Author Topic: Rom Discussion On Tosa  (Read 86987 times)

koen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
    • http://dominion.thruhere.net/koen/cms/
Rom Discussion On Tosa
« Reply #75 on: November 13, 2006, 03:20:10 pm »
Quote
The next question is----  is there an Angstrom release for the 6k (w/ eabi, n ot that I'd immediately have a use for eabi, It just seems sensible)?
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

There are testing images for tosa available[1], BUT only bootstrap is working well, dbus doesn't want to start in X[2], rendering X images a bit useless.  You could install e17, since that doesn't use dbus, but anything gpe or gnome related does.
Right now angstrom sucks, which is why it hasn't seen a release yet


[1] [a href=\"http://angstrom-distribution.org/unstable/images/]http://angstrom-distribution.org/unstable/images/[/url]
[2] http://bugs.openembedded.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1567
Forums are not bugtrackers!!! Smart questions
Ångström release team
iPAQ h2210, iPAQ h5550, iPAQ hx4700, Zaurus SL-C700, Nokia 770, all running some form of GPE
My blog

xjqian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
    • View Profile
    • http://
Rom Discussion On Tosa
« Reply #76 on: November 14, 2006, 09:40:08 pm »
Quote
BUt pdaXrom doesn't go past beta1....  a shame, too --OZ is noticeably faster and smoother with the 2.6 kernel than with the latest tosa 2.4 pdaX or 2.4 OZ
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=146159\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Sounds very impressive. Even though the rom evolution on Tosa is not as fast as its silibings, I feel lagging behind the evolution now (probably because I'm a newbie to linux in general). I barely get my feet wet with pdaXrom beta1 (got about 1/2 of my essential applications and gadgets set-up the way I like them to be... way to go...) I guess I will stay on the pdaXrom beta1  for a while and try to contribute to find bugs.

I would have jumped on OZ if I had known 2.6kernel OZ worked so well. I will check OZ once I crashes my pdaXrom set-up
My Blog | 6000L Tosa + sled | is: Angstrom | was: pdaXrom 1.1.0beta1 | was: stock 1.12 rom + no-ffpe fash kernel + X/Qt Debian |
CF GPS (FGPCFCD01) | USB "Prolific 2303" GPS (USB-UG-200) | Socket CF BT rev. H |  USB "Pegasus II" Ethernet (ADM8511) | PocketTop IR kbd | sip:527630@fwd.pulver.com
Todo: OESF wiki | stable VOIP app | usable GPS app |      Wishlist: VOIP + Bluetooth | GPS + Routing Calc

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Rom Discussion On Tosa
« Reply #77 on: November 17, 2006, 10:21:26 pm »
Quote
Quote
The next question is----  is there an Angstrom release for the 6k (w/ eabi, n ot that I'd immediately have a use for eabi, It just seems sensible)?
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

There are testing images for tosa available[1], BUT only bootstrap is working well, dbus doesn't want to start in X[2], rendering X images a bit useless.  You could install e17, since that doesn't use dbus, but anything gpe or gnome related does.
Right now angstrom sucks, which is why it hasn't seen a release yet


[1] [a href=\"http://angstrom-distribution.org/unstable/images/]http://angstrom-distribution.org/unstable/images/[/url]
[2] http://bugs.openembedded.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1567
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=146201\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Thanks, but since I tend to pissy about that sort of thing, I'll wait for a relase
maybe I'll spend some time trying to get 3.5.4.1 on sd on my 3100, or something equally perverse.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2006, 11:03:50 pm by adf »
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Rom Discussion On Tosa
« Reply #78 on: December 02, 2006, 05:09:07 pm »
Opie works nicely. The wireless stuff is working fine. Thanks!
I have a very useable system on my internal flash. Now, I'd like to be able to ALTBOOT to GPE as an "installed system on my 1gig SD card.

I read the ALTBOOT FAQ.

It talks about using tarballs, and mentions making an installed system--says it's like using a tarball. (not helpful at this point- no current tarballs )

There does not appear to be a tarball (I can't find one) of any OZ for 3.5.4.2 for the 6000.

How do I, for example, make an installed GPE 3.5.4.2 system for my 6000 on the SD card so that I can keep opie installed on internal flash and altboot to a complete GPE system on the sd?

Thanks in advance for the help.
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

munch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Rom Discussion On Tosa
« Reply #79 on: December 04, 2006, 11:52:44 am »
Had a question on firefox on pocketworkstation , i  installed it from within debian, it installed fine
but when i try to start it it never starts up, even after a minute as I have seen in some posts, when I try to run form command line there are no error messages
I am using a 64MB swap, do I need to increase it,

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Rom Discussion On Tosa
« Reply #80 on: December 04, 2006, 09:41:05 pm »
thats enough swap.
have you tried meanies" XQT stuff?   my guess is that it has to do with dependencies
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

munch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Rom Discussion On Tosa
« Reply #81 on: December 05, 2006, 12:52:30 pm »
Quote
thats enough swap.
have you tried meanies" XQT stuff?   my guess is that it has to do with dependencies
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=148041\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


I just used the basic x/qt  packages pointed to by Klaus Weidner not the whoe x/qt jumbo pack, but I installed firefox from debian , would it take care of the dependencies ?

