Author Topic: Enfora Gsm110 Gprs Connection Problems  (Read 10284 times)

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3707
    • View Profile
Enfora Gsm110 Gprs Connection Problems
« on: April 20, 2006, 11:46:24 am »
a colleague got an enfora quad-band gprs data card, so naturally I thought I'd test it for Z compatibility!

first had to hack /etc/pcmcia/serial.conf to make it recognised, add this:
Code: [Select]
card "Enfora GSM0110"
  version "Enfora", "GSM0110", ""
  manfid 0x01e1, 0x0300
  bind "serial_cs"

the card is a type2 - a tight fit!

using minicom, I found that the modem (/dev/ttyS3) was unresponsive until I set the serial speed to 115200 - odd, 'cos my audiovox doesn't care about serial speed.

I was then able to do the CGDCONT/*99# dial sequence and see the ppp jumble.

When I then tried to use a ppp dialup script for gprs which works with audiovox, when using the enfora it just hangs.

Anyone any clue before I go for the full custom ppp scripts with loadsa debug?

I did add the "debug debug debug" to the /etc/ppp/peers/DIALUPnnnnnn file, tried "cardctl resume ; pppd call DIALUPnnnn" but didn't get any debug output. Hmmm.


p.s. does anyone else find that a gprs modem card has a very bad effect on USB networking - it either hangs or locks up entirely?

p.p.s. the SIM card I am using works perfectly with the audiovox rtm8000 card
« Last Edit: January 18, 2007, 12:31:33 pm by speculatrix »
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

mickh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Enfora Gsm110 Gprs Connection Problems
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2006, 03:43:41 pm »
speculatrix,

If you are still watching this post, I have an enfora GSM110 which I managed to get to connect (but I still have problems). See my new post - Enfora GSM110 gprs connection problems.

Mick.

mickh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Enfora Gsm110 Gprs Connection Problems
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2006, 04:07:36 pm »
Hi all,

I am trying to use an Enfora GSM0110 cf gprs card with my zaurus C3000 (sharp rom converted to English by restoring Trisoft backup, kernel 2.4.20).

After much trial and error (days!!) I finally seem to have a connection from the terminal but I have to run pppd call gprs twice. The first attempt always fails.

The final line of the output says:-

.
.
Script /etc/ppp/ip-up finished (pid 821), status = 0x0

and ifconfig output seems positive

ppp0   Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
          inet addr:151.81.1.33 ...etc.
          Up POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
.
.
etc.

Also credit is taken from my sim card when I do this!!



However, there is no response to any ping commands (100% loss) and trying to access the internet via the browser gives the message 'no connection to the network. Connect now?'

The same scripts work with this card and the same sim on my laptop under linux with no problems.

Anyone had similar problems or know how I can investigate further?

Thanks for any help.

I can post the full output/scripts etc. here if it helps.

Mick

Da_Blitz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pocketnix.org
Enfora Gsm110 Gprs Connection Problems
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2006, 10:56:47 pm »
if you are using gprs (a network connection) and usbnet (another net connection) and you cant contact your home PC then i wolud say the routing table is incorecct

i bet the default route (ie where packets where you dont know where to send them) is the gprs connection but that when you assigned the ip adress for the usb net it didnt update the routing table so that all packets going to 192.168.2.x or whatever should go to the usb et connection and so they are going out the default which is the gprs and as we all know ISP's dont route 192.168.x.x to your house

plug in the usb connection and type route on the cmdline and see if a route has been established for usbnet otherwise

sudo route add -net 192.168.x.x netmask 255.255.255.0 dev <usbnet dev>
Personal Blog
Code
Twitter

Gemini Order: #95 (roughly)
Current Device: Samsung Chromebook Gen 3
Current Arm Devices Count: ~30
Looking to acquire: Cavium Thunder X2 Hardware

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3707
    • View Profile
Enfora Gsm110 Gprs Connection Problems
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2006, 05:28:42 am »
can you post the output from the commands

ifconfig -a
(or maybe /sbin/ifconfig -a)

netstat -rn

cat /etc/resolv.conf



thanks
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3707
    • View Profile
Enfora Gsm110 Gprs Connection Problems
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2006, 05:29:18 am »
BTW, has your browser setting got proxy enabled
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

mickh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Enfora Gsm110 Gprs Connection Problems
« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2006, 05:44:21 pm »
Output from netstat -rn

Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags   MSS Window  irtt Iface
10.0.0.1        0.0.0.0         255.255.255.255 UH       40 0          0 ppp0
0.0.0.0         10.0.0.1        0.0.0.0         UG       40 0          0 ppp0

Output from ifconfig -a

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol  
          inet addr:151.81.7.66  P-t-P:10.0.0.1  Mask:255.255.255.255
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:9 errors:4 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
          RX bytes:108 (108.0 b)  TX bytes:130 (130.0 b)


cat /etc/resolv.conf gives

# Domain name searches will fail until you point this to a real DNS server.
nameserver 212.245.255.2
nameserver 193.70.192.25


I tried ping again and sometimes it works.
e.g. ping google.com gave me a few responses but generally I get between
85% and 100% packet loss

I am trying to use the built-in NetFront browser. How do I check Proxy Settings
for this and what should they be?

