 8gb seagate cf hard drive
Ambicom CF GPS
CyberPower battery powered USB hub
D-link DCF-650W (MAN THIS THING IS HUGE!!)

Ryokio

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxqtrom 0.8.2
« Reply #37 on: February 18, 2008, 08:50:36 pm »
This is a quick log of my trials and tribulations trying to get pdaxqtrom v0.8.2 working.  It looks like it works, but only time and experimentation will tell if any further problems occur.  Hopefully this will help the next person to come along.

Thanks to xamindar, I have the squashfs files.  I set about trying to install these on my Zaurus C3200 with Cacko 1.23.  I put them in /hdd3/pdaxqtrom-0.8.2, went to superuser, and ran ./pdaXqtrom-install.sh

I enabled my swapfile with a size of 64 MB.

The installation seems to work.  When I reloaded the tabs, I had a X/Qt tab.  When I tapped "Start X" I got a nice X-Windows display with a window manager at the top and an xterm window.

From the X/Qt tab in the regular Cacko launcher, I tapped Firefox.  The hard disk light blinked for a while, but nothing happened.  In the xterm window, I typed "firefox" and got the following error:

Quote
/usr/lib/firefox/lib/firefox-1.5/firefox-bin: error while loading the shared libraries: /home/QtPalmtop/lib/libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0: undefined symbol: g_option_context_new

I had heard this was a problem, so I ran the "xqtcleanup" program and ran "./pdaXqtrom-install.sh" again.  The installation seemed to work fine again.  When I tapped "Start X" I got the same nice X-Windows display as before.

At the xterm window, I typed "firefox" and got the following error:

Quote
/usr/lib/firefox/lib/firefox-1.5/firefox-bin: error while loading the shared libraries: /home/QtPalmtop/lib/libgobject-2.0.so.0: undefined symbol: g_bsearch_array_new

I ran the "cackofix" script but it didn't seem to have any effect.

I searched around and found this page: http://www.solargate.ru/ustanovka-pdaxqtrom-v-cacko  After running it through a Russian language translator, it seems they had the same problem.  The page says to do this:

Quote
$ cd / home / QtPalmtop / lib
$ su $ su
# mv libgobject-2.0.so.0 libgobject-2.0.so.0.backup # mv libgobject-2.0.so.0 libgobject-2.0.so.0.backup
# ln -s /mnt/pdaXqrtom-base/opt/QtPalmtop/lib/libgobject-2.0.so.0 libgobject-2.0.so.0 # ln-s / mnt/pdaXqrtom-base/opt/QtPalmtop/lib/libgobject-2.0.so.0 libgobject-2.0.so.0
# mv libgmodule-2.0.so.0 libgmodule-2.0.so.0.backup # mv libgmodule-2.0.so.0 libgmodule-2.0.so.0.backup
# ln -s /mnt/pdaXqrtom-base/opt/QtPalmtop/lib/libgmodule-2.0.so.0 libgmodule-2.0.so.0 # ln-s / mnt/pdaXqrtom-base/opt/QtPalmtop/lib/libgmodule-2.0.so.0 libgmodule-2.0.so.0
# mv libgthread-2.0.so.0 libgmodule-2.0.so.0.backup # mv libgthread-2.0.so.0 libgmodule-2.0.so.0.backup
# ln -s /mnt/pdaXqrtom-base/opt/QtPalmtop/lib/libgthread-2.0.so.0 libgthread-2.0.so.0 # ln-s / mnt/pdaXqrtom-base/opt/QtPalmtop/lib/libgthread-2.0.so.0 libgthread-2.0.so.0

So I tried it.  Then I typed "firefox" and waited.  After much blinking of the hard drive light, I got the Firefox Import Wizard.  I tell it to import nothing.  And I wait.. and I wait.  Gosh this is taking forever.  I waited several minutes and still no error messages.  I run "ps" and see that it hasn't crashed yet.  I stopped X-Windows and tried it again.  The same thing, waiting and waiting.  I run "ps" and find that there are about 7 copies of "firefox-bin" running.  I wait a while longer and things settle down.  Now there are no copies of Firefox running at all.  It looks like something is still wrong.

I tried running Firefox from the Cacko launcher.  No Firefox import screen popped up.  The hard disk light blinked for a long time. I could see copies of Firefox in the "ps" list.  After a while, they all went away.  This is really odd.

If it was an error message, I could look that up.  Anyone have any advice on this one?