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Rom Discussion On Tosa
« Reply #82 on: December 05, 2006, 01:35:07 pm »
It should.  It seems to work pretty well from what has been posted here (and my experience of pdaxqtrom.  Firefox is much faster in pdaXrom or OZ/GPE, though, due to softloat in those systems
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

xjqian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
    • View Profile
    • http://
Rom Discussion On Tosa
« Reply #83 on: January 17, 2007, 10:30:29 am »
Quote
IT mounted my 4 gig sd!!  formatted it and everything (even fat 32). Bravo!
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=146139\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

confirmed. Brand: Connect3D (likely non-SDHC) 4GB,  format: factory fat32

despite some errors in dmesg
Code: [Select]
end_request:I/O error, dev mmcblk0, sector 23880
Buffer I/O error on device mmcblk0pl, logical block 15688
lost page write due to I/O error on mmcblk0pl
mmcblk0: error 1 sending read/write command
end_request: I/O error, dev mmcblk0, sector 8193
Buffer I/O error on device mmcblk0pl, logical block 1
lost page write due to I/O error on mmcblk0pl
tc6393-nand: mmc0: 1234 [B]SD04G 4018176KiB[/B]
 mmcblk0: pl
FAT: bogus number of reserved sectors
VFS: Can't find a valid FAT filesystem on dev mmcblk0.
VFS: Can't find a valid ext2 filesystem on dev mmcblk0.
VFS: Can't find a valid ext2 filesystem on dev mmcblk0.
FAT: bogus number of reserved sectors
VFS: Can't find a valid ext2 filesystem on dev mmcblk0.

The card automatically mounted on OZ/GPE as
Code: [Select]
/dev/mmcblk0pl on /media/mmcblk0pl type vfat (rw,sync,fmask=0022,dmask=0022,code page=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1)
adf: do you get the same mount point, which sounds a little strange to me? other smaller SD cards mounts at /mnt/card or /media/card fine.

Edit:
well, i took it back. Seems all vfat sd cards are mounted to /media/mmcblk0pl
« Last Edit: January 18, 2007, 12:45:22 am by xjqian »
My Blog | 6000L Tosa + sled | is: Angstrom | was: pdaXrom 1.1.0beta1 | was: stock 1.12 rom + no-ffpe fash kernel + X/Qt Debian |
CF GPS (FGPCFCD01) | USB "Prolific 2303" GPS (USB-UG-200) | Socket CF BT rev. H |  USB "Pegasus II" Ethernet (ADM8511) | PocketTop IR kbd | sip:527630@fwd.pulver.com
Todo: OESF wiki | stable VOIP app | usable GPS app |      Wishlist: VOIP + Bluetooth | GPS + Routing Calc

sdjf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sdjf.wordpress.com and http://www.sdjf.esmartdesign.com
Rom Discussion On Tosa
« Reply #84 on: August 03, 2008, 06:57:05 pm »
That must be specific to your ROM?

My vfat SD card on Sharp ROM is on /dev/mmcda1, just checked.

Curious thing is I can write to vfat cards fine, but have to use sudo to write to my ext2 cards on Tosa, no matter what I set the permissions to IIRC.  Oh well.

sdjf
http://www.sdjf.esmartdesign.com
http://www.sdjf.wordpress.com
-----------------
sl5500 running Sharp ROM 2.38 (dead batteries)
sl6000L running Sharp ROM 1.12 (still working)
Opera 7.25 and 7.30
Socket CF 56k modem
3Com USB Ethernet Adapter
Toshiba, Lexar and Kingston SD cards
Lexar, Kingston and Transcend CF cards

chesserm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Rom Discussion On Tosa
« Reply #85 on: August 08, 2008, 12:35:07 pm »
You have to be kidding me!  You're replying to a posted question from Jan of last year..... Right!?!?

Of course, I'm not to smart to post on a dead board either  

looking for tosa life 8 August 2008

quote name='sdjf' date='Aug 3 2008, 10:57 PM' post='178954']
That must be specific to your ROM?

My vfat SD card on Sharp ROM is on /dev/mmcda1, just checked.

Curious thing is I can write to vfat cards fine, but have to use sudo to write to my ext2 cards on Tosa, no matter what I set the permissions to IIRC.  Oh well.

sdjf
[/quote]