Author Topic: Hardware problems with pdaXrom..  (Read 129791 times)

Laze

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pdaXrom.org
Hardware problems with pdaXrom..
« on: December 28, 2004, 09:43:25 am »
Do you have a piece of hardware thats not working under pdaXrom like a CF network card, USB controller etc?

Please post your cardctl ident and cardctl status and all other info you can find about the card (links to drivers etc.) - then we will try and fix them one at a time and try and make sure that pdaXrom supports as many accessories as possible.

We will probally be holding an IRC meeting with all user who are having problems with hardware but this is meant to be a warm up to see how many problems there are and how much time it will take to fix them.
C760 running pdaXrom lastest ;-)
SL5500 Running Cacko Qtopia
512 MB SD Card, 128 MB CF Card, Prism2 CF Wlan.

Always visit http://www.pdaXrom.org for latest news.

w14

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 180
    • View Profile
    • http://
Hardware problems with pdaXrom..
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2004, 10:21:51 am »
Laze,

There are a few people on these boards that use cheap and nasty Zonet ZCF1100 wireless cards, including me.

I added the following to /etc/pcmcia/hermes.conf to make it work:

card "Zonet ZCF1100"
  manfid 0x000b, 0x7100
  bind "orinoco_cs"

Cheers,

Mike.
sl-c3100
pdaxrom 1.1.0 beta1

ScottYelich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 992
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php?opmodload&namephpWiki&filei
Hardware problems with pdaXrom..
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2004, 10:23:18 am »
Laze --

did you fix the cell modem that my friend has -- I think we sent you the info
before.  we/he said that we/he were willing to donate/pay $100 for this
card to work.  

Scott

sigmaX

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Hardware problems with pdaXrom..
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2004, 11:08:05 am »
I already talked in irc to sashz and sent him an email with cardctl ident and info ... but anyway, in order to get also the info in here, I post:

CARD: Ambicom CF Bluetooth model BT2000CF

cardctl ident:

Socket 0:
  product info: "AmbiCom BT2000C", "Bluetooth PC/CF Card", "", ""
  manfid: 0x022d, 0x2000
  function: 2 (serial)
Socket 1:
  no product info available

cardctl info:

PRODID_1="AmbiCom BT2000C"
PRODID_2="Bluetooth PC/CF Card"
PRODID_3=""
PRODID_4=""
MANFID=022d,2000
FUNCID=2
PRODID_1=""
PRODID_2=""
PRODID_3=""
PRODID_4=""
MANFID=0000,0000
FUNCID=255
Enrique

sl-c860 / 1gigCF 40X / 256mbSD / Ambicom WIFI / TRENDnet 10/100 ethernet / SL-5500 CF 40X 32MB

deniscallies

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
    • http://
Hardware problems with pdaXrom..
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2004, 04:44:03 pm »
Hey
has somebody any experiences with the audiovox RTM 8000 and RC8?

Just  want it to call friends and surf over GPRS

Thanks

Denis

cnorwood19

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Hardware problems with pdaXrom..
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2004, 06:08:20 pm »
Quote
Hey
has somebody any experiences with the audiovox RTM 8000 and RC8?

Just  want it to call friends and surf over GPRS

Thanks

Denis
I just tried the instrutions here:

https://www.oesf.org/forums/inde...ic=1382&hl=gprs

I had the bad vcc error at first, just like he/she did.

Then I downloaded the sample scripts and edited it for my provider, using vi

tried to connect, but had output of:

defining PDP context...
Connect script failed


So, since i really dont know anything but how to follow instructions, I am at a loss.



I think Laze said there would be a how-to with this card sometime after RC8 release. I guess we wait!

g33k

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Hardware problems with pdaXrom..
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2004, 06:44:05 pm »
Since you've started a thread specifically for this purpose, I'll repost this stuff...

To enable the Symbol LA-4137 "Wireless Networker" wifi card, add the following lines to /etc/pcmcia/spectrum.conf:

Code: [Select]
card "LA4137 Spectrum24 CF WLAN CARD"
 manfid 0x014d, 0x0001
 bind "spectrum_cs"

For the TRENDnet TE-CF100 wired fast ethernet card, add the following lines to /etc/pcmcia/config:

Code: [Select]
card "TRENDnet TE-CF100"
 manfid 0x0149, 0xc1ab
 bind "pcnet_cs"

When I insert my RATOC CFU-1, "cardctl ident" returns

Code: [Select]
Socket 0:
  product info: "RACTOC",  "USB HOST CF+ Card"
  manfid: 0xc015, 0x0001
  function: 11  (ident)

"cardctl status" returns

Code: [Select]
Socket 0:
  3.3V 16-bit PC Card
  function 0: [ready]

Driver source code for the CFU-1 is here:
http://www.paipai.org/~humorum/zaurus/cfu1..._0.0.2-3.tar.gz

C7x0/C860 patch for USB keyboard mappings:
http://www.paipai.org/~humorum/zaurus/usbk...lc-0.2.patch.gz

cs_jacky

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
    • http://
Hardware problems with pdaXrom..
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2004, 07:12:56 pm »
Quote
Quote
Hey
has somebody any experiences with the audiovox RTM 8000 and RC8?

Just  want it to call friends and surf over GPRS

Thanks

Denis
I just tried the instrutions here:

https://www.oesf.org/forums/inde...ic=1382&hl=gprs

I had the bad vcc error at first, just like he/she did.

