Author Topic: Hentges Rom  (Read 3239 times)

OpenCode

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Hentges Rom
« on: March 08, 2005, 06:51:26 pm »
Hello the first excuse for my english(i´m spanish). I´ve  installed the hentges rom 3.5.2 r5 and works, all ok, but i´ve a small problems:  

   I can´t modify the date, hour
   How i can install hancom sheet in this rom?
   What web browser do you recommend me? and how install it?

thanks....

hQuin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Hentges Rom
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2005, 06:50:19 am »
Hello,

I use the hentges rom, but I'm not sure which version tbh.  I'm running opie 1.1.8, anyway.

I don't have any difficulty setting the time.  How do you do it?  I just click on the clock on the taskbar, and set it from there.

Hancom sheet will not perform calculations correctly, because oz uses a different method to perform floating point operations to the standard sharp rom.  There is no way around this, afaik.

I use opera 6.  There are lengthly discussions about which is the best browser, but basically, konqueror creates cache dirs in / and opera 7 seems to crash on people.

Opera 6 is available from the downloads section.  Once installed you will have to associate it with the older libraries - see settings -> libraries after installing.

You will have to do some linking to get the menu bar images to display.  I can't remember what the exact command is, but a search for opera and buttons should turn it up.

Harry.
SL-5500 + SL-C860
Both running OZ 3.5.4 Opie

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
Hentges Rom
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2005, 10:38:30 am »
Quote
konqueror creates cache dirs in /

This has been fixed now iirc (not sure whether there's a new version in the upgrades feed though).

Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

CoreDump

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 713
    • View Profile
    • http://www.hentges.net
Hentges Rom
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2005, 10:42:42 am »
Quote
Hello,

I use the hentges rom, but I'm not sure which version tbh.  I'm running opie 1.1.8, anyway.

cat /etc/hentges.version  
Webmaster of hentges.net & Embedded Linux Developer.

OpenCode

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Hentges Rom
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2005, 04:23:05 am »
Thanks for reply, my rom version its Hentges OZ 3.5.2 / OPIE 1.1.8 Release T5.  

   To change the date/hour i´m touch on clock but this dont nothing, i´m loaded opie-clock, opie-alarm, citytime, but i dont get see the clock, change the hour/date,set alarm...nothing  

  And now, sometimes when turn on my zaurus (wake up) dont find the desktop applications...  

   Thanks newly...

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
Hentges Rom
« Reply #5 on: March 10, 2005, 05:03:16 am »
Where did you install the clock related stuff? If it was to a storage card, could it have not mounted, or the symlinks become detached (re-do them with 'ipkg-link mount <mount point>')?


Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

CoreDump

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 713
    • View Profile
    • http://www.hentges.net
Hentges Rom
« Reply #6 on: March 10, 2005, 10:40:24 am »
Quote
Thanks for reply, my rom version its Hentges OZ 3.5.2 / OPIE 1.1.8 Release T5.

Quote
  And now, sometimes when turn on my zaurus (wake up) dont find the desktop applications...  

   Thanks newly...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=69986\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Sounds like your SD card has some problems. Did you run a filesystem check recently?
The clock applet should work out-of-the-box. You may want to re-flash your Z  
Webmaster of hentges.net & Embedded Linux Developer.

OpenCode

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Hentges Rom
« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2005, 06:19:33 pm »
ok, i´m reflash my zaurus, i´m fixed some problems the clock, alarm , etc but still i don´t get change the date/hour.

I´ve installed opera 6 but i push the icon but do nothing, how can I assosite libraries?

Thanks....

layers

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • http://www.nerdwarfare.com
Hentges Rom
« Reply #8 on: March 10, 2005, 06:27:31 pm »
you can use the GUI "libraries" button in the settings tab, and then follow the prompts to the opera .desktop file,
or open up a concole window and run
Code: [Select]
makecompat operaor you can install mrSquishy's repack of 7.55 here
just be sure to follow the instructions
« Last Edit: March 10, 2005, 06:29:25 pm by layers »

SL5500
PNY 512mb SD
Lexar 128mb SD
Sandisk 128mb CF
PNY 128mb CF
Linksys WCF11 wifi
OZ 3.5.2 [opie]

OpenCode

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Hentges Rom
« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2005, 03:45:29 am »
:-( i ´ve more problems, when my zaurus sleep and wake up block the usbd0 interface and dont work. The clock and alarm works but i cant modify the hour.

And the opera do the same, when push the icon do nothing:
  I havent  makecompat on my system
  Neihter i´ve GUI libraries button  
  I ´ve installed opera mrSquishy's repack of 7.55 and follow the  
  instructions
  But dont work....(snif):-(

Note: i purchased the opie-collie_40-24 kernel. Is it important??

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
Hentges Rom
« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2005, 05:22:05 am »
Quote
when my zaurus sleep and wake up block the usbd0 interface and dont work

This is a known issue - there's an ipk around which solves this iirc (or search for start_net.sh).

Quote
The clock and alarm works but i cant modify the hour.

No idea about this.

Quote
And the opera do the same, when push the icon do nothing:

That's because of this:

Quote
I havent makecompat on my system

Find and install, then run the compat libs on Opera.

Quote
Neihter i´ve GUI libraries button

Initially I thought you were talking about Opera not having any buttons, but as you can't run it, you must mean something else...?


Si

P.S.

Quote
Note: i purchased the opie-collie_40-24 kernel. Is it important??

No.
« Last Edit: March 16, 2005, 05:23:12 am by lardman »
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva