Author Topic: Java (blackdown)in web-browsers (firefox, dillo) - working?  (Read 3315 times)

piotr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
    • http://
Hi,

Does somebody work it out how to have java in webbrowsers?

I ve installed Blackdown java and standalone java programs works (but everytime I have to write export JAVA_Home=/usr/local/j2re1.3.1 and  PATH=$PATH:$JAVA_HOME/bin and then call java -jar program_name.jar).

I am thinking how to link java with browsers to be able to use webmail and chats.
Does anybody found a solution and is willing to share it?
thanks,
Piotr :wink:

time

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • http://www.trustice.com
Java (blackdown)in web-browsers (firefox, dillo) - working?
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2004, 11:50:20 am »
poitr,
How did you get this to work, and on what platform?!
I have a C860, and installed, and had lots of problems.
First, I had to link armv4l to armv5tel in lib and bin.
Then I had to install the ipaq-stuff archive.
Now, when I run, I get the error:
Code: [Select]
UnsatisfiedLinkError: libfontmanager.so: libstdc++-lib6.2.2.so.3: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory.
Well, of course, I only have libstdc++-3-libc6.1-2.2.10.0.so
tim.
Zaurus SL-C860 / pdaXrom

piotr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
    • http://
Java (blackdown)in web-browsers (firefox, dillo) - working?
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2004, 01:40:52 pm »
Hi Time!
There are few versions of blackdown circulating over the internet. You need this one:

http://radio.weblogs.com/0102385/categorie...03/06.html#a533

It worked for me. I have small problem with path statement because if I want to run java app. I have to call path to java - it is annoying for me but there are costs of beeing newbee to linux.
But anyway - this how-to worked for me. Maybe after installing You will know how run .jar without  typing thousands of lines before it.
regards,
Piotr

time

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • http://www.trustice.com
Java (blackdown)in web-browsers (firefox, dillo) - working?
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2004, 03:32:19 pm »
Here is how I got the stock Blackdown JRE1.3.1 to install:
Code: [Select]
Install the Blackdown J2RE 1.3.1 (from www.blackdown.org)

Install the IPAQ extra stuff (from www.blackdown.org)

Symlink the armv4l directories in lib and bin to armv5tel

Download and install the required libcstd++ library (link below)

Set JAVA_HOME and PATH appropriately in my bashrc.

Here is the libstdc++ link:  http://familiar.handhelds.org/releases/v0....07-fam1_arm.ipk

And now I am running my Swing Java apps on the Zaurus!!!
It is slow, but it is very stable.
Zaurus SL-C860 / pdaXrom

doublec

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
    • http://radio.weblogs.com/0102385/categories/zaurus/index.html
Java (blackdown)in web-browsers (firefox, dillo) - working?
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2004, 07:18:22 pm »
This is exactly what I did, and then I packaged it up into an IPK and made it available as linked in piotr\'s message above.

time

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • http://www.trustice.com
Java (blackdown)in web-browsers (firefox, dillo) - working?
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2004, 08:57:41 pm »
Indeed. Alas, I was busy figuring it all out during the time that poitr posted the the link to your page!
It is much nicer to have the ipk now. Thanks. - tim
Zaurus SL-C860 / pdaXrom

piotr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
    • http://
Java (blackdown)in web-browsers (firefox, dillo) - working?
« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2004, 02:54:04 am »
Doublec - great job!! thanks.
Do You know propably why I am getting such a message after installing that java ipk?
/sbin/ldconfig: /usr/local/lib/libXp.so.6 is not a symbolic link
/sbin/ldconfig: /usr/local/lib/libXm.so.2 is not a symbolic link
?
Also I have to write java_home and path before running java app.
I have pdaXrom installed on one root partition at C760.
Is there maybe a simple solution I didnt figured out?
regards,
Piotr
PS. Somebody have JAVA in webbrowsers? Can someone use chat or webmail???

doublec

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
    • http://radio.weblogs.com/0102385/categories/zaurus/index.html
Java (blackdown)in web-browsers (firefox, dillo) - working?
« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2004, 07:43:59 pm »
Yes, the path needs to be set. I believe JAVA_HOME isn\'t needed as long as the \'java\' executable is in the path. That\'s true for later JVM\'s anyway. The ldconfig warnings can be ignored. It\'s because of the way the tar in the IPK was generated, it replaced the symbolic links with actual copies of the files. This is ok. If you are worried about it you can rn those files and re-link them:

  ln -s /usr/local/lib/libXp.so /usr/local/lib/libXp.so.6
  ln -s /usr/local/lib/libXm.so /usr/local/lib/libXm.so.2

piotr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
    • http://
Java (blackdown)in web-browsers (firefox, dillo) - working?
« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2004, 01:26:09 am »
Thanks Doublec.
Most impotrant is that it works. I dont care about those warrnings as long as You ve said it is ok.
thanks
piotr