As a test, I tried to run a few other programs:

abiword:
Quote
(abiword:9688): Pango-WARNING **: No builtin or dynamically loaded modules were found.  Pango will not work correctly. This probably means there was an error in the creation of:
'etc/pango/pango.modules'
You may be able to recreate this file by running pango-querymodules.
Aborted

So I ran "pango-querymodules > /etc/pango/pango.modules" as root and tried to run abiword again.  WORKS!

dillo: WORKS!

dosbox: WORKS!

gnumeric: WORKS! (after fixing pango.modules)

gimp: WORKS! (after fixing pango.modules)

OpenOffice: Takes several minutes to load.  WORKS!  Even if it is incredibly slow.

firefox (another try): Beats on the hard drive for a while, spawns a couple copies of firefox-bin, then closes them all. Nothing ever comes up on the screen.
I figured it could be something to do with the settings so in my home directory, I renamed .mozilla to .mozilla.backup and tried running Firefox again.  In "ps" I can see that about 6 copies of firefox-bin are run again and I see the Import Wizard pop up.  This time I tell it to import from Opera and click Next.  And I wait about a minute.  And Firefox comes up!  It WORKS!  Horray!  I even rebooted and tried it again.  It does take Firefox about 2 minutes to start up, but it works!

Firefox is what I really wanted, so I'm going to declare victory for now.

-- Ryokio

Zaurus C3200
Cacko 1.23

xamindar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.radnimax.com
Pdaxqtrom 0.8.2
« Reply #38 on: February 20, 2008, 03:20:38 am »
Wow, I think I remember that firefox issue.  I had to copy my profile from my desktop to get it to work.  It would never start with an empty profile.  Weird.

I am curious to know if thunderbird works for you.  I get similar errors in thunderbird and it doesn't start.  As far as I know, every other program works for me as well, just not thunderbird.
SL-C3100 happily Dualbooting Japanese Rom 1.02 and Debian Eabi
Replaced internal CF with 8gb seagate cf hard drive
Ambicom CF GPS
CyberPower battery powered USB hub
D-link DCF-650W (MAN THIS THING IS HUGE!!)

Ryokio

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxqtrom 0.8.2
« Reply #39 on: February 21, 2008, 12:58:51 pm »
Quote from: xamindar
I am curious to know if thunderbird works for you.  I get similar errors in thunderbird and it doesn't start.  As far as I know, every other program works for me as well, just not thunderbird.

I ran "Start X" and got the nice X-Windows display and the aterm window.  I typed "thunderbird".  I seemed to get some warning messages about "_disabledObsoleteExtensions" and stuff about "loading the extensions database" but after a while of hitting the hard disk, the Import Wizard popped up.  I told it not to import anything and Thunderbird came up.  It seemed to be working.

It immediately popped up a setup wizard trying to get me to configure my mail account.  I played with it a little, but I really didn't want to get my mail account tied to it so I didn't continue.  The only really bad thing was that the Cancel/OK buttons were below the bottom of the screen and I didn't know how to move the window up.  It seemed to be working just fine.

-- Ryokio
Zaurus C3200
Cacko 1.23
« Last Edit: February 21, 2008, 12:59:36 pm by Ryokio »

xamindar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.radnimax.com
Pdaxqtrom 0.8.2
« Reply #40 on: February 21, 2008, 07:07:13 pm »
Thanks for the info.  I wonder why it doesn't work on mine....oh well, I have been using sylpheed to do the little mail checking I do on my zaurus.


Quote from: Ryokio
The only really bad thing was that the Cancel/OK buttons were below the bottom of the screen and I didn't know how to move the window up.  It seemed to be working just fine.

I believe if you hold down the home key and press a direction key it will move the window around so you can find the buttons if it is too large for the screen.
SL-C3100 happily Dualbooting Japanese Rom 1.02 and Debian Eabi
Replaced internal CF with 8gb seagate cf hard drive
Ambicom CF GPS
CyberPower battery powered USB hub
D-link DCF-650W (MAN THIS THING IS HUGE!!)

xamindar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.radnimax.com
Pdaxqtrom 0.8.2
« Reply #41 on: October 25, 2008, 04:35:07 am »
While the page on this is listed here still, the actual files are gone.

Thanks to Antikx, I have been allowed to post them up somewhere, so you can get it here:

pdaxqtrom-0.8.2.tar.gz
SL-C3100 happily Dualbooting Japanese Rom 1.02 and Debian Eabi
Replaced internal CF with 8gb seagate cf hard drive
Ambicom CF GPS
CyberPower battery powered USB hub
D-link DCF-650W (MAN THIS THING IS HUGE!!)