Author Topic: Movie In Vga Resolution?  (Read 6537 times)

daXd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Movie In Vga Resolution?
« on: January 10, 2005, 04:17:29 am »
Is it possible to play movies in VGA resolution? I have installed mplayer_0.90pre10_arm. Movie in 320x240 it plays OK (well, not O.K. but rotated in 90 degrees). Than I rotated an avi file in 90 degrees and scaled down to 640x480 (using mencoder). Zaurus plays the file very slowly (but the sound is in normal speed). I have changed fps to 15 but there was no effect.

Is the problem in nonoptimalized mplayer? Is it possible to make (using linux tools) VGA resolution movie playable?
SL-C3000, SHARP "ROM"

miho

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Movie In Vga Resolution?
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2005, 09:06:30 am »
Hi!

I have the same problem. I think that the C3K uses a new graphic chip. That is why mplayer won't work as it should. On a japanese site I read (well I guessed) that someone has compiled a version optimized for C3K. To rotate the movie you can start mplayer with
 
Code: [Select]
mplayer -vf rotate=1 test.aviPlease tell me if you found a solution to play in fullscreen mode.

daXd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Movie In Vga Resolution?
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2005, 02:52:53 pm »
Optimized mplayer shoud be here. It is not a ipk package and it don't work as an executable file. So I don't know what I have to do with it
SL-C3000, SHARP "ROM"

javab0y

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Movie In Vga Resolution?
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2005, 03:34:41 am »
For full screen do this:

Code: [Select]
mplayer -vf rotate=1 -fs test.avi

darkloran

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
    • http://freeloran.free.fr/zaurus.html
Movie In Vga Resolution?
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2005, 02:29:18 am »
Quote
Optimized mplayer shoud be here. It is not a ipk package and it don't work as an executable file. So I don't know what I have to do with it

it's a tarball . You first have to install mplayer for ati w100 before using this tarball
on atty.jp

then you have to launch a terminal (i hope you have one installed)
locate your tarball and go in the directory where it is
Code: [Select]
cd /home/zaurus/Documents/...
you can then follow my instructions   there

you'll get a mplayer which is executable and a bvdd.o which is a module (currently under developpement) to support the new graphic chip of C3k

i have tested it and well it does not really work fine.  
the mplayer-w100 works quite better (it depends on encoding of the movies/sound) with "fbdev" support.

i hope it helps

loran
« Last Edit: January 21, 2005, 02:30:03 am by darkloran »
SL-C3000 -- Cacko1.23b1
CE-RH2 remote / Belkin usblan / Asus WL-110 / Sandisk SD UII 256MB / Sandisk CF UII 1GB
STOREX OTG Club 40GB / Belkin IR Keyboard / Logitech mouse

daXd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Movie In Vga Resolution?
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2005, 12:25:57 pm »
Thank you very much, darkoran. Unfortunately, it don't work  
Mplayer finish with:

vo_bvdd: couldn't open /home/zaurus/.dev_bvdd
Error opening/initializing the selected video_out (-vo) device

/home/zaurus/.dev_bvdd exists. I followed your instructions, but I have no sudo command. So I executed 3 commands starting sudo as a root without sudo. Any idea where is the problem? Thank you.
SL-C3000, SHARP "ROM"

misch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • http://www.steyla.com
Movie In Vga Resolution?
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2005, 11:48:44 pm »
The easiest way (for the time being anyway) is:

Get the mplayer for the ati w100 and install it. I had one that wanted
to install in /opt .. no space there though. I manually installed it
with links.

You have to create the file /etc/fb.modes:

mode "qvga"
geometry 240 320 240 320 16
timings 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
endmode

Start mplayer:

mplayer -mc 5 -cache 256 -vo fbdev -framedrop -fbmode qvga -x 240 -y 320 -vm -vop rotate=1 -fs filename.video

I tested that a lot and it works quite decent. This is how I encoded
the videos:

mencoder xxxx -oac copy -srate 24000 -vop scale=320:240 -o yyyy.avi -ovc lavc -lavcopts vcodec=mpeg4:vhq:vbitrate=64 -ofps 20 -sws 2

where xxxx ist the video to re-code and yyyy ist the filename to save
the avi under. That gives you about 100 MByte for 1 1/2 hours of video.

