Author Topic: Rebooting lockup problem with Sharp313 on SL5500  (Read 975 times)

TheGreenKnight

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
    • http://
Rebooting lockup problem with Sharp313 on SL5500
« on: November 12, 2004, 02:34:32 pm »
Hi, I'm new to this forum but have perused it for a while now and decided to join in

I have an SL5500 and have experienced stability problems from the outset with the Sharp238 ROM, so decided to upgrade to Sharp313 and so far I have found it to be much better.

But, I am experiencing a continual problem whereby when I reboot it it locks up with the screen still on, the green light on, and the only way that I can reset it is to flick the battery compartment switch and press the reset button with the stylus. Obviously this resets it removing any changes I have made to the system.

From my experiments I have found accessing the Zaurus via Samba to be unstable whereas using SSH so far has been fine (I was mounting the Zaurus as /mnt/zaurus on my Mandrake desktop).

I welcome any replies from people here who have had similar experiences.

Ciao,
TheGreenKnight

dougeeebear

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 537
    • View Profile
    • http://
Rebooting lockup problem with Sharp313 on SL5500
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2004, 02:46:44 pm »
Sounds like the "double reboot" problem to me.
You cannot reboot twice without first suspending the z, then turning it back on.
My rule of thumb is that when you want to reboot, always suspend first.
Works for me.

Doug
Zaurus SL-C1000 and SL-5500
NetWalker PC-T1 (tablet)

TheGreenKnight

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
    • http://
Rebooting lockup problem with Sharp313 on SL5500
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2004, 02:48:03 pm »
I've found an app on ZSI http://www.killefiz.de/zaurus/showdetail.php?app=1125 called Turn Off that suggests that the Zaurus doesn't shutdown properly.

Is this of any use to me do you think? Does anyone here find it useful?

Cheers,
TheGreenKnight

TheGreenKnight

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
    • http://
Rebooting lockup problem with Sharp313 on SL5500
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2004, 02:53:04 pm »
Quote
Sounds like the "double reboot" problem to me.
You cannot reboot twice without first suspending the z, then turning it back on.
My rule of thumb is that when you want to reboot, always suspend first.
Works for me.

Doug
Great, thanks dougeeebear, I'll experiment with the method tonight and see how I get on
« Last Edit: November 12, 2004, 02:53:49 pm by TheGreenKnight »

tumnus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1176
    • View Profile
    • http://www.cpinkney.org.uk
Rebooting lockup problem with Sharp313 on SL5500
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2004, 02:17:17 pm »
Wow, it's been a while since someone asked about this....

See this FAQ for more:

http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php...parent_id=0#163
# Search the Zaurus Howtos ## Search the Zaurus FAQs ## Find Z software at ELSI #
--------------------
UK SL5500 with Sharp ROM 3.13, SL5600 with Sharp ROM 1.32 - SuSE 9.0 Pro, Windows XP Home
Qualendar for Calendar and Todo
Socket Bluetooth CF Card (Rev F), Kingmax 512MB MMC Card, Palm Tungsten T Stylus,
Pretec CF->Smartmedia Adapter, Semsons Universal Battery Extender

dougeeebear

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 537
    • View Profile
    • http://
Rebooting lockup problem with Sharp313 on SL5500
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2004, 03:13:15 pm »
This is a good one.
I just installed it on my SL-5500.

Thanks tumnus
Zaurus SL-C1000 and SL-5500
NetWalker PC-T1 (tablet)