The ability to connect is somewhat erratic. On some attempts I get the following
(last few lines only).

rcvd [IPCP ConfAck id=0x2 <addr 151.81.6.224> <ms-dns1 212.245.255.2> <ms-dns3 193.70.192.25>]
sent [IPCP ConfReq id=0x2 <addr 151.81.6.224> <ms-dns1 212.245.255.2> <ms-dns3 193.70.192.25>]
Timeout 0x20084bc:0x203b6a0 in 3 seconds.
rcvd [IPCP ConfAck id=0x2 <addr 151.81.6.224> <ms-dns1 212.245.255.2> <ms-dns3 193.70.192.25>]
sent [IPCP ConfReq id=0x2 <addr 151.81.6.224> <ms-dns1 212.245.255.2> <ms-dns3 193.70.192.25>]
Timeout 0x20084bc:0x203b6a0 in 3 seconds.
rcvd [LCP TermReq id=0x1 cf 03]
LCP terminated by peer (M-O^C)
Untimeout 0x20084bc:0x203b6a0.
Timeout 0x20084bc:0x203b440 in 3 seconds.
sent [LCP TermAck id=0x1]
Modem hangup
Untimeout 0x20084bc:0x203b440.
Connection terminated.



but if I try enough times I eventually get this..

sent [IPCP ConfNak id=0xa <addr 10.0.0.1>]
rcvd [IPCP ConfReq id=0xb <addr 212.245.41.43>]
ipcp: returning Configure-REJ
sent [IPCP ConfRej id=0xb <addr 212.245.41.43>]
rcvd [IPCP ConfReq id=0xc]
ipcp: returning Configure-ACK
sent [IPCP ConfAck id=0xc]
Untimeout 0x20084bc:0x203b6a0.
ipcp: up
local  IP address 151.81.7.66
remote IP address 10.0.0.1
primary   DNS address 212.245.255.2
secondary DNS address 193.70.192.25
Script /etc/ppp/ip-up started (pid 776)
Script /etc/ppp/ip-up finished (pid 776), status = 0x0


Thanks for your help,

Mick.

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3707
    • View Profile
Enfora Gsm110 Gprs Connection Problems
« Reply #7 on: December 27, 2006, 11:37:55 am »
I have now been able to borrow the enfora quad-band modem again to have a play.

The standard network control applet fails, doesn't even seem to get as far as invoking the pppd. In contrast, the audiovox modem I have works perfectly.

So, to see what the problem might be, I resorted to command line. Here's my /etc/ppp/peers/DIALUP1139528195 file (I have added a soft link to this file from "virgin"):
Code: [Select]
noipdefault
115200
connect '/usr/sbin/chat -s -v -t 60 ABORT "NO CARRIER" ABORT "NO DIALTONE" ABORT "BUSY" "" "AT+CGDCONT=1,\\\"IP\\\",\\\"goto.virginmobile.uk\\\"" OK "ATDT*99#" CONNECT'
crtscts
lock
modem
user "user"
usepeerdns
defaultroute
connect-delay 1000
remotename DIALUP1139528195

This file is created by the sharp applets from a back-end configuration file called /home/zaurus/Applications/Network/modules/DialUp0.conf

So, I can kick off the pppd thus:
Code: [Select]
# cardctl status
~~ verify card is suspended
# cardctl resume 0
~~ light begins flashing on enfora
# pppd ttyS3 call DIALUP1139528195
abort on (NO CARRIER)
abort on (NO DIALTONE)
abort on (BUSY)
send (AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","goto.virginmobile.uk"^M)
expect (OK)
AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","goto.virginmobile.uk"^M^M
OK
 -- got it