Cheers

Michaela
---
SL-5500, SL C-3000, Ambicom WL1100C-CF WiFi,
Audiovox RTM-8000 GPRS modem

darkloran

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
    • http://freeloran.free.fr/zaurus.html
Movie In Vga Resolution?
« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2005, 01:21:10 pm »
Quote
vo_bvdd: couldn't open /home/zaurus/.dev_bvdd
Error opening/initializing the selected video_out (-vo) device

/home/zaurus/.dev_bvdd exists. I followed your instructions, but I have no sudo command. So I executed 3 commands starting sudo as a root without sudo. Any idea where is the problem? Thank you.
i find this really strange... it workfs fine for me...

can you do a
Code: [Select]
ls -l /home/zaurus/.dev_bvdd
you should have
Quote
crwxrwxrwx 1 root root 240, ... /home/zaurus/.dev_bvdd

and then
Code: [Select]
lsmod | grep bvddyou should get
Quote
bvdd           11472    0

loran
SL-C3000 -- Cacko1.23b1
CE-RH2 remote / Belkin usblan / Asus WL-110 / Sandisk SD UII 256MB / Sandisk CF UII 1GB
STOREX OTG Club 40GB / Belkin IR Keyboard / Logitech mouse

darkloran

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
    • http://freeloran.free.fr/zaurus.html
Movie In Vga Resolution?
« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2005, 02:22:12 pm »
Quote
mplayer -mc 5 -cache 256 -vo fbdev -framedrop -fbmode qvga -x 240 -y 320 -vm -vop rotate=1 -fs filename.video
...
mencoder xxxx -oac copy -srate 24000 -vop scale=320:240 -o yyyy.avi -ovc lavc -lavcopts vcodec=mpeg4:vhq:vbitrate=64 -ofps 20 -sws 2

really interesting misch ! do you know a way to increase quality of the movie without increasing its video/frame size ?

loran
SL-C3000 -- Cacko1.23b1
CE-RH2 remote / Belkin usblan / Asus WL-110 / Sandisk SD UII 256MB / Sandisk CF UII 1GB
STOREX OTG Club 40GB / Belkin IR Keyboard / Logitech mouse

misch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • http://www.steyla.com
Movie In Vga Resolution?
« Reply #9 on: January 24, 2005, 02:50:47 pm »
darkloran:  I changed the bitrate to 96 (vbitrate=) and it got significantly better and only slighly larger. I am going to experiment a little more, but
so far - it's good enough for me . Unless we are getting a better player
for the c-3000 (the suggested method is not reliably wtoking for me)
it doesn't make sense to increase quality as the little Z is unable to handle
it anyway

misch
---
SL-5500, SL C-3000, Ambicom WL1100C-CF WiFi,
Audiovox RTM-8000 GPRS modem

darkloran

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
    • http://freeloran.free.fr/zaurus.html
Movie In Vga Resolution?
« Reply #10 on: January 31, 2005, 03:23:33 am »
there is a new version of mplayer for SL-C3000 with bvdd modules for display.

check this google translation (weird translation by the way)

after getting and installing the two packages mplayer-bvdd_1.0.0-1_arm.ipk and bvdd_0.1.0-1_arm.ipk

do
Code: [Select]
$ su # chmod a+s /home/QtPalmtop/bin/mplayeras it seems it's not done when installing the package

and then don't forget either to reboot or do
Code: [Select]
$ su # /etc/rc.d/init.d/bvdd startto create /dev/bvdd device

i've installed it and played a video in normal mode (not fullscreen). It played nicely but trying to change sound level in Qtopia made my Z freeze.
i had to extract the battery to restart my Z. Now this new mplayer does not want to draw any video. i'm stuck.

well maybe one of you will have more chance...

loran  
SL-C3000 -- Cacko1.23b1
CE-RH2 remote / Belkin usblan / Asus WL-110 / Sandisk SD UII 256MB / Sandisk CF UII 1GB
STOREX OTG Club 40GB / Belkin IR Keyboard / Logitech mouse

benito

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • http://
Movie In Vga Resolution?
« Reply #11 on: January 31, 2005, 08:13:48 pm »
Until we've got a decent mplayer for the C3000, you can try the method below (maybe it's not ideal, but it works for me)

To get mplayer-w100 (1.0pre5.2-1) to play fullscreen on the C3K I just use opie-embeddedkonsole (1.5.9-2) which will start in low-res (at least on my machine). From there I play the movie with "mplayer -fs -vo fbdev -vf rotate=1 -framedrop". Sometimes I have to add "-delay -0.5" because the sound is out of sync for some reason.

Encode example:

"mencoder <Input> -vf dsize=640:272,scale=320:136,expand=0:-104 -sws 2 -o Output.avi -oac mp3lame -lameopts preset=96:mode=0:vol=10 -ovc lavc -lavcopts vcodec=mpeg4:vhq:v4mv:mbd=2:trell:cmp=3:subcmp=3:mbcmp=3:vbitrate=200:autoaspect -ofps 23.976"

Use your original resolution for "dsize" and (<target y resolution> - 240) for the y value of "expand", i.e. (136-240)=-104 in the example above. This will add a border which is necessary because otherwise you can see the (ugly) grey terminal background.

Cheers,
Ben

bmsleight

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Movie In Vga Resolution?
« Reply #12 on: June 18, 2005, 10:48:05 am »
Anothe mencoder example :-
mencoder -cache 4000 -vf scale,expand=0:-60 -zoom -xy 320 -ffourcc XVID    -oac lavc -lavcopts acodec=mp2:abitrate=48  -ovc lavc  -lavcopts  vcodec=mpeg4:vhq:vbitrate=448 -ofps 25 -sws 2  ./input.avi  -o ./output.avi