Then I downloaded the sample scripts and edited it for my provider, using vi

tried to connect, but had output of:

defining PDP context...
Connect script failed


So, since i really dont know anything but how to follow instructions, I am at a loss.



I think Laze said there would be a how-to with this card sometime after RC8 release. I guess we wait!
The card works. After follow the instruction in the thread, run the following commands:
  • cardctrl suspend
  • cardctrl resume
Connect to GPRS. It works.

Jacky

cnorwood19

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Hardware problems with pdaXrom..
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2004, 07:31:57 pm »
My card is ready, and the cardctl suspend then resume doesnt work.

When dialing I get, /usr/sbin/ppd: unrecongnized option"

and cardctl config gives me Vcc and a large string of #s

Ill just redo the whole process to make sure everythink is right.

Good to know it is working for others!

Vanguard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
    • http://
Hardware problems with pdaXrom..
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2004, 07:45:33 am »
How about the pocketop IR keyboard?

What can I do to help someone get some working drivers going?

mike151

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Hardware problems with pdaXrom..
« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2004, 01:33:30 pm »
Hi,

I have an 'Eagletec' CF wireless card that is partially working
# cardctl info
PRODID_1="Wireless"
PRODID_2="LAN Adapter"
PRODID_3="Version 01.02"
PRODID_4=""
MANFID=0156,0002
FUNCTID=6
PRODID_1=""
PRODID_2=""
PRODID_3=""
PRODID_4=""
MANFID=0000,0000
FUNCIF=255

# iwconfig eth0
shows proper ESSID, Mode, Frequency and Encryption Key.

# ifconfig eth0
shows proper static ip and dns data

# route -vn
shows my liksys AP ip address as the gateway

ping my C860 by its fixed IP address is ok

Everything seems perfect, BUT...

ping my AP or other PCs in my home network losses all packages.

What could be wrong here?

Thanks!

Mike

Martin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Hardware problems with pdaXrom..
« Reply #11 on: December 29, 2004, 06:19:00 pm »
Problem with Netgear MA701 Wireless 802.11b CF card

thx to pdaXrom team for great work on RC8

Martin

===================================================================

OUTPUT: cardctl ident
---------------------

Socket 0:
  product info: "NETGEAR", "MA701 Wireless CF Card", ""
  manfid: 0xd601, 0x0002
  function: 6 (network)
Socket 1:
  no product info available
===================================================================

OUTPUT: cardctl status
----------------------

Socket 0:
  3.3V 16-bit PC Card [suspended]
Socket 1:
  no card

===================================================================

NETGEAR MA701 Wireless CF Card 802.11b

MANID / PRODID : d601 / 0002

===================================================================

Recognized by CF/SD Card applet as

Ambicom WL1100C 11Mbs Card 802.11b
...

===================================================================

OUTPUT: cardctl info
--------------------

PRODID_1="NETGEAR"
PRODID_2="MA701 Wireless CF Card"
PRODID_3=""
PRODID_4=""
MANFID=d601,0002
FUNCID=6
PRODID_1=""
PRODID_2=""
PRODID_3=""
PRODID_4=""
MANFID=0000,0000
FUNCID=255

===================================================================
--------------------------------------------------------
sl-c860 /w pdaXrom 1.1.0 Kathrin r121
CF 1GB , SD 2GB + 1GB + 512MB , MMC 512MB
Netgear MA701 WLAN 801b
Asus WL-HDD2.5 (very nice thing) /w 60 GB
--------------------------------------------------------
PC/Notebook SuSE 10.1 Prof. / KDE3.5.4
VDR /w KnoppMyth R5C7 (/w Myth 0.19)
--------------------------------------(August 2006)---

Laze

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pdaXrom.org
Hardware problems with pdaXrom..
« Reply #12 on: December 30, 2004, 05:19:02 am »
Martin what is the problem - tried updating as described in the Kathrin RC8 is out and please try setting the wireless options in wireless config tool. It should work with your card,
C760 running pdaXrom lastest ;-)
SL5500 Running Cacko Qtopia
512 MB SD Card, 128 MB CF Card, Prism2 CF Wlan.

Always visit http://www.pdaXrom.org for latest news.

webslngr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
    • http://
Hardware problems with pdaXrom..
« Reply #13 on: December 30, 2004, 02:02:31 pm »
another CF Lan card to add to the list:
Hawking 10/100 CF Fast Ethernet
I got it working by adding the following to the /etc/pcmcia/config
Code: [Select]
card "Fast Ethernet"
 manfid 0x0149, 0xc1ab
 bind "pcnet_cs"
Thanks for all the hard work on the rom!
--webslngr
c3100 running pdaXrom b3, ambicom wl1100, a 2nd 4 GB Hitachi microdrive (and various other tools and gadgets)

jasonakay

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Hardware problems with pdaXrom..
« Reply #14 on: December 31, 2004, 06:31:43 pm »
My Billionton CFLA-100N 10/100 FastEthernet Compact Flash LAN Adapter doesn't work 'out of the box'.

I add the following to /etc/pcmcia/config:

Code: [Select]
card "Billionton CFLA-100N 10/100 FastEthernet"
 version "CF", "100Base-Ethernet", "V", "1.0"
 manfid 0x021b, 0x0202
 bind "pcnet_cs"

Thanks!  You guys are doing a FANTASTIC job of pdaXrom!!    

Jason.