send (ATDT*99#^M)
expect (CONNECT)
^M
ATDT*99#^M^M
CONNECT
 -- got it

Serial connection established.
Using interface ppp0
Connect: ppp0 <--> /dev/ttyS3
PAP authentication succeeded
Could not determine remote IP address: defaulting to 10.64.64.64
local  IP address 10.192.157.236
remote IP address 10.64.64.64
primary   DNS address 149.254.192.126
secondary DNS address 149.254.201.126

~~~ I then hit ctrl-C

Code: [Select]
Terminating on signal 2
Connect time 0.0 minutes.
Sent 362 bytes, received 760 bytes.
Connection terminated.


So, it seems to be a problem with the applet and not the card.
« Last Edit: December 27, 2006, 11:38:48 am by speculatrix »
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

InSearchOf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1144
    • View Profile
    • http://
Enfora Gsm110 Gprs Connection Problems
« Reply #8 on: December 27, 2006, 12:03:26 pm »
Or how about I just merge them :-)

Late
Sharp Zaurus SL-C3100 and SL-6000L
pdaXrom Developer
Please visit pdaXrom.org for updates
My Blog
IRC #pdaxrom @ FreeNode

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3707
    • View Profile
Enfora Gsm110 Gprs Connection Problems
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2007, 12:33:37 pm »
so, no-one has any ideas why the enfora modem works fine when pppd in invoked at command line, but not by the Qtopia applet?
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

sdjf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sdjf.wordpress.com and http://www.sdjf.esmartdesign.com
Enfora Gsm110 Gprs Connection Problems
« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2007, 07:42:47 am »
The Qtopia applet may be attempting to use the wrong tty.

Try seeing how many different tty's are shown when you do 'ps ax'.

I'm on the old sl5500 so don't know how the Qt applet is set up on the Cxxx's but with qtopia 1.5.0, it sometimes tried to use ttyS0 even though my modem is on ttyS3.

I had to tweak a couple of the basic kernel scripts...will post more later if this idea sounds worth pursuing.
sdjf
http://www.sdjf.esmartdesign.com
http://www.sdjf.wordpress.com
-----------------
sl5500 running Sharp ROM 2.38 (dead batteries)
sl6000L running Sharp ROM 1.12 (still working)
Opera 7.25 and 7.30
Socket CF 56k modem
3Com USB Ethernet Adapter
Toshiba, Lexar and Kingston SD cards
Lexar, Kingston and Transcend CF cards

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3707
    • View Profile
Enfora Gsm110 Gprs Connection Problems
« Reply #11 on: March 06, 2007, 08:43:55 am »
Quote
The Qtopia applet may be attempting to use the wrong tty.

Try seeing how many different tty's are shown when you do 'ps ax'.

I'm on the old sl5500 so don't know how the Qt applet is set up on the Cxxx's but with qtopia 1.5.0, it sometimes tried to use ttyS0 even though my modem is on ttyS3.

I had to tweak a couple of the basic kernel scripts...will post more later if this idea sounds worth pursuing.
sdjf
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=155536\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I don't think it's using the wrong tty, as
* it works with audiovox
* the light on the enfora card comes on and does most of the right things
* when I do "ps -ef" I can see that the pppd dialler is running

I don't have the enfora card to play with, it went back to owner, and sold to someone on this forum a week or so ago... no doubt the new owner can come and tell us how he gets on!
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

sdjf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sdjf.wordpress.com and http://www.sdjf.esmartdesign.com
Enfora Gsm110 Gprs Connection Problems
« Reply #12 on: March 06, 2007, 10:10:38 am »
I take it that you were using the qtopia network applet with the audiovox?

I had similar issues, with my modem behaving exactly as you describe, but the connection would die before it was completed.  Never could track down how the lights could flash properly and it still not work, and I solved the problem so long ago, that I don't remember which of all my tweakings resolved the issue.

What I do know is that if there is respawning of a different tty than the one you are using, begun by /etc/inittab during the boot process, there will be problems, at least in qtopia 1.5.0.

sdjf
http://www.sdjf.esmartdesign.com
http://www.sdjf.wordpress.com
-----------------
sl5500 running Sharp ROM 2.38 (dead batteries)
sl6000L running Sharp ROM 1.12 (still working)
Opera 7.25 and 7.30
Socket CF 56k modem
3Com USB Ethernet Adapter
Toshiba, Lexar and Kingston SD cards
Lexar, Kingston and Transcend CF cards

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3707
    • View Profile
Enfora Gsm110 Gprs Connection Problems
« Reply #13 on: March 06, 2007, 11:34:36 am »
Quote
I take it that you were using the qtopia network applet with the audiovox?

I had similar issues, with my modem behaving exactly as you describe, but the connection would die before it was completed.  Never could track down how the lights could flash properly and it still not work, and I solved the problem so long ago, that I don't remember which of all my tweakings resolved the issue.

What I do know is that if there is respawning of a different tty than the one you are using, begun by /etc/inittab during the boot process, there will be problems, at least in qtopia 1.5.0.

sdjf
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=155546\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

yes, I was using the qtopia applet, worked fine with audiovox, not with enfora, but manual command line with latter worked fine.

the new owner will probably join this discussion when tweaking settings.
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.