Author Topic: Qtopia + X11  (Read 3165 times)

rpav

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Qtopia + X11
« on: August 12, 2004, 05:57:02 pm »
So,  my 860 is on order (backorder it seems... who's the one who ordered 100 860's from dynamism?  ), and I'm wondering about pdaXrom.
  • Does pdaXrom come with qtvfb so you can run Qtopia apps in X?
  • Is Japanese input supported?
  • Any handwriting recognition (not that I'd likely use it, but...)?
  • Any other drawbacks and/or cool things before I install?

Zumi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
    • View Profile
    • http://
Qtopia + X11
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2004, 06:49:36 pm »
Quote
So,  my 860 is on order (backorder it seems... who's the one who ordered 100 860's from dynamism?  ), and I'm wondering about pdaXrom.
  • Does pdaXrom come with qtvfb so you can run Qtopia apps in X?

  • Is Japanese input supported?

  • Any handwriting recognition (not that I'd likely use it, but...)?

  • Any other drawbacks and/or cool things before I install?

1. I think pdaXrom can't run Qtopia apps, but correct me if I am mistaken.
2. You just have to look around a bit. A 2 day old thread. I don't know how it's working, I live in Europe, don't speak Japanese.
3. There's a program called xstroke in the feed. It can't handle more character continuously, but it's OK with one char at a time.
4. Discover yourself.  I think the cool things are dominating, and if we get the new release this ratio is only getting better.
Zumi
« Last Edit: August 12, 2004, 08:29:37 pm by Zumi »
SL-C860: pdaXrom 1.1.0beta1
SD: 1GB A-data, GPS: Haicom HI-303S, Bluetooth: Nokia DTL-1 CF, CF WiFi: ASUS SpaceLink WL-110
Browse user contributed packages for pdaXrom!

Reaper

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
Qtopia + X11
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2004, 03:28:27 am »
You see, the idea of pdaX ROM was not to improve Sharp/Qtopia ROM, like theKompany and other ROMs like that, but to make standard X Window System apps able to be compiled and executed on Zaurus. Qtopia support shouldn't be enormously hard to add. Maybe two or three releases later we'll get it and our dreams will come true.  

sriley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
    • http://
Qtopia + X11
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2004, 10:42:54 am »
The problem with the lack of QT support is that we miss out on thousands of apps already designed for this hardware.  QT support would probably shoot pdaXrom's user base through the roof.

cortez

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
    • View Profile
    • http://www.omegamoon.com
Qtopia + X11
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2004, 07:06:22 am »
I'm not sure, but would this be any helpful in getting Qtopia to work on pdaXrom?
[div align=\"center\"]== == == == == == == == == == == == == ==
www.omegamoon.com
Zaurus SL-C750 - Died in a dreadful coffee experiment, has a second life somewhere in the Czech Republic
Zaurus SL-C1000 - Multiboot Zubuntu, Debian, Fedora, Poky, Android and others
Zaurus SL-C3100 - Development device, currently Zubuntu 2.0
Zaurus SL-6000L - The fridge is running Zubuntu 1.0
Zaurus SL-C860 - Cacko, untouched since kindly donated, waiting for Zubuntu
== == == == == == == == == == == == == ==[/div]

jfv

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
    • View Profile
Qtopia + X11
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2004, 08:48:08 am »
Right now, if you want both Qtopia and X11, you should keep the Sharp ROM and install X/Qt. It works pretty well.

Felipe
SL 5000 D  and C860 Sharp ROM
Too many accessories...

sriley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
    • http://
Qtopia + X11
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2004, 12:38:55 pm »
Quote
I'm not sure, but would this be any helpful in getting Qtopia to work on pdaXrom?
That would be excellent if it could be made to run on pdaXrom!

Radiator

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Qtopia + X11
« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2004, 07:04:52 am »
Hmm. That Yopy port of Qtopia looks ideal.

I know Yopy runs X11, but I'm sure a load of changes would still need to be made to get this running on top of pdaXrom - then we'd have the best of both worlds!

Not sure what the speed will be like

Anyone got some free time on their hands and fancy giving it a shot?

padishah_emperor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 849
    • View Profile
    • http://
Qtopia + X11
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2005, 07:13:22 am »
Quote
Hmm. That Yopy port of Qtopia looks ideal.

I know Yopy runs X11, but I'm sure a load of changes would still need to be made to get this running on top of pdaXrom - then we'd have the best of both worlds!

Not sure what the speed will be like

It is ideal ;-) One reason why I switched from a 860 to a YP3700, speed wise it's no different to my old Zaurus, even games like Interstellar Flames run flawlessly. If it could be compiled for pdaXrom it would be a great bonus for you guys. Being able to run X apps and Qtopia apps simultaneously is neat. ;-)
Left Linux and Linux PDAs... sorry, got boring.  Switched to Mac.

scoutme

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 579
    • View Profile
Qtopia + X11
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2005, 09:14:52 am »
you switched from a 860 to a yopy...? :|
maybe I'm wrong... but I cannot see the good side of that.
Can you give me a hint?

wmadan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
    • View Profile
    • http://
Qtopia + X11
« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2005, 10:55:39 am »
I have the Cacko ROM running with X/Qt & Debian (PocketWorkstation). It about the closest you can get to having both Qtopia and X at the same time.  PdaXrom is more "elegant" and has more of the typical applications most people want compiled to run under it, but in theory the possibilities with the Debian implementation are endless.

One issue is that you have to run the filesystem on a SD card if you want wifi at the same time. And, you need swapspace on the SD too, which can wear the SD card out over time.

I have gotten Dillo, Ghostview, Abiword, Firefox and Gnumeric running on it, along the last three programs take a while to load.

Bill

padishah_emperor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 849
    • View Profile
    • http://
Qtopia + X11
« Reply #11 on: February 12, 2005, 04:12:48 pm »
Quote
you switched from a 860 to a yopy...? :|
maybe I'm wrong... but I cannot see the good side of that.
Can you give me a hint?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=66733\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

The 860 just wasn't for me ;-)  Some people like a Zaurus, some a Simpad, some an iPaq, me I liked the Yopy.  You'll have to embrace the choice of others if this site is going to accomodate machines other than the Z ;-) There were issues with the 860, too many to go into here. Feel free to PM me if you like, or weigh in on the mispelled Yopi thread.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2005, 01:50:21 pm by padishah_emperor »
Left Linux and Linux PDAs... sorry, got boring.  Switched to Mac.

badog

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
    • View Profile
Qtopia + X11
« Reply #12 on: February 14, 2005, 11:00:35 pm »
maybe?
install KDE+QT to pdaxrom? and edit startqt...
run startx to gnome+GTK
run startqt to KDE+QT
hehe