Author Topic: Why can't I play a stream with XMMS?  (Read 2320 times)

gromituk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Why can't I play a stream with XMMS?
« on: October 17, 2004, 06:43:00 pm »
I can go to shoutcast.com on my Linux box, pick a radio station, and it starts up XMMS and happily plays it.  Looking at the file info of a random station I get something like http://64.236.34.196:80/stream/1038 .  If I put this into Play Location in XMMS on rc5 (dillo doesn't have the capability to start up XMMS), it does nothing.  I can play wav files, and connect to the net with my WCF12 wifi card.  Anyone know what's amiss?  Thanks.

Xumbi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
    • View Profile
Why can't I play a stream with XMMS?
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2004, 09:49:13 pm »
Make sure you have xmms-mad and libmad installed for mp3 streams, and xmms-tremor and tremor installed for ogg streams.  If you want to test an ogg stream try http://bemetal.icecast.net/bemetal.ogg  

rgrep

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Why can't I play a stream with XMMS?
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2004, 03:04:50 am »
I have the same problem trying to play MP3 streams (haven't tried an OGG stream yet) it just does nothing.  I don't think the MAD plugin supports streams.  Under RC3 it would try to play them using the standard XMMS MPEG 1/2/3 plugin but it was so awfully slow that it would jump and skip horribley.  I wonder if the new VFP support would allow the floating-point MP3 plugin to perform better.
[img]https://www.oesf.org/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /] Has: Dynamism C760 / Linksys WCF12 WiFi / Kingston 512MB SD
[img]https://www.oesf.org/forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /] Loves: pdaXrom / Warwalking
[img]https://www.oesf.org/forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /] Hates: NetGear MA701 WiFi / SanDisk 256MB SD / C760 Charging Faults

Laze

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pdaXrom.org
Why can't I play a stream with XMMS?
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2004, 05:37:12 am »
I can stream shoutcast from my internal network just fine - using WinAMP and shoutcast on windows and stream it from my Zaurus works just fine.. Great for having music in the shower although i normally use the files instead but just tried streaming - works fine..
C760 running pdaXrom lastest ;-)
SL5500 Running Cacko Qtopia
512 MB SD Card, 128 MB CF Card, Prism2 CF Wlan.

Always visit http://www.pdaXrom.org for latest news.

rgrep

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Why can't I play a stream with XMMS?
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2004, 02:09:58 pm »
My problem might be due to the format of the stream I'm trying to play.  If I use wget to download the stream then I can play the files, but I can't seek (ff/rewind) in them and they don't show any time on the counter.  File says their format is "MP3,  32 kBits, 22.05 kHz, Mono".
[img]https://www.oesf.org/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /] Has: Dynamism C760 / Linksys WCF12 WiFi / Kingston 512MB SD
[img]https://www.oesf.org/forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /] Loves: pdaXrom / Warwalking
[img]https://www.oesf.org/forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /] Hates: NetGear MA701 WiFi / SanDisk 256MB SD / C760 Charging Faults

DaMightyWhightyMan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Why can't I play a stream with XMMS?
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2004, 04:08:36 pm »
I'm having similar problem streaming from Chronix Agression's stream.

gromituk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Why can't I play a stream with XMMS?
« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2004, 05:22:27 pm »
Quote
Make sure you have xmms-mad and libmad installed for mp3 streams, and xmms-tremor and tremor installed for ogg streams.
xmms-mad and libmad seem to be there (default rc5 installation).  

Xumbi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
    • View Profile
Why can't I play a stream with XMMS?
« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2004, 06:54:25 pm »
I think I was wrong, it won't work for me either...