Author Topic: RC5 Available...  (Read 7886 times)

Laze

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pdaXrom.org
RC5 Available...
« on: October 07, 2004, 12:00:56 pm »
We have just released the latest RC, RC5 – it’s entirely new and has Vector Floating Point. Please download, test and report back.

Please note that all other feeds than the RC5 feed is broken due to the new VFP.

Lots of bugfixes and new stuff - like Quake running in 15 FPS ;-)

Get it at www.pdaXrom.org

Bugs fixed:
Code: [Select]
screen rotation not working when...
Term launchers differ in menu/taskbar
/dev/tun is missing in pdaXrom distribution
SSH Idle Timeout to early
No apparent reason for inetd running
iptables-kernel modules
SD doesn't mount(does mount on boot)
LAN/Wifi applet oddities
XMMS adjust equalizer doesn't work/quits
Pen drag mode gets cancelled / window resize...
Wallpaper filenames cannot contain spaces
Look & Feel minor typo
Re-suspend in 5 secs
Background change wipes taskbar icons


PS. I know its getting confusing with new and old ROMs/SDKs etc. as soon we get a bit further with development - the site will be cleaned up and get a new bug reporting system (probally bugzilla), forum and probally a general facelift.
« Last Edit: October 07, 2004, 04:33:24 pm by Laze »
C760 running pdaXrom lastest ;-)
SL5500 Running Cacko Qtopia
512 MB SD Card, 128 MB CF Card, Prism2 CF Wlan.

Always visit http://www.pdaXrom.org for latest news.

jabbath

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
    • http://
RC5 Available...
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2004, 12:32:48 pm »
That's GOOD news
.. On my way to compile

thanks alot,
jabbath
Laptop: HP NX9005 Debian GNU/Linux sid
Zaurus:C760 pdaXrom - ASUS WL-110 - 256MB SD

Laze

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pdaXrom.org
RC5 Available...
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2004, 12:35:48 pm »
jabbath - did you receive the developer information?

Please notice that all the current IPKs need recompiling in order to work and you need the latest SDKs - we apologize for the problems.
C760 running pdaXrom lastest ;-)
SL5500 Running Cacko Qtopia
512 MB SD Card, 128 MB CF Card, Prism2 CF Wlan.

Always visit http://www.pdaXrom.org for latest news.

sashz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
    • View Profile
    • http://
RC5 Available...
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2004, 01:54:52 pm »
Quote
but I noticed xmms isn't in the feed
ups, feed not fully uploaded.. we will add all packages soon as laze will back online :-)

Zuber

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
    • http://www.shirtpocket.co.uk
RC5 Available...
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2004, 01:58:38 pm »
Noticed it stopped at files begining with S.

Thought it was still loading.

Look forward to trying this one.
Zuber
ShirtPocket Ltd.
www.shirtpocket.co.uk

djtreble

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • http://
RC5 Available...
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2004, 03:04:45 pm »
May I ask exactly what "Vector Floating Point" means?

Did you backport the gcc3.4 stuff into 3.3.2?

I take it you don't mean vector as in an array of floats.

Not to sound ungrateful, just want to understand :-)

pnb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • http://
RC5 Available...
« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2004, 03:35:05 pm »
My first impression is a great speed improvement. Everything seems alot snappier. Wonder how this will influence on batt. life...

Is it Vector FP or perhaps Virtual FP?

Thank you guys - this is great!

Peter
« Last Edit: October 07, 2004, 03:36:09 pm by pnb »

Laze

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pdaXrom.org
RC5 Available...
« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2004, 04:29:41 pm »
Sorry for messing up the feed - its updating now (including XMMS).
I haven't got the time to make the ipk upload ready yet..

For running Quake i recommend no X windows - just plain shell.
Code: [Select]
export SDL_NOMOUSE=1
./quake -nocdaudio -nojoy -nomouse -nolan -noautostretch -winsize 320 240
You could also play with -particles 100 and the -nosound should also give you some extra fps.

Making an autoexec.cfg file in the id1 directory with following will also improve performance:
Code: [Select]
cl_bob "0"
cl_bobup "0"
d_mipcap "1"
d_mipscale "1"
r_waterwarp "0"
r_maxparticles "0"
crosshair "1"
fov "70"
loadas8bit "1"
m_filter "1"
r_drawviewmodel "0"
r_maxedges "1000"
r_maxsurfs "400"
viewsize "90.000000"
All the above should give you nice FPS and if you overclock a little you can get above 20 fps :-)

oohhh to benchmark enter the console(Options->Console) and type timedemo demo1.dem - and press ES/Cancel right after - then let it run and you will get FPS.

ooohhh - it works execellent with network games two - has just beaten the crap out of my girlfriend in multiplayer :-)
« Last Edit: October 07, 2004, 06:11:19 pm by Laze »
C760 running pdaXrom lastest ;-)
SL5500 Running Cacko Qtopia
512 MB SD Card, 128 MB CF Card, Prism2 CF Wlan.

Always visit http://www.pdaXrom.org for latest news.

ikm

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
    • http://
RC5 Available...
« Reply #8 on: October 07, 2004, 04:30:48 pm »
Thanks for softfloat. It really is a great improvement. The trouble of getting it all broken will pay itself triple in the future.
And some heavy-duty bug tracking like Bugzilla would be a nice choice too, great you're considering it.

Btw people, sorry that I failed to get to scummvm and dosbox, other pressing stuff gives not much spare time :( But now it seems to be a perfect time to actually get to them and compile with softfloat =)

himchen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • http://
RC5 Available...
« Reply #9 on: October 07, 2004, 04:42:24 pm »
Quote
Sorry for messing up the feed - its updating now (including XMMS)
For the impatient: XMMS is part of the rc5 rom

sigmaX

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
RC5 Available...
« Reply #10 on: October 07, 2004, 07:26:05 pm »
Friends,

I would like very much if someone with knowledge can explain me what does vector floating point and virtual floating point means. I can see that all ipk needed recompilation, I assume in order to use this new feature, which I also asume that ends up into faster execution. But maybe I am wrong  Anyway, I want to know  someone ?
Enrique

sl-c860 / 1gigCF 40X / 256mbSD / Ambicom WIFI / TRENDnet 10/100 ethernet / SL-5500 CF 40X 32MB

djtreble

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • http://
RC5 Available...
« Reply #11 on: October 07, 2004, 08:17:09 pm »
WOW OMG quake is good.

soooooo good

Thank you.

stbrock

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
    • http://
RC5 Available...
« Reply #12 on: October 07, 2004, 09:17:03 pm »
The RC5 feed won't work for me with the package app. Perhaps it's just that the file "packages" needs to be renamed "Packages"?

Bundabrg

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
RC5 Available...
« Reply #13 on: October 07, 2004, 09:29:19 pm »
Yeah, that would fix it. For now I just edited /usr/bin/ipkg and changed it to accept both.

[Update]
A link to my copy is as follows: -

http://dev.worldguard.com.au/ipkg
« Last Edit: October 08, 2004, 12:28:12 am by Bundabrg »
[img]http://www.worldguard.com.au/brendan-ambi.png\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]

ViV

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
    • http://
RC5 Available...
« Reply #14 on: October 08, 2004, 12:40:07 am »
Hope, quake will work with my usb mouse through gpm.  

Will a player-friendly (without screen poweron by any keypress) screen blanking applet come? I've written a simple one, but it only brings screen down after keypress if it was already off before.
Motorola A780