Author Topic: Yalp no longer working for me  (Read 1816 times)

Pete G.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
    • http://www.GoodeveCA.net
Yalp no longer working for me
« on: August 07, 2019, 06:48:19 pm »
Does Yalp no longer work for accessing the PlayStore, or is there some action I haven't taken?

When I got my Gemini a year ago, I used Yalp to grab a lot of the basic stuff, but I wanted to look for something just now, and all I get is "No Network Connection".  I am connected, as everything else works, but no Yalp!

Any clues?

gidds

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 291
    • View Profile
    • http://
Yalp no longer working for me
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2019, 08:35:37 pm »
Seems to work OK here.

(It seems to report errors occasionally, but is fine again next time.  Dunno if that's something on Google's side, an issue with Yalp, or something less diredct, but it's worth retrying after a while.)
[blockquote]Andy/[/blockquote]
Psion 5mx –> Gemini (–> Cosmo)

Pete G.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
    • http://www.GoodeveCA.net
Yalp no longer working for me
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2019, 09:11:35 pm »
Quote from: gidds
Seems to work OK here.

Huh... Still dead for me.  For interest, what rev of yalp do you have?  Mine seems to be 0.41 (installed June last year).  Maybe I should just reinstall..

gidds

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 291
    • View Profile
    • http://
Yalp no longer working for me
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2019, 02:50:12 am »
Quote from: Pete G.
For interest, what rev of yalp do you have?
0.45-legacy, apparently.  (Installed throgh F-Droid,.)
[blockquote]Andy/[/blockquote]
Psion 5mx –> Gemini (–> Cosmo)

jornada720

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
Yalp no longer working for me
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2019, 11:13:12 am »
I have had intermittent issues with Yalp due to Google API changes. I switched to Aurora Store instead, which is a Yalp fork that is more frequently updated. It is also in F-Droid. Aurora also has more features.

gidds

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 291
    • View Profile
    • http://
Yalp no longer working for me
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2019, 03:49:10 am »
Thanks, I've installed Aurora.

It's not happy in landscape mode -- too many bars across the screen, leaving the apps squashed up in the middle.  And updating multiple apps is a bit fiddly.  But the important stuff seems to work well.
[blockquote]Andy/[/blockquote]
Psion 5mx –> Gemini (–> Cosmo)

Pete G.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
    • http://www.GoodeveCA.net
Yalp no longer working for me
« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2019, 08:40:44 pm »
Quote from: gidds
Quote from: Pete G.
For interest, what rev of yalp do you have?
0.45-legacy, apparently.  (Installed throgh F-Droid,.)

Sorry -- didn't check in here for a while... (only happens when I'm in Linux  

I updated to 0.45-legacy, and at first I was still getting errors, (didn't seem to recognize the Yalp account) but finally it connected, and seems to work.

I may try Aurora later.

Thanks.

covex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • http://
Yalp no longer working for me
« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2019, 03:54:58 pm »
Yalp is dead, now Aurora is also not working even with google accounts, as google did some "improvements" https://gitlab.com/AuroraOSS/AuroraStore/issues/217
Hopefully this is fixed but how long it will last? Are there any other aproaches to get the play store apps on the Gemini without google play?
« Last Edit: November 28, 2019, 03:55:36 pm by covex »
Gemini PDA 4G, MTK Helio x27, keyboard layout CZ, Gemini-7.1-Planet-08102018-V2

jofe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Yalp no longer working for me
« Reply #8 on: November 29, 2019, 05:23:03 am »
Quote from: covex
Yalp is dead, now Aurora is also not working even with google accounts, as google did some "improvements" https://gitlab.com/AuroraOSS/AuroraStore/issues/217
Hopefully this is fixed but how long it will last? Are there any other aproaches to get the play store apps on the Gemini without google play?
Download Aurora version 3.1.4 from the gitlab site - this solved the issue for me.